We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A slice of heaven in the Catskills”
Review of New Age Health Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Neversink
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
New Age Health Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Neversink
Reviewed 2 January 2011

My 16 year daughter and I stayed at New Age for three nights during the winter recess. We had just the perfect mother-daughter experience that I had hoped for. We did the dance classes, Bollywood, Zumba, and Broadway Dance, did yoga, Pilates, and meditated at dusk. We were also able to snow shoe one morning along a three mile trail into the woods.

Each day, we had wonderful salads, homemade soups, healthy main courses, and surprisingly fabulous desserts! The room was charming and comfortable. This is my fourth visit, and I never tire of this magical retreat.

Spa services are top notch. Don't expect luxury and you won't be disappointed. If you want good food, down to earth people, and a clean, simple room, you can't ask for better value.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Moosherella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2010

My friend and I booked a two-day stay at the spa (alas, far too short) to celebrate our 40 years of friendship! To be honest, we chose it because it was the most reasonable, and were very pleasantly surprised. From the moment of driving onto the property we felt a sense of calm and relaxation.
Staff was professional and friendly; other guests friendly and down-to-earth. Most had visited the spa many times. Cuisine was EXCELLENT, and we enjoyed an informative talk by the staff nutritionist. Fruit and tea are available in the dining hall at all times.
The whole atmosphere is very relaxed; we often did separate activities, e.g. one of us reading in the comfy living rooms off the dining room, with a nice fire on a raw, rainy night, while the other went off to a writing workshop and then a movie.
Our room was rustic and comfortable, with whirlpool jets in the tub. The walls are thin; the first night we had no neighbors, the second night the people were quiet (after all, it's not a place to go & party!), so it was no problem. Rocking chairs on the porch outside our door overlooked beautiful scenery.
Areas such as the pool/jacuzzi, yoga/meditation room have been thoughtfully designed with huge windows looking out over the stunning property. Instructors Lyn and Debbie (yoga, pool exercise, Nia) were excellent.
The spa treatment rooms were nice and warm and smelled wonderful; we thoroughly enjoyed the treatments we chose out of a long list.
The spa's 240 acres are beautiful beyond belief (and I live in the country myself!), including meadows, sweat lodge, climbing tower, labyrinth, and miles of trails in the gorgeous woods. John gave us a wonderful 90-minute trail walk (showing some of our group how to go back if they needed to shorten their walk) and was very knowledgable. Walks are only cancelled for inclement weather.
Our only complaint is that the spa is about a 4 1/2-hour drive from where we live, west of Boston! However, that will not stop us from returning: we'd anticipated this to be a one-time trip, but instead have vowed to return annually, or even twice a year if we possibly can arrange it.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stowtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

My 21 year old daughter and I went to New Age for the second time in the past few years. You always know what to expect as soon as you drive in and see the "Leave your nicotine and alcohol behind" sign when you drive in to the grounds.
If you are looking for a 5 star luxury hotel, go elsewhere. If you are looking to de-stress, get back to basics of who you are and feel great, than this is the place for you.
Upon check in you get a schedule of fitness, yoga classes and lectures, etc.
Interpersed with your spa treatments, you can really fill your day, or you can do nothing just grab hammock with your book. But you won't. There are nature walks, aerobic walks, dance classes, water exercise classes and fabulous yoga and all sorts of exercise classes. Also, if you can't find a class there is a gym too. Debbie the head of fitness is as amazing as her energy. The spa treatments are amazing. NOTE: You can book spa treatments well in advance of you staying or daily outside the office in the spa reception area is a list of available times and services for that day. You will definitely find something for you that fits the bill. After dinner they have a nightly movie at 9:00.

Now let's talk the food. It is vegetarian fare, yes they do have chicken salad, and fish for dinner selections. You can ask for double portions if there isn't enough for you. We are vegetarians so for us it was DREAM FOOD. We heard the others talk about how good it was too and they had tilapia, etc. The servers will have the ingredients of what is in the food, so feel free to ask them. You can also purchase the cookbooks in the gift shop. You can also opt to do a juice fast. Guests can really come and know that they will get good healthy food, straight from their greenhouse. Salad bar options are always an A+ as is the breakfasts. NOTE: There is only coffee served at breakfast and green tea. So if you are one of those who need coffee as soon as you wake up, you will be very disappointed. There are no artifical sweeteners here either. It really is a back to basics type stay of eating clean and pure here. You will love it. We certainly did as did the wonderful people we met who checked in for the week as well.. But if you don't than you really weren't checking in knowing what you were getting.
Everyone there is so friendly and it trickles down to the guests as well. There are quiet times throughout since during the day everybody is doing classes, etc. They have a sign up in the guest room entrances that quiet zone is frrom 9PM to 7am. There is really no phone service as well either. But, you're not there for those reasons. You are there to get back to being human and out of the rat race for a little bit of time, and yes....loose weight while you are there too.
You can try classes that you would have never expected to try while back home and nobody looks at you as if you don't belong there, that is from the Yoga Classes to Escrima Stick Fighting, to a workout with a guest trainer. Everybody is made to feel welcome. You will love it and come home very rested and feeling great!

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShazzG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2010

I had the opportunity for a little mid-week getaway from Manhattan and this was a pleasant escape. The staff was very friendly (lifeguard, instructors, kitchen staff) and helpful. Good yoga instruction (BEAUTIFUL, serene yoga studio), peaceful reading on the hammock, yummy healthy food (the coffee could be better-ekk!, stick to the tea.) The grounds were very well cared for, older but nice outdoor pool, clean, comfortable room (bed & pillows so/so). Supposedly it was uncharacteristically empty during my stay, but that was ok by me. If you want a low-key, rustic, "new-age-y" type stay, this is perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CiaoNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2010

This was the second time we came over the XMas/New Years time for some quiet time and relaxation. For my wife mostly enjoying the Yoga and Spa. For me mostly the exercise classes, especially the water classes and relaxing at the pool reading up on some stuff I didn't get around to all year.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. The food is healthy and very good. The spa services are excellent and the overall atmosphere is very cosy and quiet - no phone or TV in the room and cellphone reception spotty at best - really great to get away from a hectic life.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlpineOrchid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2009

I celebrated my 45th birthday with 3 friends here. Two of us were returning after a 7 year absence. We took advantage of their "Bring a friend for free" special which really only saved about $100 but we still had a terrific time. The double rooms were clean and serviceable, not luxurious, that was ok, we spent more time out of the room anyway. We had the Mahican cottage which had a porch with rocking chairs overlooking a view of the mountains, elements of my future dream house.

The massage and reflexology by Alex was incredible. The food was healthy, filling and delicious. I didn't miss snacking during meals at all and almost didn't miss having a cocktail before dinner. (There is no alcohol served) They have relented and now serve caffeinated coffee. The classes offered a wide variety of activity. Try to do your more active stuff in the morning and your massage/facial/treatments after lunch.

The grounds are gorgeous in the fall, and other guests told us about being there in the snow as well when you can cross country or snowshoe! There is an outdoor pool for summer, tennis and other outdoor activities. The whole weekend was really great and I would recommend getting your friends together, leave the kids and the spouses and get away.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MDDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2009

The food was great. We had great weather which always helps. The
staff was friendly, we liked the other guests, the instructors were terrific as was the equipment and studios. They had a great variety of classes and something going on every hour practically. The rooms are modest but clean and looked freshly painted. It cost a fraction of some well-known spas near Lenox. I would definitely go again.

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YogaFriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to New Age Health Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Age Health Spa

Address: Route 55, Neversink, NY 12765
Region: United States > New York > Neversink
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Neversink
Price Range: $254 - $542 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Age Health Spa is your destination spa in New York State. Located on 280 pristine acres in the Sullivan County Catskills, this all-inclusive resort offers health-enhancing programs and spa treatments for both women and men in a casual environment. New Age Health Spa is conveniently located just a 2 hour drive from New York city. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
New Age Health Hotel Neversink
New Age Health Neversink

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing