We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,491)
Filter reviews
1,491 results
Traveller rating
812
469
127
54
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
812
469
127
54
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews generations restaurant mirror lake underground parking paddle boats attached restaurant main street specialty room in town steam room shops and restaurants indoor pool life jackets private beach frozen lake hotel restaurant dog sledding first floor
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 1,491 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2018 via mobile

Very nice little resort! My daughter had a ice skating competition up here for the weekend. The resort was a perfect nice little cozy place, just what we needed. Staff was very polite and the hotel was very clean. Great views from the lobby and our room. I’d recommend this place to anyone coming to the area.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Donald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joell S, Marketing Strategist at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2018

Thank you for the great review Donald! We're glad you and your daughter enjoyed your stay with us and found everything to be nice and cozy! We hope to see you again soon for another great stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 21, 2018

This hotel sits on Mirror Lake in Lake Placid, NY. The location is perfect. It is within walking distance to shops, restaurants and Olympic history. The view from the lobby is beautiful. Overlooks the lake and mountains. The colors of fall were showing in the surrounding mountains. The room was really nice and comfortable. It had a balcony, too. The fitness center is one of the nicer ones we have worked out in. A bit hard to find, but it’s worth the hunt.
A special shout out to Mike who checked us in. He is a great guy. Thank you for making our stay special!

Room tip: Get a room with a Lakeview
Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank thumper1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joell S, Marketing Strategist at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2018

Thank you for the 5-star review! We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and the gorgeous views. We're glad you were able to see some fall foliage as well! We're glad you were able to use our great fitness center (which also has a great views of Mirror Lake and the mountains!) We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 18, 2018

We booked a room online for a room with "3 queens"- needless to say it was just 2 queens and an uncomfortable sofabed. I'm sure somewhere in very fine print it said sofabed, but it was advertised as 3 queens- so buyer beware. But it was a nice room- walkout to the beautiful lake.
No breakfast was included, but there is a muffin bakery very close by. We ate dinner at the restaurant, which is very difficult to find if you are staying at the hotel. The lobby is large and nice, but the rooms really need to be upgraded. Everything in Lake Placid was redone by 1980 (for the Olympics) and nothing seems to have been redone since. It's long overdue. The room was large, as was the bathroom, but the 1970's were very evident. The hotel had a nice pool and sauna.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pelaminnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joell S, Marketing Strategist at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2018

Thank you for the review pelaminnesota. We're sorry you were not more satisfied with your stay.
We're sorry for any confusion you had while booking online, but we do not have any rooms advertised with 3 queen beds that have a walkout to the lake. We're glad you enjoyed the close proximity to Mirror Lake though!
There are a variety of breakfast options within walking distance from the hotel, so we are glad you found a good one. Our restaurant, Generations, does offer breakfast as well, which many guests enjoy. We're sorry you found it so difficult to find the restaurant, most guests tend it find it very easily. Our front desk staff is also very helpful in giving guests directions should you need them. We hope you had a nice dinner there. We're sorry that certain areas of the hotel did not meet your expectations. We are continually updating the hotel to give our guests the best experience possible, so I can assure you there have been many updates since 1980. We hope you decide to give the Golden Arrow another try on your next visit to Lake Placid.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 15, 2018 via mobile

What a tribute to family businesses. This hotel has been run by three generations. Their concern for guests is refected in staff interactions. Staff went out of their way to ensure we were finding our way and had what we needed. Desk staff told us our interruption was their job. Staff we passed directed us in confusing halls to rooms, restaurant and garage. I was welcomed into a room being cleaned to see Mirror Lake. We like "green" and recycling. Great to have a brown bag and encouragement to recycle cans, bottles, and paper.
The hotel was pricey for us but comfy, coxy, clean, well equipped with restful sleeping even though we were on the street side. Hotel restaurant also had kind staff and excellent food. The location was convenient to the lake, a church, restaurants and shops. Temps in room were easy to adjust and fresh air was a door to the balcony. Mums in balcony window boxes ptovided a splash of gorgroud color to brighten a rainy day.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Diana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joell S, Marketing Strategist at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2018

Thank you for the 5-star review Diana! We're so glad you noticed our great staff and that they were so helpful during your stay. We're glad you like being Green and noticed how much we try to do our part in staying Eco-friendly. We hope you'll join us again soon for another comfy and cozy stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 15, 2018 via mobile

I booked a room with 2 queens because a room with a king was unavailable. Upon check in, we were told that we had received a free upgrade with a fireplace. We hauled our luggage in and discovered we had 2 double beds. That's not an upgrade!!! Plus our room was on the bottom floor at the very end between 2 conference rooms. They gave away our room and gave us the "leftover" room with 2 double murphy beds that were falling apart. When I brought it up at checkout, they said, "we just thought you would like the upgrade with the fireplace." Downsizing our beds and putting us in the crappiest part of the hotel is not an upgrade. Don't continue to lie when confronted. You gave away our room! Plus the shower water sucked. There were two temperatures, ice cold and scalding hot. This hotel is very cut up too. Good luck finding the fitness room and when you finally do, it requires a separate key. We won't be back.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank chad306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer H, Owner at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2018

chad306,
Thank you for your review. I am really sorry you did not enjoy the upgrade we gave to you. The room you booked on Expedia was a Deluxe Room with 2 queen size beds overlooking the lake view. I personally upgraded you to the Lakeside Specialty Room because I wanted to exceed your expectations. I was very surprised at check out when you told me you did not like the room. It has all of the amenities of the room you booked and has a fireplace, is nearly twice the size of a standard room, has an extra sitting area and has a beautiful walkout to the lakefront. In the decades I have spent at the Golden Arrow, I honestly have never had anyone be angry at me for trying to give them more than they booked.

I do hope you enjoyed Lake Placid and find another property that is more to your liking in the future.

Sincerely,
Jenn Holderied
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews