We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The good, and the bad...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Niagara Falls
Ranked #14 of 52 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Reviewed 19 October 2011

The good:

The hotel is overall clean and seems to be well maintained both inside and out. Rooms appear updated and include modern amentities such as a flat screen television and free high speed internet access. We stayed in the 2 Queen Bedroom Executive Suite and it was spacious and included at no extra charge, a microwave, mini refrigerator, and a small sink which was very convenient. Most area attractions (US Falls and the Niagara Falls State Park, Seneca Niagara Casino, Rainbow Bridge to Canada, etc.) are all within a 10 minute drive from the hotel and there are also many dining options and other conveniences (Target, Rite Aide, etc.) within a short distance as well. Numerous restaurants in the area offer deliver service to the hotel, so that is a nice option if you prefer to dine-in after a long day of visiting the area attractions. Breakfast is included in the price of the room and there were plenty of options to choose from each day. The hotel staff seemed friendly and were helpful in providing directions, menus, etc. We were traveling with a small dog and there was plenty of green space around the hotel for walking and potty breaks. The hotel had 3 entrances so it was rather easy to enter and exit when needed using your room passcard. Overall, the hotel is nice and I would recommend it to others. Just be alert.

The bad:

We had our first and hopefully last experience with bed bugs! We arrived at the hotel on Friday, October 14 (assigned to room 313), and around 1am Saturday morning, October 15, I happened to be awake and noticed a bug crawling across the white bed sheets. I was able to grab a tissue and kill the bug and it was clearly full of blood. I started to examine the bed by moving the sheets and blankets around and then noticed sevevel other smaller bugs crawling around in the bed. By now everyone in the room was awake and we all started freaking out a bit over the situation. We then examined the other bed and found a few other little bugs, and also found the same situation with the bedding on the sleep sofa. Once we realized the severity of the problem, we immediately contacted the hotel front desk to report the issue and requested that someone from management come to our room to see the bugs. As it turned out there was only 1 person on duty at the hotel, so she was unable to come to our room to assess the situation but instead offerred us another room which we promptly accepted. Before moving any of our belongings, we went to the other room (411) and thoroughly stripped down the beds and examined every last inch of the sheets, mattress pad, mattress, etc., and they all appeared to be free of any bugs or signs thereof. We then packed up all of our stuff and were finally able to settle into the new room at about 3:30am. I asked the front desk clerk to assure that a manager contact me immediately upon arrival (due in at 6 am) and at 10am Saturday morning I still had not heard from anyone. I contacted the front desk and asked to speak to the manager who happened to be the person who answered the phone. She was well aware of the situation and she said that the owner had agreed to waive the pet fee for our entire stay ($250) for the inconvenience. I was a little frustrated that I had to call her to find this out, but nonetheless they were willing to compensate us for the inconvenience. I further requested that they waive the nightly room charge since we had basically been up all night dealing with the situation, and ultimately they agreed to waive the one night room charge and part of the pet fee. Once we moved to the new room everything seemed okay and we ended up staying at the hotel for 3 nights without any further issues. Sadly, this experience has left us with a lasting negative impression of staying at a hotel, but hopefully we can move past this and enjoy our future travels. After doing some research on bed bugs they are definitely more common than I realized. There is a web site www.bedbugreports.com that lists hotel that have reported incidents. I did research this hotel and all the reviews were pretty good compared to some other hotels, so hopefully this was just an isolated experience.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TRR20874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (480)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

390 - 396 of 480 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2011

My dear wife is a member of this club and were able to get a nice clean roon for $100.00 per night. Friendly staff, free newspaper and breakfast in the morning. Right as across the street from the Niagara Falls International Airport. In talking to the various guests, some were there on business while others were on holidays just like us. My wife also stayed here one week ago when I was to be picked up at the Buffalo Airport and she liked this place as again the price was reasonable.

Room Tip: Nice rooms to stay in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank b0b55russell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Not the best HIE I've visited but still very good. It was clean, comfy and the breakfast was just ok. It's real close to the airport but we did not experience noise issues. I cannot vouch for the area however -- it did not appear to be a good part of town. However I was shocked at the entire area - what a shame - it's terribly run down with dirty neighborhoods on the American side of the falls. A good developer could really make the town fabulous having the magnificant falls right there. Everyone needs to see the falls however and as long as you do not stray out too far at night, I recommend this hotel for a good nights sleep!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MDBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Although you are not really on the beaten path (the Falls) it is still not a bad location a quick 10 minute drive to the falls. The hotel is on a main drag and right now they are doing construction on the street so a little difficult in and out. The Hotel itself is fairly new - very neat and clean - rooms are spacey with little frigs although they do not get really cold. A nice breakfast is included however not worth the $12.95 they say that you would pay in other spots. A little on the pricey side for the location but overall a good hotel if you can not stay on the Canadian side I think one of the better places on the US side. The staff is extremely friendly and accomadating.

Room Tip: A room on the higher floors would be better although there is no view to see
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fredturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Hotel was very clean and new, would definitely recommend and stay there again. Beds were sooo comfy!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meme84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

This airport hotel is a short drive to the american falls and seneca niagara casino. Located a couple streets around the corner from a mall area with tim hortons, chilis, etc. Not really walkable to either the falls or the mall for most of us.

Requested and received the rare smoking king, and was talked into a $15 smoking king suite upgrade, which was worth it given we'd have a tough morning on the road ;-/

Suite and bathroom were clean and well maintained, not the ritz, but as clean and comfy as you'd expect from a newer HolidayInnExpress.

Breakfast was pretty good, with the sausage gravy and biscuits being delicious!

Service varied: the front desk staff was wonderful, yet the pool area was wet and slippery with towels skewn about even though it was empty.

Overall, a solid choice for seeing the falls by day and the casino at night if you have a car.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happytails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

The Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Niagara Falls, NY is conveniently located about fifteen minutes from Niagara Falls and the Rainbow Bridge that takes you into Niagara Falls, Canada. It’s also very close (less than a five minute drive) to Niagara Falls International Airport.

There is nothing fancy about this hotel; just a typical Holiday Inn Express. However, the hotel’s public areas, as well as the room I stayed in were extremely clean. The Front desk staff was very friendly and accommodating, which is always nice to find upon check in, especially after an extremely long five and a half hour drive across New York State. This hotel is perfect for business travelers, tourists or families looking for an inexpensive, clean, comfortable and reliable place to spend a night or two.

Room amenities included a refrigerator, microwave, flat screen TV, and Internet access. The bedding was brand new; very firm, but comfortable mattress. My only complaint here was the pillows; unfortunately they were lumpy and rather uncomfortable.

The hotel offers a “complementary” breakfast. Nothing gourmet mind you, just the usual; scrambled eggs, sausages, toast, etc. However, what they offer is plenty fine to start your day. The juice tasted fresh and cold, the coffee was good and hot and their cinnamon rolls, (although not low calorie I’m sure) hit the spot. Nothing like a little caffeine and sugar to kick-start the morning!

The hotel has an indoor pool and fitness center. I can’t comment on these facilities, as I had no time to use them. However, from what I saw, the fitness room and pool area looked very clean and certainly adequate for a quick workout or swim. All-in-all, a very good stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TwoOnTheRun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
9.3 km away
Sheraton At The Falls
Sheraton At The Falls
#6 of 52 in Niagara Falls
2,260 reviews
4.1 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Niagara Falls
9.7 km away
Comfort Inn The Pointe
Comfort Inn The Pointe
#3 of 52 in Niagara Falls
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Best Western Summit Inn
Best Western Summit Inn
#8 of 52 in Niagara Falls
1,147 reviews
3.7 km away
Hampton Inn Niagara Falls / Blvd
Hampton Inn Niagara Falls / Blvd
#4 of 52 in Niagara Falls
572 reviews
9.5 km away
Days Inn Niagara at the Falls
Days Inn Niagara at the Falls
#10 of 52 in Niagara Falls
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Niagara Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Niagara Falls

Address: 10111 Niagara Falls Blvd, Niagara Falls, NY 14304-2780
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Niagara Falls
#7 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range: $129 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Niagara Falls 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Niagara Falls, New York Located just a few miles from Niagara Falls in Canada, guests of our Niagara Falls, NY hotel are sure to enjoy our premium amenities and close proximity to Niagara Falls International Airport (IAG) and to one of the greatest natural wonders in the world. There is no shortage of things to do in Niagara Falls, NY. Everything and everyone revolve around this breathtaking natural wonder that is just seven miles from our hotel in Niagara Falls. Here, you can ride the Maid of the Mist, visit the Aquarium of Niagara Falls, take the Journey Behind the Falls or travel the short distance to Canada and view Niagara Falls at its fullest glory. Other nearby attractions include Murphy's Orchard and Seneca Niagara Casino. Business travelers going to Niagara Falls, New York are sure to appreciate our top-of-the-line business amenities, which include an on-site conference room, computer access, free high-speed, wireless and wired Internet access along with courier, copy, mail and fax services. We encourage guests of our Niagara Falls, NY hotel to take advantage of our indoor pool and fitness center. Every morning, we serve a complimentary hot breakfast bar that features our signature cinnamon rolls. Make your reservation at our choice hotel in New York today to take advantage of our great Niagara Falls, NY hotel room deals and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Niagara Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Niagara Falls Hotel Niagara Falls
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Niagara Falls
Holiday Inn Express Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing