We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great if on a budget”
Review of Montauk Motel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montauk
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Montauk Motel
Ranked #26 of 38 Hotels in Montauk
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
170 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great if on a budget”
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We stayed at the Montauk Motel this past labor day weekend and had a great time.

Pros: Awesome location- just one short block to town and two blocks to the beach. Friendly staff and great price (best price in town). Fridge in the room for drinks etc. Outside area was nice and pool was nice although we used the beach instead.

Cons: Room was smelly, bed was small and not very comfortable and towels were tiny and crunchy. I was grossed out by the room but my boyfriend couldn't have cared less.

I rated it a 3 because I would book it again since it was a great value for the Hamptons and the location was outstanding. If you don't plan on staying in your room and you are not picky then this is a good place to stay. If you need spcious, nice accomodaions then book elsewhere. For just the weekend the place was fine and it was only an $8 cab ride to most of the bars we wanted to go to (Ruschmeyers, Crows Nest and Surf Lodge. I'll be back next summer.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caztravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    5
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
8
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Olivebridge, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

comfortable, clean and convenient- we are a family of 3 and had a great stay. Everyone there was nice and helpful and the place had everything we needed. Not the loud party places on the beach, but a relaxed environment a couple of blocks from the beach and around the corner from town. FANTASTIC, thanks!

Room Tip: Just tell Claire what your needs are, and book several months in advance for the busy season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2011

I am an artist and live in the city. I have become very fond of the Motauk Motel having stayed there 7 stays in the last couple of years. When I visit there i get the Peace and Quiet I am looking for . The staff is warm and feels like family. What a releif to sleep in such a fresh smelling very clean home like getaway. Where I can even enjoy cooking in the mini kitchen.the beach is a shart walk awat and when their is no wind you can even hear the sounds of the ocean!

Room Tip: ask for kitchen and bathtub
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happyartist_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2011

The Montauk Motel has been home away from home for a couple of years now.My partner and myself enjoy Montauk year round with all of its outdoor activities etc.I love the fact that I can go shopping for groceries and go back to the room and cook a feast.(rooms fully equipped with cooking/eating utensils)After a long hike or surf,i know I can rest in a quiet peaceful place.The staff there couldn't be nicer,always available.The room we stayed in last week was just renovated so everything was clean and spiffy.When we visit montauk or anywhere we like to meet and hang with the locals to get a feel for the location and its culture and that is what we feel when we stay there.I will stay there until I can live in Montauk someday.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leesurfitmontauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 2 March 2011

The staff was friendly and welcoming at this family owned motel. We stayed in a cottage for one night. It was warm, roomy and comfortable. Actually, we were surprised by how nice the cottage was. There was a flat screen tv mounted in the living room. The water pressure was excellent in the shower. The cottage had a lovely deck that I imagine would be very nice in the summer.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McSpeedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queens, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2010

There are pros and cons to this Motel. The pros: location to the beach, the town, to Montauk Point and the lighthouse are all excellent. We even walke down to the IGA in no time. Another pro is the size of the room - it was quite large and featured a full kitchen, stocked with dishes/glasses/pots and pans. We stayed just one night in March 2010 and were only in town to see the lighthouse & town sights. We were barely in the room, just to sleep, shower, and rest between sight-seeing and dinner. For the price and our purposes, the value was good.

The cons: the room and it's furnishings have clearly not been updated since the 1980s and it shows. The wall paper was peeling, the blinds were quite dirty, and the shower door took quite a bit of prying to get open. Then, when the shower was turned on, (door closed again) the water leaked out onto the bathroom floor at a heavy rate. We
did the right thing and mopped it all up, but it was a major mess. We also found ants in the kitchen.

Overall, the motel provided what we needed for a decent price, but one night was enough. We were glad that the room offered DirectTV, but wish we'd thought to pack shampoo, as the room only came with bar soap. This was our first trip to Montauk and it being the off season, a lot of lodging was closed. Next time, we will look elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Soychicken24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
centerport
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2009

I had the unfortunate experience of staying in this flea bag motel over Columbus Day Weekend...note to self..."book hotel more in advance on holiday weekend".....this was the only place I could find a room. First impression, wow does this place stink !!! Second impression, this room is nasty. I can tolerate a a seedy motel room, considering I am just there for fishing, what I CAN'T tolerate, is a rude disrespectful staff. The daughter of the owner was rude, and her mother was ten times worse. This place is disgusting and guests are treated like garbage...Anybody would be better off sleeping in an alley.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
5 Thank googinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Montauk hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montauk hotels
0.5 km away
A Wave Inn
A Wave Inn
#32 of 38 in Montauk
3.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
4.2 km away
Montauk Soundview Resort Hotel
1.5 km away
The Breakers Motel
The Breakers Motel
#24 of 38 in Montauk
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
#5 of 38 in Montauk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.3 km away
Stone Lion Inn
Stone Lion Inn
#5 of 7 in Montauk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.6 km away
Atlantic Terrace Motel
Atlantic Terrace Motel
#17 of 38 in Montauk
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montauk Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montauk Motel

Property: Montauk Motel
Address: South Edison Street, Montauk, NY 11954
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 38 Hotels in Montauk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Montauk Motel is located at the east end of town and is 3 blocks from the main beach. You can walk to beach-most stores and restaurants and the motel is surrounded by trees grass and a beautiful Gazebo.We supply bar-b-cues on the grounds and tables and seating areas.There is no other traffic --only the guests themselves as the street is a private one and owned by the motel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Montauk Hotel Montauk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing