We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino
Ranked #36 of 50 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Red Wing, Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“yuck”
Reviewed 21 September 2011

This hotel wins the honor of being the worst and also the most expensive hotel on our 21 day road trip. I had made the mistake of not booking a room elsewhere before arriving in Niagara Falls. It was all I could find after looking at all the travel sites and calling over 10 places. I felt dirty just walking into the room. My son wanted to sleep in the van. The room only had one bed for 4 of us so the guy at the front desk brought us an old cot with nasty bedding. We were afraid to put our bags anywhere in the room for fear of getting bed bugs in our luggage. We were afraid to take off our shoes. This hotel is gross. Even the breakfast was bad. It left a terrible impression of Niagara Falls Ny. If you have a choice stay on the canada side as it seems the US side has mostly crappy outdated hotels along the falls. They're also the most expensive, how does that work? Really it's like an overpriced ghetto. We stayed out as late as possible and left as soon as we woke up. The only positive is that it is close to the falls not that that matters much as you can't actually see them from the hotel and there is plenty of parking near the falls anyways. I would never in a million years stay here again.

Room Tip: stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    217
    283
    179
    168
See reviews for
478
294
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

This hotel really is closest to the falls as close as you can get without breaking the bank, that is. This hotel is a lot cheaper than the going rate in this area. Buffalo niagra airport shuttle stops righ tin front of it. There are great restaurants in the vicinity and the falls are at walkable distance.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Maverick182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

This is a no-frills, family friendly hotel within easy walking distance to the Falls. It's exactly what you'd expect for the price.

Rooms are outdated to the point of being kind of retro-funky. However, they are well-designed for families with a dressing area outside the bathroom, an extra sink outside of the washroom, and plenty of closet and luggage storage space.

The indoor pool is small but well-maintained with a lifeguard on staff. There's also a sauna, which was a nice surprise for us.

There is a decent breakfast selection--cereal, fresh fruit, bagels and muffins...the usual suspects. The attendant went out of her way to be helpful and make sure everyone had enuogh of what they wanted.

The desk staff was welcoming and extremely helpful with directions, restaurant recommendations, etc.

You can't see the Falls from any of the rooms--in fact, I don't think you can see them from any hotels on the American Side.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank summerbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hojo00139, Owner at Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on trip advisor. I am thrilled you found our rooms at The Howard Johnson in Niagara Falls, NY to be a good value, spacious, family friendly and clean. I’m glad that you found the staff friendly and helpful with directions. Our proximity to the falls, friendly staff and clean spacious rooms make Howard Johnson in Niagara Falls an ideal family destination. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

It appears that nothing has been upgraded since we stayed there 40 years ago. The rooms were not very clean, very dull and basic. Very small indoor pool area. No hot tub. Insufficient parking.
We had tickets for Jeff Foxworthy at the Seneca Casino and it was the closest accommodation we could find. All hotels were filled for that weekend, otherwise we wouldn't have stayed after seeing the condition of the room.

Room Tip: Hotel is located next to a helicopter pad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PieIrons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Niagara Falls hotels

Dubai
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

The hotel is about 5 mins by walk to the park entrance. The chopper tour starts off right next to the hotel. The hotel is average for a 2 star. Rooms are large, beds were clean and the staff helpful. The concierge stood out in her efforts to guide guests around. There are a couple of delis close by. Rooms were large and relatively clean... the carpet felt grungy though. Breakfast was served in a small room which holds a max of 8 to 10 seats. As a result you will find people chewing in the hallway, across the lobby and lifts. Niagra falls seems to the be the only attraction, this side of the border and a nights stay is all one needs to see the falls and its attractions. The fire works and lighting on weekends is quite spectacular.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank devbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hojo00139, General Manager at Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino, responded to this review, 12 September 2011
Thanks for the comments regarding your stay at The Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls. We do strive to provide the guest the best value for their money. We are planning to upgrade our guest rooms and public spaces next year. We have already added additional breakfast seating in our lobby area. Our proximity to the falls and all local attractions makes us an ideal choice for your travel needs. The Western New York area does have alot to offer and our front desk staff can keep you busy for several days. We have historic forts and the Village of Lewiston is a short drive. There are wine trails, state parks, museums, movie theatres and concert halls nearby. The majestic falls, Maid of the Mist Boat , and all local attractions are a short walk. Thanks again for your comments as they help us serve you better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 7 September 2011

My husband and I stayed for a night last weekend to enjoy a night away and was pleasantly surprised with our room. The room was very clean and the price was right. Very close to all attractions and in walking distance. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancybiamonte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hojo00139, General Manager at Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino, responded to this review, 12 September 2011
Thank You very much for your comments. We appreciate your business and will continue to improve our service and value to our guests at The Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corning, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Upon our early arrival my husband asked if our room was ready and the lady working at the desk looked it up and assured us that it was. We rode the ancient elevator (there is only 1 so it takes forever to go anywhere), we arrived on our floor (the 5th) which stunk. We opened our room and it was clear that it had not been cleaned- there were alot of crumbs, a bobby pin, clump of hair and bottle top next to one bed and a used bandaid behind the mini fridge. When my husband complained to the manager his response was "I'll make sure it's vacuumed TOMORROW". The carpet was patched (with a non-matching square), there was a water line running along the ceiling from the bathroom through the bedroom, the wallpaper was peeling off and there were dirty/stained no-slip grips in the shower. The blankets felt like burlap, so we used our own bedding & pillows. The room was vacuumed the next day- only in the center and with a wide girth around the furniture- the bottle cap, hair, bobby pin and used banaid remained. There is also a helicopter launch pad right next to the hotel, which leaves approx. every 30 minutes- very loud! The "Breakfast Room" was too small to fit into both days, after several attempts. The pool area wasn't very clean- clumps of hair in it, a used bandaid by the side and the bathrooms were gross. I would NEVER recommend this hotel and we will never return. I would expect to pay about $30/night to stay here...it was the worst hotel we've ever been to!!!

Room Tip: Don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rmoshier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.1 km away
Days Inn Niagara at the Falls
Days Inn Niagara at the Falls
#9 of 50 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.5 km away
Comfort Inn The Pointe
Comfort Inn The Pointe
#3 of 50 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
0.5 km away
Quality Hotel & Suites At the Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Wingate by Wyndham Niagara Falls
Wingate by Wyndham Niagara Falls
#10 of 50 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
0.7 km away
The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls
The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls
#30 of 50 in Niagara Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
8.9 km away
Best Western Summit Inn
Best Western Summit Inn
#7 of 50 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino

Property: Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino
Address: 454 Main St, Niagara Falls, NY 14301-1526
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 50 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome Affordable comfort in the heart of Niagara Falls. Niagara's Howard Johnson - Closest to the Falls and Casino. We are just a short stroll to the Famous Falls, Maid of the Mist, and Cave of the Winds - all one & 1/2 blocks from the hotel! The Seneca Casino is just a three block walk80 spacious rooms, including luxurious jacuzzi rooms, all with free wireless internet access. Whether you crave adventure, sightseeing, gaming, romance, shopping, hiking, or fishing Howard Johnson Hotel can accommodate you. An Eco-friendly property. Hotel Highlights: Free Wireless High Speed Internet Access in all rooms and on site Packages available (click package tab above), King Jacuzzi rooms, Smoking rooms, Indoor heated pool/sauna, In-Room Safes, Free Parking, Helicopter Tours and Sightseeing Tours On-Site, Retro Game Room, Handicapped rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Closest To The Falls Hotel Niagara Falls
Howard Johnson Niagara Falls
Niagara Falls Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing