We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“"Great Reception"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Montauk Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Montauk Manor
Harrison, New York
1 review
“"Great Reception"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

We recently stayed at the Manor and the reception we received couldn't have been better. Michelle was most helpful in taking our reservation over the phone. When we arrived Janice (the manager), Kathy and Donna were all friendly and made you feel welcome. When we saw Janice the next morning upon checking out she made sure to ask us how our stay was. Thanks to you all! Steve & Debbie H.

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    136
    53
    38
    32
See reviews for
130
197
9
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

There is nothing worse than arriving at your hotel after a long and tiring journey, and being greeted by reception staff who obviously regard guests as an imposition.

Throughout our stay at this lumbering white elephant, inconveniently situated on a hill overlooking the town of Montauk, our family were made to feel as though we were a nuisance. Even the smallest request met with gruffness by reception staff who preferred to chat among themselves or lurk in a small room hidden from the view of guests. On one occasion, we were given erroneous advice on travelling to a nearby town. In the end, we relied on the town's tiny but very friendly tourist centre for virtually all our needs during a weekend stay.

Not all the staff at Montauk during our stay were guest-phobic. The life-guard in the hotel's small swimming pool was a pleasure to deal with, and the drivers who ferred guests to and from the station were unfailingly polite.

But reception is the mouthpiece of a hotel. It is both the first and last impression a guest will leave with. At Montauk Manor, a serious overhaul of reception culture is needed. We will not be returning to this hotel, nor recommending it to friends.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lagarde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sayville, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Ten years ago my children gave my wife and I a gift weekend for Christmas and we have been back every year since. The history is amazing,the grounds and views beautiful, and on a cold winter day to sit in the lobby,listen to the player piano and read a good book is another world.A MUST take a walk through the path and visit the Indian cemetery. Perfect all year round, but winter is my favorite!!

Room Tip: Any room is a good room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

My family and I stayed here this past week (2/20-2/23). We were in a 1 bedroom duplex. There was a special going on for this week , pay for 2 nights and get 1 free. All I can say is WOW.... Great service, great accommodations. Room was great - mattress a bit stiff- but overall awesome. Alot of families staying there this week and my daughter was able to make friends. We went to town to eat not too many choices but we made do. Gurneys is always open for food pricey but delicious. Overall, if u want a luxury feel without the huge price, stay here. Plus the place is historical.
-Chris

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

This was our Christmas gift to each other. This was our second stay at this outstanding haven. We were greeted at the front desk by Chelsea who was kind and understood exactly what type of room we were looking for and furnished us with such a room. This is the most perfect place to stay during the winter ( you never have to leave the hotel) for example; the hotel has a great gym and a pool to die for. If you are not a swimmer you can just relax in the whirlpool. The Lifeguard who is employed by the hotel (Jeff) was very full of information. He actually told us that we would never have to take our car in town for they have a free shuttle who takes you to and from town. This is extremely important if you would like to go into town and enjoy a few cocktails. We would like to thank Janice the general manager for supplying us with the same room that we had last year it meant so much to us. Looking forward to our Christmas gift 2012
w

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton Junction, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

Went here for my birthday, my girlfriend had surprised me with getting us a room for the night. She knew I really wanted to go here because I had a friend who had passed away and he was a huge fan of the movie, the poem, and the song with "meet me in Montauk" quote in it. The room was more amazing than I imagined it was going to be. It was so clean and smelled nice, everything was in order, the service was great and so were the people. The only thing that was a little strange was when we decided to walk around the manor, we went into the strange mirrored elevator and walked around on the top creepy floor where it kind of reminded me of the shining, but that also could have been because it was 2 days before Christmas and no one was really there. I imagine if you go during the warmer months it is much more prettier outside on the person balcony we had, and would probably have been much more romantic with a fire out there too. The town was also great, there was plenty of stores and we stopped at the Irish pub they had there and the food was really good there.

Room Tip: Bottom floor rooms are much better, and you also get your own person balcony's unlike other floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest Hills, New York
Level Contributor
598 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 424 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

This hotel could rate 5 star, with minor changes in front desk customer service.
We stayed at this hotel with a group of naturalists for seal observation, hiking and birding. The location is high on a hill with beautiful water views and is close to town and the Long Island Rail Road with friendly, complimentary shuttle service.

The lobby is GRAND with inviting amenities: large gas fire places, cozy couches, a small library, player piano, Wi-Fi with a guest computer with printer all make for a welcoming space.

The heated pool/hot tub, with a lifeguard is clean and has men’s and ladies locker rooms with showers . Children must be supervised by an adult and 16 years of age or older to use the hot tub. These rules are enforced. An outdoor pool and tanning area is open in the warmer months.
T
he hotel rooms are coops (or condos), individually owned. And each unique in design and décor. They are fully equipped apartments with dining area, kitchen, living area, bedroom and many have two bathrooms. Some will have a locked closet with the owners belongings. We stayed in and visited many apartments some are nicer than others. Some are duplex, many have balconies or patios. Choose wisely.

The Maid service is outstanding!!! Truly 5 star. The rooms are immaculate. I love evening turndown service and this was done with a little monogramed chocolate placed on my pillow each night!!!

Tre Bella, the onsite restaurant , serves a delicious, fresh breakfast; really enjoyed the french toast and fresh fruit. Lunch and dinner are also served; we enjoyed the penne al la vodka and the Caesar salad. Service in the restaurant was very friendly, but a bit slow when busy.

I should note that we have stayed at this hotel several times before and experienced variations in front desk customer service. This visits check in was better than usual, Andrea checked us in and was courteous. So perhaps the prior postings mentioning the positive customer service are valid and that previous service issues have been addressed.

Be aware: upon check out you will be billed for the remote controllers and keys that are handed to you in a plastic bag upon check in. We gave all our keys and remotes to the front desk upon checking out and asked for a bill reflecting a $0 balance and was told “no we don’t usually do that.” Really! You gave me a check out bill for $110 on my credit card, I am giving you back all the items on deposit, I am legally entitled to a bill reflecting this. I never leave a hotel until my bill is correct. Well, I did check out with a $0 balance bill but tA his left a negative emotion for an otherwise pleasant weekend.
.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view, request tot see the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gershwin12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montauk
5.1 km away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
2.6 km away
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
#6 of 39 in Montauk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
1.8 km away
Royal Atlantic Beach Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 km away
Sea Crest on the Ocean
Sea Crest on the Ocean
#2 of 6 in Amagansett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
1.8 km away
Montauk Blue Hotel
Montauk Blue Hotel
#9 of 39 in Montauk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
1.7 km away
Daunt's Albatross Motel
Daunt's Albatross Motel
#4 of 39 in Montauk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montauk Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montauk Manor

Property: Montauk Manor
Address: 236 Edgemere St, Montauk, NY 11954-5249
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Montauk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Montauk Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Montauk Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montauk Manor Hotel Montauk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing