We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“it really didn't impress me” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ruschmeyer's

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ruschmeyer's
Ranked #17 of 41 Hotels in Montauk
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“it really didn't impress me”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

that's the typical place where, like it often happens in the states, you don't understand where all the hype comes from. it's nice for sure, but not that original, the rooms are just ok and pretty basics, the rest of the hotel consists in a plain field and a sot of "biergarten" which is not really one...montauk is expensive, but you can find better value for sure. only good note the breakfast which is very good!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank y_nasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    20
    12
    6
    7
See reviews for
12
36
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

King and Grove Hotels, Surf Lodge & Rushmayer

We are attending a wedding in Montauk and these hotels were listed as having had room blocked for the wedding. We called Surf Lodge three times across three weeks and on all three occasions were told we would be called back by a manager, because the person working did not know of any availability for the wedding??? The wedding was, by the time of our most recent call, less than a month away. The call back never came; by the time we we able to book a room, there were none available in the wedding block. So, we are now paying $250 plus tax for a room that only holds two of us, instead of a room with two beds that could have acommodated the whole group; so we're not just paying more for one room, we're paying twice for one room! Weddings are expensive to start with and we have to travel to get there. How is it that a place with such a good reputation could fail to return calls for nearly a month? I have no choice but to stay with them for this wedding, but you can count on the fact that I will be sure to tell my friends and family to stay elsewhere when they travel to Montauk.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank T Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

Ruschmeyer is not a boutique hotel more like a budget hotel with a boutique hotel price tag, poor decor and bad service.

We had booked a room with an extra bed. When we arrived we were told there was a miscommunication between the two managers and basically take this room or leave it. we were a party of 3 girls. The managers told us if you don’t want the room no problem there is a huge waiting list waiting for the room. Really? Well maybe there is a waiting list this season but I do not think there will be one next season, as I cannot imagine anyone wanting to stay at this dump. No apologies No explanation and poor attitude. Not worth the price tag especially with all that IKEA furniture.
They wont be in business for long.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Daskll1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

This newly opened 20-room hotel gives hip Brooklyn hipsters the opportunity to go to scout camp. The scene is a fusion between a scout camp, with rooms around a field of grass with small tables, ping pong tables and a beer garden, and a hip party scene with a bar and a classy restaurant inside. The whole scene comes to me as quite Nordic, white, forestry and simple. The food is great and the service is outstanding. The rooms are quite small for the price though and since the windows face the common garden you can never open your curtains, which kind of make the room a bit dark.

If you are willing to pay to stay at the coolest spot this summer, are in your twenties or early thirties and love food and hip parties. This is the place to be. If you like to have a balcony and some more space I would rather recommend the owners other hotel The Surf Lodge.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marthes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

Recently stayed at Ruschmeyer's with my brother and sister based on rave reviews in travel and lifestyle magazines. Unfortunately I felt that it was much more a converted motel than a boutique hotel. The Ikea labels were clearly visible on our bed linen and although the rooms were nice, the lounge of the suite was lacking any airconditioning when we arrived. The first night was spent with a very small fan, while the second and third nights we did have use of an airconditioning unit but it was fitted in the bathroom. Not ideal when the temperature is easily in the mid 80s.

We booked the Suite which was double the price of a standard room as we thought that two day beds and a king bed would be perfectly suitable. At that price ($900) it is hard to imagine anything other than lovely and luxurious! However as mentioned above the room lacked air con (although this was partically remedied) and we shared a bathroom. Not terrible but if we had booked two separate rooms we would have had two bathrooms, 3 proper beds and two fully functioning air conditioning units all for the same price. On the up side, the John Masters Organics products were lovely, and I only wish they had come in a much larger bottle.

It is also worth mentioning that this hotel really does have a party atmosphere on Friday and Saturday nights - at stages resembling a frat party. The crowd felt very young as the night wore on (we are in our early 30s). Also you are not able to charge drinks or meals to your room from the bar and restaurant, even though I was under the impression they were owned by the same people. This was annoying the first time as we had left everything in the room to have a quick dinner. It was also very expensive although tasty. We ate all our other meals at nearby restaurants.

What didn't help the situation was that the bar and restaurant staff were unbelievably rude. At breakfast one morning I heard a staff member complaining to another that she was tired and wished the guests weren't there...right in front of me. In the bar you were basically ignored - even when it was empty - by the staff who all seemed happier to chat to each other than serve you. That type of attitude annoys me somewhat. I thought the buffet breakfast was good but nothing spectacular. The toast seemed to be the stale bread left over from the night before, although I did get a fresh piece one morning. The spicy avocado was delicious. A nice addition would be boiled or poached eggs, which can be easily made in a few minutes and given the hotel only takes a small number of guests, could be made to order.

The front office staff are sweet and polite but very young and with no knowledge of Montauk, the Hamptons or anything in the surrounding area (it was ones first visit to the US). The Hotel Manager was a lovely woman who was from Montauk, so if you caught her then everything was fine, but the other two girls were out of their depth. There also seemed to be a multitude of different uniforms - some more identifiable than others - and a steady stream of people coming in and out of the office with an air of importance but nothing to identify who they were or what their role was. I am old fashioned and like to see, if not a uniform, then at least a name tag so I know who I'm dealing with.

We did tell some of our complaints to the Hotel Manager and General Manager during our stay and we were very kindly recompensed for our discomfort due to the air conditioning and what we felt was misleading information. This was a very generous offer by the hotel and was greatly appreciated. We had travelled a long way to visit and did not want to leave feeling sour.

I believe Rushmeyer's has great potential, it is in a pretty spot with cute, kitschy rooms and a relaxing outdoor space however it has a way to go before becoming anything along the lines of luxurious or even boutique. I haven't written it off as I think it had only been open a few weeks and possibly just suffering from "growing pains".

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TorOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

This property is very unique and perfect for a friends weekend or a couples weekend... the surroundings and concept are fantastic... old school/campy but modern, staff is nice, the breakfast delicious and there are plenty of fun activities and walking distance to the beach and Montauk town. At night, a big crowd comes over (although a little young) for late night fun. Only complaints - overpriced, bathroom is tiny and dinner is so-so.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephersan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montauk hotels
3.8 km away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
3.9 km away
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
#6 of 41 in Montauk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
0.6 km away
Sole East Resort
Sole East Resort
#12 of 41 in Montauk
3.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
The Montauk Beach House
The Montauk Beach House
#11 of 41 in Montauk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
1.5 km away
Ocean Surf Resort
Ocean Surf Resort
#3 of 41 in Montauk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
1.6 km away
Montauk Blue Hotel
Montauk Blue Hotel
#9 of 41 in Montauk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruschmeyer's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruschmeyer's

Property: Ruschmeyer's
Address: 161 Second House Rd, Montauk, NY 11954-5058
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Montauk
Hotel Class:3 star — Ruschmeyer's 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ruschmeyer's, a nautical 'Summer camp' located minutes from the beach, was originally built in 1952 on 3 acres of lush, lakeside woodland. We have recently renovated the 19 'cabins', restaurant, lounge and electric eel (nightclub), and are now taking reservations. Ruschmeyer's offers a slew of activities from ping pong and yoga to corn hole and movie night. Ruschmeyer's offers complimentary bicycles, wifi, and breakfast - all included in the room rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and Expedia so you can book your Ruschmeyer's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruschmeyer`s Hotel Montauk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing