We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
9 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$819
US$740
View deal
PricelineUS$740
Hotels.comUS$740
Expedia.comUS$740
FindHotelUS$740
eDreamsUS$740
Trip.comUS$819
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (826)
Filter reviews
826 results
Traveller rating
430
162
82
67
85
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
430
162
82
67
85
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fire pit guest services sea water ocean front beach club off season main lobby front desk manager oceanfront room restaurant staff saltwater pool long weekend long island this past weekend scarpetta davis kyle
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 826 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2020

If you are seeking upscale, pampered respite and relaxation under the direction of an attentive staff, Gurney's will not disappoint...it is a resort tailored to the purpose. Specific commendation goes to General Manager Michael Nenner, a consummate professional and a credit to the hospitality craft, who executes the visits of Gurney's' guests with skilled competence and with kindness rarely observed in the travel industry. Mr. Nenner and his thoughtful, pleasant staff deftly furnished an unforgettable bespoke experience to my adult daughter and accompanying guests on a special visit to Gurney's. Although they were first-time visitors, they were welcomed to the resort as VIPs. Their room possessed a commanding Oceanfront view and additional amenities. The beachfront amenities were well-tailored to ensuing a venue of serenity during this challenging period necessitating social distance. Dinner at Scarpetta Beach was the perfect complement to the accommodations and the amenities at the resort. The meal was of high quality, with a variety of pastas exquisitely displayed. We highly and unhesitatingly recommend Gurney's, a fixture in the Montauk/Hamptons region that continually strives toward its own reinvention and success by understanding the evolving needs of its sophisticated clientele and its role in the community.

Room tip: Beach and Oceanfront views abound at Gurney's!
Date of stay: August 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank cmt714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael Nenner, General Manager at Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2020

Dear cmt714,

We enjoyed having your daughter and her friends and we thank them for their essential work during the pandemic. Our team really wanted to make them feel special and appreciated and I'm so glad they enjoyed their stay.

Look forward to welcoming them and you back.

Regards,
Michael Nenner
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 9, 2020

loved every minute of it: the staff was super friendly, everyone was very amiable to my pup and my teenage children. we had a room with a great terrace on the ocean that was ample and fit a big, wide lounger. our room was modern, loved the renovated look, good bathroom. the restaurant & fire pit terrace are open, but only to dine outside, and only to hotel guests. the food at Scarpetta delicious. everyone wears masks, and are very disciplined about cleanliness and social distancing. the beach was super and the service at it great. lovely stay. it was all lovely: will go back!

Room tip: worth spending the extra $ to get the ocean view
Date of stay: August 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank mkd_travelmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael Nenner, General Manager at Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2020

Dear mkd_travelmania,

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for the wonderful comments. Our team takes pride in serving our guests and keeping them safe.

We do hope to welcome you back in the future.

Regards,
Michael Nenner
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 7, 2020 via mobile

Private beach was terrific. Food (especially Scarpetta Beach) was very good. But the service was awful. A hair in our room service order, a room that reeked of smoke (suitcase still smells), failure to charge my Tesla despite multiple requests, 45 minutes to get a bucket of ice and coffee refills sent to our room, a construction site in full view and requiring us to walk through it to our room, and general rudeness by the staff anytime you ask for something. If this is a basic hotel, fine. But at $1500 per night for a tiny room, the service needs to be orders of magnitude better. I wouldn’t dare recommend this place to anyone I care about.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank F1123VAjoshuaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael Nenner, General Manager at Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2020

Dear F1123VAjoshuaw,

My sincere apologies for your experience and I'd like to discuss further is possible. Please contact me at the email below.

Apologies again,

Michael Nenner
Area General Manager
michael.nenner@gurneysresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2020 via mobile

An absolutely beautiful hotel in a beautiful setting with five star service and staff. I can’t say enough about how wonderful this place is. You must go soon, and I never say that! Love this place… It is heaven!

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Charlie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael Nenner, General Manager at Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2020

Dear Charlie C,

Thank you for staying with us and we're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. The team works hard with these busy times to make each stay special and they'll be excited to hear your comments.

Regards,
Michael Nenner
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 5, 2020 via mobile

DO NOT STAY IN ROOM 558. We are paying $1500 a night for an oceanfront 1 BR suite, their second highest category. Last night, our bathroom ceiling was leaking and the entire bathroom flooded with dirty water from upstairs. The hotel blamed it on the upstairs guests and we accepted their apology after they cleaned the bathroom (and a refund of their exorbitant resort fee for one night).
24 hours later, IT HAPPENED AGAIN!! At this point, we need to change rooms. But the hotel is refusing. It has been over an hour that we have notified them of dirty water flooding our bathroom and they can only suggest someone will eventually come clean it.
Unacceptable. Broken chairs, rug that doesn’t lie flat, dirty drapes...we were willing to overlook it all for an oceanfront room. But we are paying them $10,000 for the week and every night we have to delay our dinner while we deal with sewage IN OUR ROOM. What in the world?? unbelievable

Date of stay: August 2020
2  Thank dianemC5420VV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael Nenner, General Manager at Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2020

Dear dianemC5420VV,

Thank you for your feedback and I'm glad we were able to speak on property as well. As discussed, the water was from the room above and the shower door not being closed for the family using it above. We advised the family several times and I apologize this impacted your stay. The water was not sewage but water from the shower above. I wish I could have moved you but as discussed, we were committed on all other rooms.

Please contact me directly for assistance in the future.

Regards,
Michael Nenner
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews