We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (209)
Filter reviews
209 results
Traveller rating
67
57
39
26
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
67
57
39
26
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews indoor pool panorama building food truck hither hills state park lounge chairs umbrellas the lower parking lot stove microwave resort staff corner room this past september fall weekend sliding glass door coffee maker rainy day deck overlooking the ocean queen size bed
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 209 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2018 via mobile

The Wavecrest Resort is condo owned and as such the look and condition of the units vary widely. Thanks to a Trip Advisor reviewer we booked Unit 122 in the Beach Dune building which is directly on the sand beachfront. The queen size bed is very comfortable although one side is against the wall and one has to climb over to sleep (maybe the condo owner could move the bed and insert a tiny night table and a side view walk access? Very difficult as is for much older couples). The sofa is very comfortable and as a bed my daughter said is likewise comfortable. The bathroom is very roomy and the layout and design of the room including the furniture are great. The kitchenette, refrigerator and utensils come in handy. Chef Steve’s Food Truck provides the delicious menu selections. Staff are friendly and accommodating. Bring your personal toiletries (they only provide soap), coffee (there’s a small coffee percolator and filters), paper towels to clean the kitchen tops (wish this was provided, glad I brought one), and beach towels (only chairs and umbrellas are provided except if you take these from the pool and that’s a slight detour to the beautiful beach). This is our 34th year in Montauk where the last 33 years were in room 207 of Gurneys during the July 4 week (Timeshare owners). This year and going forward we’ll reserve Unit 122 (I heard Unit 129 on the 2nd floor is also a gem and will look into this as well bc the first 3 nights the people above us were walking heavily almost all night long). But since we are just a couple, a bed and sofa combination works better than 2 Qn beds which I was told was the set up on the 2nd floor of the all-Studio units in the Beach Dune bldg (and room 121 on the 1st floor). If you are a family the Water’s Edge building (1-2 BR) will be the choice as the next closest to the beach.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Laura46v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 28, 2018 via mobile

Got a last minute weekend reservation for one night, paid $458.00 including taxes through booking.com This is an average rate for a room in Montauk in the summer. Very nice renovated oceanfront room on the second floor.

The a/c unit in this room was awesome and we never heard the guests next door to us unless we were all outside on our balconies. The beach staff were great. Promptly set up umbrellas and loungers for us wherever we wanted, which is included in your room rate.

There is no restaurant at this hotel but they do have the Wave Crave food truck which is open from 8-4:00pm. Delicious breakfasts, lunches, snacks and very good coffee!

This hotel is approximately 3.5 miles from the center of town in Montauk. There is a hopper bus that will pick you up in front of hotel and bring you into town. This runs every half hour until 10:00pm. We ended up taking Uber back to the hotel from the center of town, which cost us $18.00 after midnight.

They only thing that sucks about this hotel is the parking. It is extremely limited and a tight squeeze in some areas, along with some vehicles having to park on steep inclines. If u find a good parking spot, don't move your car! Take the hopper bus!

Looking forward to another stay at the Wavecrest!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank pageporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 25, 2018 via mobile

Booked the Wavecrest on a Thursday for a Friday check in.

We stayed in the Beach Dune building. 2nd floor which is oceanfront and adults only.

Nicely appointed room which looked newly renovated.
Large balcony with 2 loungers, 2 chairs and a little table overlooking the ocean.

Room had 2 beds, table with 2 chairs. Dresser, nightstand. Kitchenette, small refrigerator, sink and a 2 burner stove. Bathroom with a shower and toilet. Sink and large vanity outside of the bathroom. Large closet. Flat screen tv.

Beach is literally right there. Umbrellas and loungers are included. Indoor pool and loungers nearby. Outdoor large metal tables and chairs with umbrellas available as well.

Wave Crave food truck is on the premises. Please read my review on that for more info.

The Hopper bus picks up in front of the Wavecrest on Old Montauk Hwy at 02 and 32 minutes after the hour to bring you into town. They will take you to a lot of destinations in Montauk. Runs until approx 10pm depending on where you pick it up from. Very convenient!

I would definitely visit this property again!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
2  Thank portlucayaprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 22, 2018 via mobile

Beautiful historic building with water views. On site restaurant, out door and indoor pools, tennis and fitness center. Large suites with kitchens. Helpful attentive staff. Great vacation for singles or families. We loved it!!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank elkasue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 15, 2018

We really love this place. We stayed again in Room 122 which we love love love!!! This room is right on the beach. I have reviewed this room before and it is definitely one of the nicer units at Wavecrest. The kitchen is tastefully done and the bathroom shower is much larger than the tiny shower we had in Room 121. The view is spectacular especially in the morning at sunrise. It takes one's breath away.

The food truck by the beach is now open all of the time. We always bring our own food, but next time we will definitely purchase our food from the truck!

This is not a fancy schmancy hotel like Gurneys which is next door, but the ocean view is the same. It is comfortable and the rooms we stayed in (121 and 122) were sparkling clean.

We cannot wait to go back!

Room Tip: Ask for renovated rooms. These units are individually owned, so the decor is different per unit. Some are done better than others.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank JoanieBeachMusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews