We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sad to see how horrible New York let's its hotels get...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Knights Inn Liberty
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Liberty
Reviewed 1 November 2016

For the price, we thought this place would be fine, but the price on the website was mysteriously unavailable as this place somehow cost us $20 more than listed...which I only found out after we got home... Of course by the time we arrived it was simply too late to go anywhere else...

Where should I start? We get told to park by the center door on the side and that the lock is broken so just try to rip it off the hinges and it'll open. The parking lot contains vehicles that are in disrepair and clearly have been just dumped there.

The broken door opens up to a hallway with vending machines and a broken ice machine that sounds like a jackhammer, only louder.

There's old tube TV that was so overused in its years many colors didn't show up, just like the channels. After flipping stations a few times we were happy to find broadcast news even though the sign out front says HBO.

The wifi lets you connect to it, but when you accept the terms, it times out and never lets you use the actual internet...just keeps going to the terms page...and then nothing...

The weatherstripping on the sliding glass door that faces the highway was gone, so we heard every truck that went by...all night long... The rest of the hotel was rather quiet, though, luckily...

There weren't enough plugs to charge our phones AND our camera gear. The bathroom was clearly not up to health code (at least here in Massachusetts it wouldn't be) since it had no fan. My companion had the shower curtain rod (that us supposed to be SCREWED into the wall) hit her when she went to close the shower curtain. From all the scratches on the wall near the screw holes, you could see that it had fallen out so many times and been slid back in. The shampoo and conditioner were SOLID in their little bottles, but at least the "Howard Johnson" branded soaps were usable.

The next morning we get up early to escape this place and visited the laughable breakfast bar on the way out with its corn flakes, cheerios, bread, all stale. There was a basket with generic yodels and pretzel shaped honey type buns. Not sure how that's breakfast, but when you're in a crappy place...you simply don't eat.

I've paid less for so much more... This place should be shut down.

Room Tip: Choose a room in another hotel. Try the abandoned one across the street. It's only been closed f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jvelmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2016

don't stay....not even safe to sleep in your car...poorly lit parking lot
filthy, smelly, creepy....nothing nice about this place whatsoever!
the only nice thing is the Italian restaurant next door
don't walk on the floors without shoes on

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank birdturd73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

Worst hotel ever. Dirty. Doors don't lock. I checked in and came back to get refund and was hassled. Said I shouldn't talk bad in front of other guests. I told her she should speak English in front of me, since she was talking a foreign language to someone else, knowing she was talking about me.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank karepack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2016

this is a horrible place to stay....don't do it!! they claim they are a wyndham...poor representation of it. The carpets were filthy, stained, large stains and old and disgusting. The radiator grill was broken and deteriorated. the breakfast consisted of weak coffee, white bread, and margarine from a large tub that everyone in the hotel shared!!! disgusting!!! The walls and doors had black dirt on them. the whole place smelled like smoke....even though i was in a non-smoking room. the outside of the hotel walls were made of concrete...and the concrete was falling off. but sheets were clean..i think

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank joyce k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

I loved the front desk staff she was very kind and nice , they all are very friendly and sweet .The rooms are very big clean and cozy , very quite environment ❤the breakfast was decent too they have a nice huge parking lot and half of the rooms on 1st floor are connected to a loan where your pets can walk around with beautiful natures and view of pool ,.. Wifi was awesome speed ... I loved it ... I would stay there again for sure .

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank mitra i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

The rooms are kept clean, large and relatively nice. There are some important but minor paint issues. The pool is not available.

ShopRite, Walmart, and SaveRite are nearby. They sell Kosher beef, chicken, and many other Kosher products the entire year.

Swimming and boating is available during the summer in Loch Sheldrake' lake.

Morningside Park has boating rentals and acrades through September.

Liberty Lanes is nearby with arcades and bowling by the hour.

This place is not perfect but it is NOT a dump. It is OK to stay here.

Don't rely on their free breakfast. Much better food can be purchased nearby.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank CONCERNED613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016

While I understand that budget hotels don't often provide the best accommodations, this hotel is very overpriced for the very poor state of the facilities. The rooms were actually pretty large, but that just meant there were more places to be scared there were bugs hiding. The continental breakfast was a bowl of little debbie products, and the pool was shut down. I would only be mildly offended if the rates were half, but for what I paid it was borderline highway robbery.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Liberty
14 km away
Best Western Monticello
Best Western Monticello
#1 of 4 in Monticello
326 reviews
21.5 km away
Ramada Rock Hill at Sullivan Center
0.3 km away
Days Inn Liberty
Days Inn Liberty
#1 of 3 in Liberty
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Budget Inn Motel
Budget Inn Motel
#2 of 3 in Liberty
17 reviews
15.7 km away
Super 8 Monticello
Super 8 Monticello
#2 of 4 in Monticello
147 reviews
20.6 km away
Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Liberty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Liberty

Address: 2067 State Route 52, Route 17 Exit 100, Liberty, NY 12754-2235 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn Liberty)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Liberty
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Liberty
Price Range: C$83 - C$143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Knights Inn Liberty 1.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Knights Inn Liberty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Liberty Hotel Liberty
Howard Johnson Liberty
Howard Johnson Hotel Liberty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing