We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (109)
Filter reviews
109 results
Traveller rating
75
29
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
75
29
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews screened porches the owner beautiful view extra pillows rooms are clean and comfortable an easy drive small fridge wild center adirondack experience great beach love this place get away david boats rent motel lake
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 109 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2018

Love this place! Have stayed here 4 times. Beautiful well kept property with wonderful view of the lake. Each room has its own screened in porch. There is a lovely private beach with dock and white sand . Dave and Daniella the owners are the greatest and so helpful. Rooms are clean and comfortable and well thought out. Love waking up to the view of the lake from my bed.
We will be back!

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank WBP_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 25, 2018

We actually stayed @ Sandy Point 41 years ago for just one night, June 17th, while traveling in the Adirondacks on our honeymoon.
Twenty years later we went back, and have been going for our anniversary almost every year since. It is a VERY special place to us.
The property is very well maintained, the rooms are inviting, comfortable, and very refreshing. I <3 the view of the lake from the glass doors onto the enclosed porch. The kitchenette is very handy for a longer stay, but the restaurants nearby are very good places to find a meal as well.
Dave and Daniela were more than gracious, and we totally enjoyed our stay. We will DEFINITELY be going back again and again! :)

{{ P. S. A couple extra pillows would be nice. :) }}

Room tip: I prefer upstairs - but all the rooms are very nice.
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 19, 2018 via mobile

This is an old motel but absolutely immaculate. I couldn’t find a spot of dirt anywhere. The floor, baseboards, shower, bath and all areas were old but clean. The owners were friendly. My favorite part was leaving the doors open to the screened-in porch and the smell brought in by the rain at night. My only suggestion is to have extra pillows. There were only two - one for each of us. There where two extra blankets in drawers but no extra pillows. We enjoyed talking with the owners. Having something simple in the morning like coffee and muffins would add to the charm.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 115vanessaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 14, 2017

We stayed in room #8 complete with kitchenette and a beautiful view of Long Lake, which is 14 miles long. All the rooms have lake views and some, like ours, have kitchenettes. Our room had two comfortable double beds, a well-equipped kitchen, and a screened-in porch overlooking the lake. What really made our stay memorable was the kindness and knowledge of Sandy Point's owners, David and Daniella, who not only suggested places we might want to visit, but who also provided us with the historical context of the area. If you want to get away from chain motels, restaurants and department stores, yet have intriguing museums such as the Wild Center and the Adirondack experience an easy drive away over uncrowded, paved roads, then Long Lake is the place for you and the Sandy Point Motel definitely is the place to stay.

Room tip: Suggest you book a room with a kitchenette, since they're larger and more comfortable.
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TravelersEdandLina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 20, 2017 via mobile

The view from the room is beautiful. The beach area is nice with a couple floating docks and canoes and kayaks for rent. The lady (who along with her husband) is very nice. The room was dated but we found it very clean. The grounds and building are well kept.
Cons:
The shower water goes from ice cold to scalding hot and back. Quite dangerous! The beds are very hard. My hips are actually sore from the bed. We considered buying a foam topper if we would have stayed more than 3 nights. The rooms and screened porches are non-smoking. Unfortunately, there was someone in a room near us who kept smoking throughout the day even though the owner spoke to them. She did tell me to tell her if they smoked again but I didn't want to deal with it. We ended up coming in from the porch and closing our patio door every time they smoked because it would come in the room so strongly.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dawne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews