We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (829)
Filter reviews
829 results
Traveller rating
354
269
117
45
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
354
269
117
45
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews unique hotel new york cool hotel fun hotel moving image northern blvd industrial look subway entrance hotel restaurant average hotel bagels laguardia airport street noise industrial area nyc area few blocks coffee machine
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 829 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2018

This hotel is close to the subway of 36 street, easy to navigate. There are some great restaurant near by. The area felts safe. The Hotel is very clean and comfortable, We used the breakfast room on our stay and found it sufficed for one off use, however a broader selection of juices and freshly made OJ would be an improvement, the milks need to labeled, and maybe eggs to order would be a good practice. Dry cleaning service was used and this was done well, however we did need to see the front desk to retrieve the dry cleaning. The gymnasium was equipped for a reasonable workout, but if if you need a more solid training session there is a gym 10 min walk away for the cost of 20USD. Check in was smooth and the staff very friendly, the first room we went to was not sufficient for my companions size to fit in the bed, so we asked for a room with a bigger bed. The staff could not do anything more to support us and provided a complimentary upgrade (thank you) it made sleeping much easier for my companion. The shower facility in the room was designed for tall people and the water pressure was great, the ROAM products a nice touch. What was lacking in the each of the rooms we were in, was a bar or mini fridge, not sure of the reasoning for this, but every hotel i have ever stayed at around the world has provided this Missed item within the room of the paper factory hotel. This is a nice hotel facility, staff great, and it would be a positive added service with a porter/concierge service for taking bags and guests to rooms and explaining the facilities of the hotel and in the rooms.

Room Tip: if you need a refrigerator in your room check with your booking service first to make sure the room has one.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RaymondS1241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 18, 2018 via mobile

Good location to go to and from Manhattan, large room with lots of light, separate sink & toilet area from shower. Hard to use outlets (no outlets at side tables or on desk), air could only be set at on or off (degrees could not be adjusted), tv could not be turned on or off without plugging or unplugging and could not be adjusted with remote.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank 354kareno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miguelamadera, Manager at The Paper Factory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2018

Dear 354kareno,

Thank you for your time and your kind feedback about your recent stay. Also, thank you for pointing to few issues you've faced during your stay. This keeps our team informed and aware of details in need of adjustment.
AC remote is located in every room, and both mode and temperature can be adjusted from the room. We hope you were help with this if not as mentioned.

Hopefully we will see you again for another stay

Warm regards,
PF team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 14, 2018

This place is actually really cool and has a urban chic vibe to it. The beds could be better and the pillows. Just beware if you book through a 3rd party this hotel will try to charge you extra for their fees like they did to me. The company I booked it through told me that all hotel resort fees were included and I had proof that it stated that but the front desk tried to still get it out of me and tried to make me feel bad that they are going to have to eat the 25 dollar resort fee. Also before checking out they decided to call us an hour before and let us know that they had to put a hold on our credit card of 150 for incidental fees. Why wouldn't you do this when we checked in not when we are leaving. Other than the rude hotel staff the place was nice and really cool.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miguelamadera, Manager at The Paper Factory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2018

Dear Stephanie,

We do apologize for the issues you have faced with service fee. Service fee is always included in the price breakdown and/or confirmation letter you should receive when booking. If we can assist with this please call us directly here at the Paper Factory (718 392 7200) and will look into immediately. We do not have name of the agency, otherwise would be looking into this immediately.
Please contact us to get more information with your reservation and we'll look more closely into Front desk team assistance upon check in and check out. Our customer service is always streaming to the highest level and described above will be detailed inspected if you update us on your stay with name and date.

Warm regards,
PF management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 13, 2018

We loved the look of this hotel after reading about it in a UK paper. We arrived late at night and loved the funky lobby - a fun space to arrive in. We were pleased with our standard room which had two doubles in it. We thought the beds very comfy - great mattresses and linen. High ceilings make the room feel spacious - great for new york. We had a basin/toilet room and a shower room - great shower and generous, fluffy towels. We paid extra each day for breakfast - it was very good in a lovely bright room - the woman running it was very pleasant. When we arrived we were offered breakfast at 10 dollars each which we paid for each day for 4 of us - although one receptionist said it should be 15 and was awkward about it - the manager stepped in and all was sorted. This could have been easier and more pleasant- we were paying for a week times 4 so they still had a great deal from us.

Room noise - our room was on floor 3 and overlooked a car garage which had two deliveries late at night which were noisy. Other than that I thought it quiet for new york and we heard nothing from other rooms/corridors.

The subway is outside which was great - we used it every day except one weekend when it didn't stop there and we had to get a cab back! Check before you board for later nights/weekends.

There was confusion over the summer party - we arrived to be told that there would be their annual party the last night of our stay due to end at 5am. We were worried about this as travelling with children and that is very late to hear party noise. In the end it was postponed due to weather but we really should have been told much earlier - we booked ages ago. The manager was again very nice about this and offered ear plugs but for such a big night I was surprised they even took regular bookings - maybe this needs more thought for the future - discuss with guests on booking that night, not when they check in!

The area is not smart and a bit quiet to walk around if on your own at night but we loved the Momi which is a 7-8 min walk away and tried a few of the local restaurants which were all excellent - the hotel gave us a great map with their locations. We also went to the amazing open air pool in Astoria - best get a cab there - free to go in but you need to take a good lock - check their many rules on line before going!

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank beckyalexandered2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miguelamadera, Manager at The Paper Factory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2018

Dear beckyalexandered2018,

Thank you so much for your time and this kind review, but most important thank you for choosing us to be your NYC go to place. Thank you for mentioning our rooms and bedding.It means a lot since we just recently changed all the mattresses and beds at the hotel and it is a pleasure to read our guest having a good rest while staying.
We do apologize about confusion with breakfast. Indeed, that promotional rate is only available if booking BK as a package on Booking.com but it was a pleasure to assist and match the same one in house.
We are delighted you really explored area as well and found our directions helpful. Astoria is very much melting point for food, art and family activities.
Thank you for your patience with our annual summer party and one more time thank you for your visit. We do hope to see you very soon for your next NYC adventure!

Warm regards,
PF team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 31, 2018 via mobile

This place has a steampunk/hipster look that might appeal to some people. The woman at the front desk was great — she saw I was traveling alone with children and gave me a courtesy upgrade so we could have two queen beds. Our room was quite large by NY standards. Beds are comfortable, rather than luxurious. Shower, no tub. The area under the sink in the bathroom is exposed, and the floors seem like cement. All these things make it feel a bit cold to me. Outside our room two people were talking late at night, and we could hear them in the room.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank fru77662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miguelamadera, Manager at The Paper Factory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2018

Dear Fru77662,

Thank you for your review and your time taken to describe your stay and our property.
While we are very happy our team extended courtesy and upgraded your room type, we do regret you did not enjoy the design more.
If you allow us, we will be happy to show you our family rooms next time and find one up to your preferences.

Warm regards,
PF team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews