We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveller rating
11
7
3
2
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
11
7
3
2
6
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 29 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2014

Three cool things; three not so hot things and three really hot things.
1. Best porch in Millerton, cool breeze, beautiful view
2. Wonderful bedding
3. Nice mix of Victorian rooms with edgy art.
4. No TV in rooms
5. House cleaning 3x in 6 day, kept leaving a list of things needed. Asked Toilet paper and were brought less than 1/3 roll, last day had to go down to the restaurant at 3 am to get toilet paper because absolutely none in our room.
6, Vacuuming at 10:30 at night above our heads.
7. Inn allegedly air conditioned. Room in mid August was 88. Had to go to CVS and buy a fan.
8. Do not stay in Room #1. They run the hot water tank piping through the toilet. When someone turns on their shower your toilet tank is hot to the touch and steam comes from the toilet bowl. It was a steaming bidet and my husband had to stop his business because of the heat. Talked to management about why this was like this. Said that it was to winterize the pipes. But it is August, Still no go around. Double Ouch!!!
9. Management left a note that my daughters credit card had expired. We called them and they had taken care of it with another card before they left for NYC. The kids called the inn 5-6 times trying to find out if there was a problem with the 2nd card. The management did not answer any of their calls. We finally found someone in the restaurant who got the management and said that there was no problem with the 2nd card and they had left the letter in error. Appalling.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
8  Thank Marilyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 25, 2014

Until the White Hart in Salisbury opens at the end of August, this small inn is the best around in terms of proximity to attractions and nearby schools. Having visited all of them at one time or another,we have found all the nearby motels and inns to be lacking in the basic amenities,smelling of mold and expensive for what they are.
Number 9 ( formerly Simmon's Inn) has clean, serviceable rooms in a quaint inn in central Millerton. Once you park, you can walk across the street to great shopping, antiqueing, a movie theater, and great restaurants. But try Number 9-- some of the best food around.,
We reserved three rooms the past weekend and for the price they are a bargain. Each are very different so you may want to ask before you reserve about shower size etc. While the Inn is a do-it-yourself affair with minimal staff, a nice continental breakfast is laid out, the rooms are quiet and the beds comfortable, and each room comes with a mini I-Pad. Rooms appear to be serviced on a " as needed" basis. While our beds were made, our towels and bathroom were not changed or cleaned.
Often people overlook this Inn as they assume it is just a restaurant. But give it a try if you're in the area...it beats the competition if you like cleanliness and are adverse to smells...and if you don't want to pay a king's ransom for getting the benefit of mediocrity.

Room Tip: Ask about the rooms...they are all different.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ctlaxmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this charming home back in the early fall of 2013. These owners were accomodating, yet unobtrusive.
Well kept, clean, low key; and run by honest people.
We departed very early for a flight out of LaGuardia and I left behind a photography kit bag with lots of camera gear. We were on the plane and pushing back when we realized what we had left on the driveway. The owners of Number 9 mailed it to us and would not accept a dime for the postage. Their integrity speaks volumes. Enjoy this place, we heard the restaurant was excellent; many eateries within walking distance too. We have had the good fortune to have stayed at many places all over the world, this one ranked at the top...

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WEFLYDELTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

I never write bad reviews but this one deserves it.
The new ownership is horrible. To start, over the course of 5 days I didn't receive one clean towel or any housekeeping. For the price of almost $200 a night you'd think breakfast would be served since it is a B&B but I had NOTHING. Not ever a piece of bread to eat. I'm pretty sure the 5 star review is the new owners because what I experienced was the total opposite. I'd stay far away from this place. It's sad because I enjoyed many stays under the previous ownership.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Angela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I am reluctant to write this review because I fear our secret Inn will be discovered, but it deserves to be, so here's the scoop: No. 9 used to be Simmon's Way, a frilly, chintz-filled place that was never on our radar as a place to stay when we wanted a nice weekend upstate. I had looked at the rooms years ago and dismissed them as cramped, too-flowery and uninspiring. But in need of a place to stay in a pinch this past winter, we made a reservation at what we thought was Simmon's Way. Upon arrival we discovered that the inn had been renamed No. 9 when it was taken over by the lovely couple who run the restaurant in the back. We were greeted with a totally stylish, re-decorated entry-way with a living room off to one side (with a flat screen TV) and an expanded dining room of the restaurant on the other. Modern artwork and photography on the walls, chic black and white dining room, clean lines -- someone with a great eye had chosen every detail with care merging a classic, lovely old house with modern decor. The rooms have been stripped of all signs of lace and teddy bears. Simple white duvets adorn all beds in the now elegantly simple rooms. Beds are all very comfortable; rooms are spacious with large bathrooms; the rooms we stayed in were light-filled. A generous continental breakfast is set out every morning that always includes fresh baked goods from town, cereal, juice, fruit and often something extra like lox and cream cheese or yogurt (one morning the outstanding apple strudel left over from the restaurant's dessert menu the night before was included). This is not a place that fusses over you, which is something we appreciated. There has always been someone who has taken our bags to our room upon arrival and if we needed anything, it was promptly provided, but the owners don't hover (when we stayed mid-week they actually were away for one of the nights and simply left us a number to call if we needed anything). It is run a bit like a very thoughtful bed and breakfast. We brought our two boys with us on all of our stays, who enjoyed the place as much as we did and were well received. The final bonus is the location of the inn: right in the town of Millerton. You could easily arrive and never get back in your car until you are ready to leave. Great restaurants (including No. 9 located in the Inn), one of our favorite bookstores, a movie theatre with dependably good films, Harney's for tea, good pizza, and walks on the rail trail are all just a few steps away. It would even be possible to take the train to Wassaic, a cab to the inn and dispense with a car altogether. Now, I hope I'll still be able to get a reservation after posting this review...

Room Tip: We've stayed at the inn on multiple occasions and the three rooms we stayed in were all lovely. Two of the rooms we stayed in had couches, which made for a lovely place to sit and read. The Inn is set far back from the street, so all rooms were quiet.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ALA150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews