We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveller rating
30
55
19
15
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
30
55
19
15
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews full kitchen long term stay laundry room washers and dryers kitchen items weekly basis type of place toaster oven plenty of free parking minor point clean towels short stay house keeping would stay here again choose this hotel room was large rockland county
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 129 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2018

Check In: 5
- Sometimes there is no one at the desk, so you just call on the phone and someone will be there soon.

Beds: 5
- Sheets and linens were very nice

Outlets: 5

TV/Cable: 5

Size of Room: 5

Room Darkness: 5

Noise: 4

A/C: 5

Bathroom toiletries: 5

Shower water pressure: 4

WiFi: 5

Cleanliness: 5

In-room safe: none

Parking: 5
- lots of parking

Location: 5
- Next to Costco and freeways; it is a 30 minute walk from the train station or about $10 via Uber.

Other amenities /notes:
- No housekeeping until the 7th day, so if you need new towels just trade yours in at the front desk at any time.
- Very heavy cleaning product smell, if you are sensitive to these then you will have issues. I'd rather smell this than lingering smoke!
- 2 sets of cutlery and dishes; salt and pepper included. No oil or butter. Toaster, one pan and one pot to use. Other things like a waffle maker, crockpot and griddle can be borrowed from the front desk.
- Fridge and microwave and dishwasher completes the kitchen unit - there is no oven.
- Nice fitness room and there is a laundry room for guest use.
- Finally, this is a great hotel if you have a car. If you are walking or relying on public transportation, you might look elsewhere. We walked from the train station to the hotel; we walked from the mall to the hotel. Pedestrians are an afterthought and we felt like our lives were in danger as we crossed the streets with non-existent signals, no sidewalks and aggressive drivers. Pedestrian safety in Nanuet is a joke and we were happy to leave after our short weekend.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelcommons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 4, 2018 via mobile

We stayed one night at the Candlewood in nanuet and loved the surrounding area. It's close to everything!! Just dont be afraid to venture out. The hotel was clean and some of the staff were nice. The only real issue and reason for the 3 stars is because of the bed and the extremely loud ac unit. The bed was horribly old and not comfortable. My back killed me the next day. The ac unit was so loud we couldn't tell if we could hear the road or neighbors. I guess we will take that as a positive :). Overall it was a good experience. If the management can fix those two areas it would be 5 stars.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Manda886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 28, 2018 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for almost 3 weeks and were happy with our choice. The room was very comfortable and with a fully equipped kitchen including a big fridge, which is great for self catering. You also get free use of the laundry facilities.Staff is very friendly and helpful. Cleaning services including change of linen and towels is done on a weekly basis but you can ask for clean towels at any time. This is ok and is the norm for long term stay hotels or rentals. The only downside are the trains running nearby and sounding there ‘horns’ from 5:00 to 23:00 or even later. So if you are not very sound sleeper ask for a room facing the front of the hotel. We would certainly stay there again.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Chava60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 23, 2018 via mobile

We're here for only 1 night but what a pleasant surprise. We've never stayed in a Candlewood Suites property but I'm glad we did. Our suite had a full size fridge, dishwasher, a 2 burner cooktop. They have kitchen items you can borrow like a crock pot or a toaster oven. There's also a little store for some groceries. Everything is clean &neat. I won't hesitate to stay at another Candlewood property.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank kmushy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 1, 2018 via mobile

We only stayed here for one night while passing through.

Pleasant quick check in and first impressions of the room were good.

Big size with a kitchen area and plenty of utensils (although we didn't use any while we were there)

Fast free WiFi and a comfortable bed (although very high for some reason!)

Plenty of free parking and plenty of shops/restaurants around the area (I recommend smashburger!)

Only minor point was the train! Every time it went past (right outside the hotel) it sounds a horn a few times and this wasn't pleasant while trying to get to sleep at night, or at 5am! If staying here make sure you ask for a room on the side not next to the train tracks.

If we were staying in the area again we would definitely choose this hotel again.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank flashsam7267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews