We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“creepy and dark.....”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Niagara Falls
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Park Place Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 13 Niagara Falls B&B and Inns
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“creepy and dark.....”
Reviewed 25 September 2011

The house is overwhelmingly dark with all the wood trim, sparse furnishings, creeky floors...and you can tell the owners dont live on the premises full time. Our room was tiny tiny and the shower was ridiculous-- the tiny shower was fitted with a shower head that was super low, even average sized folks would have difficulty managing let alone someone 6ft! If you are just looking for a bed to sleep and dont want to do anything else in your room like the ability to move about, watch tv, get ice in the evening then this is your place! I'd recommend avoiding the third floor and make sure your room is locked at nite since theres no telling if the last guests in actually locked the door....and theres no owners checking behind to be sure!
Breakfasts were good, and we liked the neighborhood just fine but for the $ theres probably a better value elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank friendofmyheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkPlaceBB, Owner at Park Place Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 October 2011
We are sorry this guest did not fully enjoy their stay at our B&B but much of what they write is either inaccurate or simply the nature and essence of the home. The house is a 1913, Registered Historic Home built in an Arts and Crafts architecture. Tiger wood woodwork and deep rich wood colors are predominate throughout the house as is characteristic of an Arts and Crafts style home. It is not dark. The floors are 98 year old, original wood floors and they creak. Most of us will creak a bit at 98. The nature of the craftsmanship and architecture is typically the very attribute that draws most guests to our B&B. If you visit our website at parkplacebb.com you can see we are not sparsely furnished.

We do live on the property full time but like most others we have an active social life outside of our work including children, sports, family, recreation, entertainment, etc. and we are often away from the property at times other than when servicing our guests.

Park Place has many rooms of various sizes and we recall this guest was looking for budget so we accommodated them in one of our smaller, full bedrooms which included a converted antique claw foot tub. We pride ourselves on offering a B&B that is a quiet retreat and we don't advertise or offer TV's in the rooms. (although we are reconsidering the TV's based on some guest feedback) The entire house is open to guest use to move about freely and use including our spacious living room, library room, dining area, and veranda. We make any guest needs available to them including the kitchen and ice.

All our guests are provided keys to their rooms and the front door of the B&B to come and go as they please. We check the safety and security of the home constantly including the monitoring of an alarm system. We provide our guests the freedom to come and go as they please and trust they will help keep the house secure.

We are sorry they did not like the architecture of our home but you cannot dislike a zebra because you don't like stripes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    6
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
23
41
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gentry, Arkansas
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Mark and Beverly were great! When we first arrived, my wife had roses a few days old. They trimmed the stems and refreshed the water. Really nice room with a balacony. Breakfast was great too.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miklogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leetonia, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We enjoyed our three day weekend at this relaxing location. This B&B is a nice breather, once we came back to the house from the buisy crowded attractions downtown. The owners were very pleasant and helpful with directions and made helpful suggestions with places to visit. With the many rooms in the home, is was very quiet, with all the rooms occupied during our visit. As for the securement of the B&B, this was excellant. We got an entry key to the front door and the room we stayed in. More secure than a hotel.
The breakfast and service was outstanding. My wife, son and I were served a large breakfast. Easily a $35-$40 meal for the three of us. Should I take my family back to the area, we would stay at this B&B.
The owners were great with our seven year old son, showing him some "hidden doors", making this a fun time for our son. Very welcoming. Highly suggested!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

I would list this accomodation as simply adequate. The location and the porch were the best part. However, the room was very small. The bathroom was extremely tiny. We travel quite a bit and have stayed in all sorts of settings. We were disappointed by this place. Our room was dusty and we had to hunt down toilet paper the next day. There was only a partial roll and we learned in the morning we had no extra. We found some in a different shared bathroom. We learned the owners live in another city and made me realize after we left that the front door was unlocked all night. You do have a lock on your room which we used. The owners seemed nice but rushed. There are plenty of places to choose from in the Niagara area. We would not stay at this one again. I would also suggest staying on the Canada side. There are many more restaurants and attractions. I wish I could give this a better rating but I can not.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MNtraveler36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkPlaceBB, Owner at Park Place Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 August 2011
We are always disappointed in ourselves when one of our guests have a less than wonderful stay at our B&B. The home is a 1913, historic building and some rooms are smaller than others. I recall this couple were on a bit of a budget and chose our smaller Mantle Room with a 3/4 bath. We do live on the property so not sure where this comment comes from although we do have many other interests and activities that keep us busy throughout the day so we are often off site. We keep a vigilant watch on the security of the house including a central alarm system but all our guests are given keys to their rooms and the front door and are free to come and go as they please. I can see how the door could be left unlocked. We typically keep a very well stocked home so if there was anything missing in the room it can only be explained, not excused, as an oversight. We can only hope they will come back to see us again so we can show again that Park Place is a wonderful place to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Within walking distance of The Falls, excellent breakfast each morning that gets you ready for the day's activities, host assists with driving directions, restaurants, etc. We stayed 5 nights and really enjoyed this Arts and Crafts home and the fine hospitality.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Garden Room. Excellent internet service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Gtrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, VA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

We wanted a relaxing, interesting getaway and were absolutely delighted with Park Place B & B in Niagara Falls, NY. Mark and Beverly Savoy's passion for the B & B and their town is readily evident. The B & B is within walking distance of all the attractions and their restaurant recommendations were fabulous. Breakfast each day was excellent and we conversed over the meal with tremendously interesting people, both internationals and Americans. Can't say enough good things about our stay here. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thequeenof505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at the Park Place bed and breakfast!! Mark and Bev are wonderful people that go out of their way for their guests. I am not even sure you could call us guests!! It was like being at "home"! Breakfast was served everyday with beautiful table settings and was fantastic, and if you needed anything all you had to do was ask! There were many great conversations with the owners, they would drop what they were doing to sit down and chat! They are very helpful when it comes to recomendations for dinner and tours! They were very friendly and helped in any way that they could to make sure your stay at the falls was nothing short of perfect! They were always a phone call a way! The rooms are beautiful and very confortable! The house is very quiet and quaint, the home is beautifully decorated and very clean. The service is top of the line and the Savoy's are wonderful! The falls is a short walk and the rickshaw bike ride was beautiful! The 4 nights we were there were great! We will be back!! Thank you for a a great Bed & Breakfast experience.

Room Tip: Come, Relax & Enjoy!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dug11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
1.0 km away
Sheraton At The Falls
Sheraton At The Falls
#4 of 51 in Niagara Falls
2,061 reviews
1.3 km away
Comfort Inn The Pointe
Comfort Inn The Pointe
#3 of 51 in Niagara Falls
1,066 reviews
1.4 km away
The Red Coach Inn Historic Bed and Breakfast Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Days Inn Niagara at the Falls
Days Inn Niagara at the Falls
#12 of 51 in Niagara Falls
593 reviews
1.4 km away
Wingate by Wyndham Niagara Falls
Wingate by Wyndham Niagara Falls
#10 of 51 in Niagara Falls
1,129 reviews
1.6 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Niagara Falls New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Place Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Place Bed and Breakfast

Property: Park Place Bed and Breakfast
Address: 740 Park Pl, Niagara Falls, NY 14301-1028
Region: United States > New York > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Place Bed & Breakfast is the restored turn of the century home of pioneer industrialist James G. Marshall, the founder and later general superintendent of all Union Carbide Plants. The Park Place Bed & Breakfast offers a step back in time to a by gone era. This authentic Arts and Crafts property, within walking distance to the majestic Niagara Falls on the US side Niagara Falls, USA, and Canada, and a five minute cab ride from the Amtrak station. The home is noted for its outstanding woodwork and architectural detailing. Come join us for a relaxing stay and delicious home cooked breakfast. We offer our guest a quiet relaxing stay with local area attractions, shopping, wine tasting and more. Looking a relaxing place to rest... then stop by and be our guest. We accept all major credit cards Visa, MasterCard. American Express, Discover, JCB, Diners Club and Pay Pal. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing