We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, but not up to Marriott's standards”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Saratoga Malta
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Malta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stayed at this hotel while visiting Saratoga Springs. It is just a few miles from town. The hotel reminded us of a nursing home, as it is very old-fashioned and boring inside. The decor could definitely use some sprucing-up. There are artificial plants and flowers everywhere, including in our room, which really makes the place feel chintzy.

The front desk staff is very pleasant and friendly, although the woman at the desk refused to recommend a restaurant to us, saying that she thought we should just try one on our own and that all the restaurants within a few miles were just fine. (The one we picked wasn't.)

Because we are part of the Marriott Rewards program, we were upgraded (without asking) to a larger room with a separate sitting room. The room was immaculately clean, as was the bathroom, which was very roomy. The bedding was comfortable, although the sofa in the sitting room was in need of replacement; the springs were shot and there was no support when we sat down. There were two flat-screen TVs, a microwave, and a mini-fridge (empty, not stocked). There was also a cassette player --- yes, a tape player --- with the TV and DVR set-up. I haven't seen a tape player in a hotel in about 15 or 20 years, so that is something that also made the hotel feel outdated and old-fashioned. Closet space was adequate. Bathroom amenities were of a good quality and there were enough towels.

The worst part about this hotel was the breakfast buffet. The so-called scrambled eggs were the strangest things I've ever seen --- identical-sized and shaped bright yellow bits that looked and tasted like rubber. They seemed to be some kind of fake egg product. The orange juice, too, tasted more like an orange drink than fresh juice, with a weird aftertaste. Both my husband and I thought the hash browns were the worst we had ever tasted and they were sort of rubbery and unseasoned. We had to leave the breakfast room to get our coffee, which was in the lobby, and the coffee wasn't very good either. There was no bacon. It was a most disappointing breakfast and a bad way to start our day. There also isn't enough seating in the breakfast room, so a lot of people were taking their plates to the elevator, presumably to eat in their rooms.

All in all, the hotel is very clean and the staff is friendly, but it is in need of an aesthetic facelift and in absolute dire need of a makeover food-wise. We didn't think it met the standards that we're used to seeing in other Marriott Hotels.

Room Tip: There really are no views at all, no matter which direction you look, so it probably doesn't mat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveParkLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2012

Disclaimer: was upgraded to King Suite. Nice large room with many amenities. Nice Marriott bed/bedding, large safe in the closet (plenty of room for laptops), nice LCD television (suite has two, plus a DVD/cassette/MP3 player) and enough shampoo in that one bottle to last for over a week. All staff, from front desk to housekeeping to maintenance were very accommodating and there are freshly made cookies at the desk on weeknights.

Just a few negatives: While breakfast as a whole was good and varied the scrambled eggs are just plain horrible, clearly from some premixed slop. The elevator chime is VERY loud, so beware if you have a room near the elevator. And, like another reviewer, I agree the toilet paper is really poor quality. The other toiletries are very good though.

Room Tip: Load elevator chime may be a problem if your room is near the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We have stayed a significant number of nights since October 2011 in this facility. The staff can't be beat, they make you feel like home and are very responsive to one's needs. The location is convenient and easy to access. There are only two negative aspects to the facility, one would be a need to upgrade the toilet paper, it is the same you experience on a cruise ship and I would expect more quality and comfort for a facility like this. The other would the need to upgrade the bedding, feather pillows and a better grade of sheet.

Room Tip: I don't think there are any bad rooms in this facility. We have been close to the elevators and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travler1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Our room was small, air conditioning was so noisy it woke us up all night, toilets are terrible and can't flush anything other than liquid. Two calls in teo days to the desk for a plunger. Food on premises was not good at all. McDonalds next door was a far better breakfast choice. The property was clean, staff was very friendly and helpful, but couldn't make up for the shortcuts taken on the facilities.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doa70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Great location, clean lobby, breakfast room and guest rooms. The pool area is small and echoey. Downside to our stay, girls gymnastics tournament in town made for a loud stay. Full hotel easily overwhelmed the continental breakfast room and supply.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

I had two free nights from Marriott. Couldn't get directly into Saratoga so took Malta. Easy access. Free buffet breakfast. Staff was accommodating.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We've stayed in this particular hotel twice, both times with my daughters travel softball team. The hotel has always been clean, bright and attractive. Very easy access to the highway, and super close to Saratoga! The breakfast area was great, with friendly staff. Will stay again next year!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ADoerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malta
0.4 km away
Hyatt Place Saratoga / Malta
0.1 km away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Saratoga Malta
6.7 km away
Roosevelt Inn & Suites
Roosevelt Inn & Suites
#21 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 km away
Best Western Plus Saratoga Springs
Best Western Plus Saratoga Sprin...
#20 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
355 reviews
15.6 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#10 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
439 reviews
11.5 km away
Hampton Inn Clifton Park
Hampton Inn Clifton Park
#2 of 10 in Clifton Park
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Saratoga Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Saratoga Malta

Address: 101 Saratoga Village Blvd, Malta, NY 12020-3702
Region: United States > New York > Malta
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Malta
Price Range: $126 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Saratoga Malta 2.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Cancelon and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Saratoga Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Saratoga - Malta
Fairfield Inn & Suites Saratoga - Malta Hotel Malta
Fairfield Inn Malta
Fairfield Malta
Fairfield Inn Hotel Saratoga
Malta Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing