We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mountain Retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mohonk Mountain House
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in New Paltz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2012

From the rocking chairs on the porches to the walking and hiking trails that become cross country and snowshoe trail in winter to the fireplaces in each Victorian room, you are transported into a gentler time closer to nature and to peace. And, the first rate spa and indoor pool marry the best of contemporary relaxation with the gently rustic. February sees one of the regular kids' week when kids are free. Yet the spaciousness of not only the outdoors and the covered ice rink but also the Mountain House itself means that even older visitors can find peace and quiet everywhere. It is our regular go-to place whenever we can put together a few days.

Room Tip: Ask for lake views and a room with a working fireplace for extra quietness and coziness. Comin soon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrooklynAuntie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,056)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,470 - 1,476 of 2,056 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2012

Really enjoyed our one night midweek in March. Great weather made the hiking fantastic. The resort was quiet which made our stay relaxing and tranquil. My daughter enjoyed the rock scrambles which are quiet challenging. Nature guides were fantastic. Took a outdoor bootcamp class which was amazing. Not alot of recreation available in late winter (no skating or skiing because of the warm temps and no golf, boating or horseback riding because it was too early) But the hiking and the indoor pool was enought to keep us busy. We spend alot of time on the rocking chairs overlooking the lake -- so peaceful
Would definitely go again

Room Tip: Family rooms are great with kids -- nice to have a balony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skatermom59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This Quaker ecological estate is just stunning! Wonderful for romantic getaways, or family gatherings. The place is so vast, you can have as much privacy as you wish. We live in Ny and go there for Nature first, for the hikes, the wonderful vistas, the lake in which we swim in the summer, the picnics ouside, the crosscountry skiing in the winter, etc, etc. Beware, the hotel is not a Ritz type hotel, but it has a very comfortable, Victorian, old charm feel to it (no TVs in the bedrooms, thank God!). It is not inexpensive (rates do not include the 25% fee for taxes and service) but it is very special at any time of the year!

Room Tip: Get a room with a fireplace and a balcony, and have your meals on the balcony or in front of the fir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yjg805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This has to be the most breath taking views of the Hudson Valley- something mystical about this place- it is in a catagory of its own. There are beautiful gardens and great hiking trails.
Everyone of all ages can enjoy themselves here.
The staff is very caring and you can visit here any season- in the summer you can hike, ride bikes,& canoe.
In the fall you can see beautiful foliage, the winter months offer fireplaces and a great spa- The food is wonderful and plentiful.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gremco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

If you go there (and you MUST GO THERE) please walk into the facility don't drive. A hike up to the lodge is pleasant (deal with luggage later) and rewards you with an amazing view of this fabulous Victorian lodge. My Mother used to say it was like finding the mouse that roared kingdom, or something. The variety of gazebos made of branches and twigs is unparalleled. The lodge is beautiful winter, spring, summer and fall. Food is great and if you go fishing the chef will prepare your catch. Rooms are comfortable and the atmosphere us great!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frequenttravails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

I have been at Mohonk for an annual business conference for many years when my employer has paid and just LOVE it. My husband and I went recently to celebrate a special anniversary so the bill was ours to pay. When you're paying your own bill you notice things you don't when someone else is footing the bill -- like small room, worn carpets, missing amenities (i.e. below standard bathrooms, small space, room that was in "adults only" hall had no view and little to no balcony). The prices were those that we would pay at very high end (4 star) resorts, but this is not at that standard.

The food was excellent and plentiful, and the setting is just gorgeous. Availability to hiking and other outdoor activities is great, and the service cannot be beat. We also found the gym spacious and empty. Every employee was friendly and helpful at every turn. Now all they need to do is make the rooms and their amenties seem worth the very steep price and I will understand why they are so high. Go ahead and shell out the dough and you'll have a good time; just don't look too closely.

Room Tip: Ask for a fireplace, and specify a view if you are willing to pay for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravelFan15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

There's much about Mohonk that is wonderful - its location, its views, its proximity to New York City, its grounds - but much that needs improvement. We had a wonderful couple night stay this winter, but relative to price, felt the hotel fell short.

The pros: great gym and fitness classes, beautiful grounds for walking/hiking, better than average food, mostly good management of the dining rooms (especially considering the large number of guests), a wonderful sense of history throughout the property.

The major downsides mostly all relate to the physical condition of the property. Our room, in the older section of the hotel, had a nice lake view but really, really needed a renovation. Same for the hallways (old paint, old carpeting, dim lighting) and slow elevators. Also, the entrance to the hotel itself is shabby and needs an upgrade.

Service was mostly good (couple exceptions being the lack of bellhop availability and a dirty wineglass in our room upon arrival, after which they tried to charge a fee to replace it.) But at the price we paid, the facilities should have been top notch - or at least somewhat contemporary. That said, we enjoyed our stay, relaxed in front of our fireplace, took advantage of the gym and a yoga class, walked the grounds, and ice skated several times -- all wonderful ways to spend a relaxing holiday. I'd probably wait for a property overhaul before returning.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Andalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Paltz
8.0 km away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#1 of 5 in New Paltz
183 reviews
5.5 km away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
332 reviews
23.0 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.8 km away
Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls
8.0 km away
Americas Best Value Inn - New Paltz
20.1 km away
Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mohonk Mountain House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mohonk Mountain House

Address: 1000 Mountain Rest Rd., New Paltz, NY 12561-2814
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New Paltz
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in New Paltz
Price Range: $475 - $764 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mohonk Mountain House 3*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel, built in the 1860's and filled with charm...ideal for families in summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca so you can book your Mohonk Mountain House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mohonk House
Mohonk Mountain Hotel
Mohonk New Paltz
Mohawk Mountain House
Mohonk Mountain House New Paltz Ny
Mohonk Mountain House New Paltz New York
Mohonk Mountain New Paltz
New Paltz Mohonk Mountain House Resort
Mohonk Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing