We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crowded But Great Food”
Review of Il Cena'Colo

Il Cena'Colo
Ranked #18 of 180 Restaurants in Newburgh
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Since 1988, Il Cenacolo has brought the taste of Northern Italy to the Hudson Valley. Celebrating the simplicity of classic Tuscan cuisine, its menu offers traditional recipes, presented with sophistication and mastery. The finest ingredients are prepared so their flavor shines through. Following Italy's guiding philosophy, every part of the meal is a culinary experience. Of the many notable dishes on the menu, Polletto al limone, Filetto al pepe nero, and Risotto alla pirata are renowned throughout the region.
Sparta, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Crowded But Great Food”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

The food here is excellent. For starters I had the sardines over an arugula salad and then tasted the homemade spinach ravioli and the homemade fettuccini with a salmon sauce. Both were delicious. The tiramisu was also very well done. There was a nice selection of wines by the glass. The service was excellent. Delivery of the meals was spaced very nicely and we never felt rushed. One complaint was the special list was longer than the menu. We had to ask several times to repeat so many dishes. With such a large selection they should have had these in print for guests to look over. If they want to avoid a special menu then the number of selections should be reduced. This is a minor point but a waiter explaining specials should not need to spend 10 minutes doing that. Also, the tables can be packed very tight. On my visit my chair was almost touching one at the next table with someone sitting there as well.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AtomicReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    22
    14
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marlboro, New York
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A Gem!”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

True Italian restaurant. looks are deceiving so do not drive by this low- high building. Just walking in and down the steps, you feel like you're in Italy. The food is 5 star, as well as the staff and atmosphere.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank beaglefan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newburgh, New York
Level 6 Contributor
349 reviews
242 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Lived up to it's reputation”
Reviewed 20 March 2012 via mobile

Enjoyed a wonderful birthday dinner with my family the other night. We've lived in Newburgh for over 20 years and always had heard how good the food was so decided to try it for a special occasion. The atmosphere is cozy and after enjoying a drink at the bar were seated. Take a quick glance at the menu, but don't make any decisions until you hear the specials. Be sure to pay attention because the list goes on...and on...and on. Hard to choose, but based on our table's mix of specials and menu items, it's tough to go wrong. Everything was well prepared, fresh and flavorful. My osso buco (a special) melted in my mouth. Dessert was also good and they comped mine for my birthday. Very nice. Il Cena'colo is great for special occasions and the bill will reflect it, but was worth the splurge. Much better menu and food than Cena 2000 on the Newburgh waterfront which is also expensive but not nearly as good. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank atima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Sorry to say...”
Reviewed 17 February 2012

I've gone to Il Cena'colo for 10 years, and I'm reluctant to say that last night was probably the last time.

This is a pricy, FINE DINING establishment. An average dinner for 2 with a 'cheap' bottle of wine ($42) came to $183 including the tip. So, that said, I don't mind paying if the food is worth it, and this review speaks only to the food (not service, atmosphere, etc.). From the outset it was looking bleak: the bread was over re-heated and dry, the asparagus with browned butter and shaved parmesan had grated parm and a butter/oil mixture, the sardine app was huge, lacking clear flavors, and then drowned in the room temp balsamic sauteed onions. Entrees of stuffed veal w mushrooms, and scallops in a tomato sauce were fine, nothing special. My feeling is that the issues stem from the cooking alone. I suspect the ingredients themselves are quite high quality, but cooked they were unremarkable.

Prior to this last visit I had one similar experience but refused to accept that it was the new standard. Last night's visit, unfortunately, confirmed a heartily average meal for a very expensive price. Too bad.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pickling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ny
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Won't be your last supper.”
Reviewed 20 January 2012

While menu's exist, the waiters rattle off and explain a vast number of interesting specials. Sali, the owner,makes sure everything runs smoothly, and the quality of food and service has maintained over the years. Quite a wine list, as well. Rustic northern Italian setting. Worth the price.

Helpful?
Thank pangloss356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Cena'Colo also viewed

 

Been to Il Cena'Colo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing