We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value for money in a convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plaza Hotel
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Long Island City
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“great value for money in a convenient location”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

I stayed at this hotel with my husband in October 2011; that was our first trip to nyc, and we had booked this hotel based on reviews on this site. We were in 2 minds about it as the reviews were very mixed, but we thought we'd book it anyway, and then make up our own minds. Well, it turned out to be the right decision. Firstly, the hotel is located under 5 mins walk from the nearest subway station, which takes you to all Manhattan locations in less than 15 mins. So even though it is not centrally located, it is still very accessible, making it possible to come back to the hotel in the middle of the day for a quick nap or break from all the shopping and sightseeing before heading out again. A quick note about the location: as some travellers indicated, the area is not exactly "posh" - whatever that means- and I guess that it could even be described as "dodgy"; however, it is very safe; we used to go out at night and come back in the wee hours, there would be locals around, hood wearing youths hanging around the subway station, minding their own business, and nothing ever happened to us. If anything, people seemed friendly and laid back, certainly not the aggressive types that a lot of us are used to in our own cities. So yes, it is a deprived area, but a safe area nonetheless.
As for the hotel itself, it is very clean; our room was cleaned everyday, including the bathroom, towels changed everyday. Our double bed was very comfy, and the room, overlooking a very busy street, was adequately sound proofed, as we barely heard a noise during our stay. The continental- american style breakfast of bagels, danish, doughnuts, fruit, cereals, bread and yogurt was adequate, although if you like cooked breakfasts, this probably won't cater for your needs, as there are no hot items. But then, if your omelette cravings get the better of you, you can go to the cafe next door and get a very cheap hot breakfast there.
The breakfast room is small, it is self service, and you will need to clear your table yourself as there is no waiting staff to do it for you; i would recommend getting there before 8 am as it gets very busy very quickly and you might have to wait for a table if you leave it until too late. As for the staff, we found them to be very helpful and professional; a note about the seemingly controversial Martia (or is it Marcia): I wouldn't take the negative comments about her too seriously. Yes, she is not your "smile from ear to ear" sort of person; she won't ask you about your day and won't pretend to be interested in how much you paid for your last pair of socks; but then, why would you want her to be like that? She is friendly, professional, fast and effective, just not over the top friendly. She will answer your questions patiently, tell you everything that you need to know in a very professional, polite tone, but won't offer you a hot chocolate and biscuit to make the experience more gratifying. Personally, i'm fine with that.
So all in all, this was a very good value for money hotel, fit for purpose, in a convenient, accessible location. I will definitely consider it again for my next trip to nyc.

Room Tip: if you're really paranoid about noise levels, book a room on the quiet side, away from the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank khadijaassoudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bwplazalic33143, General Manager at Best Western Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Hello khadijaox81,

The Best Western Plaza Hotel is very elated you found your stay here with us convenient, friendly, and of great value! We appreciate all the details of your experience with us you shared and as well as tips you provided for our TripAdvisor readers! We will be sure to deliver your kind praise to Marcia! Hope to see you again!

Many thanks,
The Best Western Plaza Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    398
    822
    272
    61
    49
See reviews for
549
554
114
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

An absolutely harrowing experience -- the hotel put multiple holds on my card over an extended stay, double-charged me, and then never released the holds! The manager disappeared whenever I attempted to get him to address the problem, and I have yet to finish resolving what has now become a $3000 mess with my bank!

I feel bad leaving such an awful review, as the actual staff was nice, and the hotel was very convenient, but clearly the management are either incompetent, or outright thieves. Stay elsewhere, or be sure to pay in cash and use a card you don't need for security...

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nycdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Location of this hotel is good, midtown is only 10-15 minuts by metro. Subway station is in a 10-15 minuts walk. Staff is friendly and helpfull. Breakfast is simple, but OK. Free coffee and WiFi are avalible 24 houras. Rooms are clean and big. Price is reasonable. Many rooms have nice view of Manhattan. I used to see Empire state building from my bed!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moscovite2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bwplazalic33143, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Hello moscovite2011,

The Best Western Plaza enjoyed your succinct review regarding your stay with us! We are glad our amenities served you well and do plan to return for another stay with is in future trips to New York!

With gratitude,
The Best Western Plaza Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warszawa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Great Manhattan view from our room. Subway (F line) located 400m from hotel, working 24/7. Travel to/from Manhattan (Rockefeller Center) about 10-15 minutes. Free internet access - wifi, business center with PC's and printer free of charge. Breakfast rather small but sufficient (breakfast room a bit crowded). Maybe Manhattan locations are more convenient but double (or triple) the price.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nucek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bwplazalic33143, General Manager at Best Western Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Hello Nucek,

The Best Western Plaza is thrilled your found your stay with us of great value for your money! Hope you keep our hotel in mind in future trips to New York!

Sincere regards,
The Best Western Plaza Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jazzdancer49
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

This hotel is very reasonable and not far from Laguardia Airport. Rooms are comfortable and clean. Continental breakfast is nice. Parking may be available but no reservations for parking are taken.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jazzdancer49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bwplazalic33143, General Manager at Best Western Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Hello Jazzdancer49,

The Best Western is very happy to know you found our hotel of great value and convenience! Hope you decide to return to our hotel on your next visit to New York!

Many Thanks,
The Best Western Plaza Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
731 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

We booked this hotel for three nights, influenced by the reviews, comparatively high room rates in Manhattan, and also proximity to the subway system. The hotel was less expensive than in Manhattan and on arrival we were slightly concerned about the area, although our concerns were unfounded during our stay. Check-in was efficient and we were allocated a room on the fifth floor accessed by lift. The room was perfectly adequate, although there was some traffic noise from the road outside. The nearest station was relatively close and we checked travel arrangements with the hotel prior to travelling in to Manhattan for the first time. Unfortunately, the hotel advice, omitted to advise us that due to LONG TERM rail works, the evening return trains were different to the outbound journey. On boarding the same (wrong) train to return, we suddenly found ourselves in a different area, and only managed to reach our hotel (on foot - and wet) following clear advice from a helpful local resident.
The included breakfast was provided on a mezzanine floor above reception. The food available was average but the space was clearly inadequate for the number of guests wishing to use it. This caused some of the guests to return to their rooms with their food. Also the replenishment of food appeared to be variable depending on the availability of one member of staff. Some of the staff manning the concierge desk appeared to have limited knowledge of the area. On attempting to re-confirm our flights, I was directed to an area on the mezzanine floor where one working computer was available without a working printer. There had clearly been other equipment, but the workspaces were empty. On attempting to access our room after breakfast on the last day, the key would not work. Seeking assistance the one member of staff from the breakfast area arrived wih knife/screwdriver and from the marks on the door this had occurred before. Using the key and said tools, he could not access the room and left for further assistance. Surprisingly, the normal key then opened the door.
In summary, this hotel is better value than in the main area of Manhattan, and is well located for subway access. However, we feel that the publicity and picture of this hotel may overstate the comparative value when taking our overall experiences into account

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelexperience12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bwplazalic33143, General Manager at Best Western Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Hello Travelexperience12,

The Best Western Plaza would like you to know your review has been of great aid to us ! Not only has your review allowed our hotel to reflect on a past customer relation, but in turn arise new ideas in ways to better handle experiences similar to yours, projecting us further in our goal in providing the best possible hotel service in Long Island City. Again thank you once more for posting your review!

With Sincere Thanks,
The Best Western Plaza Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

This was our first stay on our trip to New York and we arrived at about 1am with the taxi driver telling us how dangerous the area was which didn't make us feel to safe. It is a nice hotel with bigger rooms than i expected, good cable channels, friendly staff, and excellent breakfast options down at the restaurant. The area to the right of the hotel is pretty dodgy, my friend was staying at a friends house 6 minute walk away from the hotel on the right side and her door man told her it would be much to dangerous to walk over to our house at 10pm. During the day we felt very safe, luckily because this is the direction of the nearest subway but we did walk around at night and it did seem to be very unsafe.
The left side is very safe day or night however and there are some nice deli's and places to eat as well as a convenient dairy down the road.
Overall a nice place who were very patient with us as we lost our bags on the airline which had all our stuff including wallets so they were patient enough to let us pay them the next day when our bag arrived.
Would recommend for all ages but would beware of going out at night for a stroll etc

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwidrummond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bwplazalic33143, General Manager at Best Western Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Hello Kiwidrummond,

The Team here at the Best Western Plaza is thrilled by your gracious review of your experience with us at our hotel! We are more than eager to help alleviate any guest’s traveling stresses such as losing their luggage! In future trips to New York, we hope you keep our hotel in mind and decide to stay with us again!

With Sincere Thanks,
Best Western Plaza Hotel Management .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long ...
#2 of 31 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
0.7 km away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 31 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
1.1 km away
Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View
Wyndham Garden Long Island City ...
#13 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel Vetiver
Hotel Vetiver
#11 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
0.1 km away
Howard Johnson Long Island City
Howard Johnson Long Island City
#20 of 31 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
1.2 km away
The Paper Factory Hotel
The Paper Factory Hotel
#9 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plaza Hotel

Property: Best Western Plaza Hotel
Address: 3934 21st Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#9 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel, where guests will find friendly customer service and superior accommodations at an affordable price. Located just five minutes from public transportation to Manhattan this Long Island City hotel features well-appointed guest rooms with cable satellite television and free wireless high-speed Internet access. The Friendly staff at the BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel is ready to ensure a memorable stay in Long Island ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, Expedia, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plaza Hotel Long Island City, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing