We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveller rating
37
8
0
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
37
8
0
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tasting menu dining room queen room saturday night fly fishing downstairs bar claw foot tub trout our waiter the room rate includes special experience rolling hills butterfly garden new york other guests special place courses
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 50 reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2020

My wife and I just got back from a wonderful night at the DeBruce celebrating our 2nd wedding anniversary. The entire experience was perfect, and the staff were all warm, welcoming, and extremely accommodating the entire time. We stayed in the corner queen room and although the room wasn't huge it was really comfortable and the details/decor were simple but lovely (and the clawfoot tub wasn't bad either).

Starting even before we checked in, the staff was very communicative and helpful in arranging a guided nature hike and relaxing spa treatment at their sister property Kenoza Hall, and even helped me shift around our reservations when rain threatened our hike.

We also had dinner at the restaurant and both my wife and I thought the tasting menu was exceptional and a really special experience from beginning to end. Every dish was unique and delicious, and I'd highly recommend it. They even built us a fire in the sitting room to enjoy after dinner while we finished our wine. Incredible!

All in all we would definitely recommend The DeBruce to anyone looking for a romantic getaway or special occasion destination.

Date of stay: November 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 937julianm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 25, 2020

There were multiple times we needed something or wanted to ask about a feature of the grounds - and there was never anyone at the front desk. We'd wander around downstairs, looking for staff to no avail. Eventually another guest told me "we've just been calling the phone number to try and reach them" so we just started doing that.

Every single time we ordered a drink they were out of something ("We don't have the brandy to make that drink"; "oh that bottle of wine is unavailable").

At one point we were having a drink in the downstairs bar near the fire and a manager came in and starting doing like a job review with the bartender? Like talking about how they'd hired someone new, and might need to move her to a different part of the hotel, and then going over her job performance? It was just a really awkward thing to do in public, in front of guests. There was just a weird icy vibe among the staff and it wasn't a really well run place.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel2020October
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 3, 2020

We went last Sunday night for the tasting menu at The DeBruce restaurant. It was exactly what we needed to cheer our spirits up due to this pandemic. The menu was eight courses and the new chef did not disappoint. The bread with sunflower salt, raw trout that smooth as salmon, foie gras with plum (yum). My pièce de résistance was the aged beef with summer berries. It was displayed spectacularly and invoked a heavenly summer meal. The dinner ended up with the fun and unforgettable combination of peaches with caviar; who knew they could go so well together. It is a wonder what each menu item will be as we were told it changes every day. The meal is eaten while looking out of DeBruce Inn's picture windows that face the rolling hills of the western Catskills near Livingston Manor. We had the added bonus of watching the moon rise above us, as if on cue. It is worth making a reservation, moon not required.

Room tip: This is a restaurant (not the hotel) review
Date of stay: August 2020
Thank Jertup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 3, 2020 via mobile

We spent a 3 day weekend at the DeBruce and it was fantastic. Everything from the room, to the grounds, to the food were wonderful. We went for several hikes through the woods and really didn’t see any other guests. It was almost as if we had the place to ourselves.
The building has been lovingly restored and the rooms are beautifully appointed. We had a Queen with a claw foot tub & a view of the pool, butterfly garden & mountain.
The 9 course tasting menu with wine pairings was amazing. I’m a vegetarian & the meal I had was exceptional. Chef was creative in his choices & made the most of all the local & foraged produce.
We ended all of our nights with a nightcap in the downstairs bar.
The staff were amazing with some special shout outs to Sam (he was always available and always helpful), James the Barman, who gave us some great recommendations on cocktails & wine, & provided some great playlists. We’d also like to give our waiter, Gio (congratulations on your graduation) a shout out. Wonderfully polite & helpful young man. We’re already thinking about planning a fall return. Hope to see you all soon.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank johntP6221EF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 26, 2020

Tasting menu was exquisitely prepared by at least 4 chefs in view of diners. With selected wines, the whole dining experience was awesome and totally Michelin Star worthy!!!!
Can’t wait to return and bring others for this amazing dining in Catskills.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Traelmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews