We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant (didn't stay at hotel)”
Review of Odjo d'agua Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Odjo d'agua Hotel
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Santa Maria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We were staying in the Riu hotel along the coast but wanted to get out and see a little bit more of the island. For anyone in a similar position would heartily recommend a meal at the Odjo d'Agua. We went twice.. both times my wife said the prawns were among the best she'd ever had.. and my food (brazilian style steak one night, fresh fried fish another) was also really good.

The main appeal though was the location and the friendliness of the staff. We sat overlooking the sea and for me the highlight was actually when the power failed for a few minutes.. all the lights off meant an even better view of the moon reflecting on the sea and a beautiful starry sky. Our waitress came over with a grin and a torch pretty much straightaway - am guessing it's a fairly frequent occurence and it's nice to be somewhere with a bit of character!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilDonathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (495)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 495 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2012

I think this hotel is the best on Sal island. In case you don't need big hotel chains or basic bungalows and you prefer smaller, more intimate place, book this hotel. It also have excellent restuarant (literally above the sea) and also it's very close to all attractions you may need. Just a few rooms have direct sea view, so confirm in advance if you want this.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Milos K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We booked this hotel through Thomson and spent two week here.

It was simply fantastic. This family owned hotel has a warm and friendly welcome and is situated in a wonderful position with sea on three sides. We booked the hotel on a half board basis and found that the restaurant was exceptionally good. Specialising in seafood, which was delivered direct from the nearby fishing jetty, the fish was exceptional.

The hotel itself is quiet, just perfect for a relaxing holiday reading books on the private beach or by the side of the small pool. When we went there were mainly adult couples as guests which provided a very laid back atmosphere.

The rooms were very clean (as was the whole hotel) and had minibar, AC (which worked!) and a balcony (with a hammock!). Also, the WiFi system in the rooms gave access to the outside world, but we found ourselves using this less and less as the holiday progressed as our brains relaxed into books.

The staff at the hotel were warm and friendly - and really welcoming.

If you want a change from the all inclusive ghettos, then this is certainly the place to be - total quiet relaxation.

Note to the hotel - please don't be tempted to go down the all inclusive route. What you have at the moment sets you apart from the rest. Please don't change and we'll be back.

Many thanks to all at the hotel.

Room Tip: The WiFi is a bit expensive at 35 euros per week, but apart from this the hotel has excellant value...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jetlaga380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We booked a holiday at the Odgo D'Agua and Thomson was kind enough to make a call to the hotel telling them that it was our Honeymoon. We found ourself in one of the two suites at the hotel which was magical. We felt sooo lucky not only that we'd been upgraded to a suite, but that we'd chosen the Odjo D'Agua to begin with. In our opinion it much surely be the best hotel on the island. It's location is idillic and we met the nicest of people. We pretty much stayed in the hotel as there's little to see on the island and the town 'ramshackle' reflecting the poverty of the country. There are smashing restaurants that our new friends visited, however the hotel food was so so good we stayed there every evening except one. The stary dogs kept us entertained on the beach but broke our hearts... i grizzled all the way home thinking of all the street dogs a couple of whome adopted us for the week even though we didn't encourage their affection... The wind on the island took us by surprise, so be prepared for a blustery time... but you can't go wrong if you enjoy doing nothing in a warm climate and this hotel is sure to please.. But WELL worth upgrading rooms.

Room Tip: Check the map of the room in my photos.. You can see the two suite 112 and 111. I think this block a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CathandAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Our first visit to Sal Island.. Hotel Odjo d'Agua has the best site and in the windy weather we experienced it has the best place for swimming (rather than kite surfing, etc). The resturant (also nearby cafes) was nice and most reasonably priced (wine is expensive) but booking is needed as everybody goes to the restaurant at 7 o'clock when they start. Rooms good and clean but the bathroom was a little cramped. There is a permanent guard at the entrance but anyway I felt quite relaxed among the friendly people in the town. Unlike some hotels stated to be in Santa Maria but out of the town there is no need to transverse a building site to get to the town (such as it is, hardly a "city") which I thought quite clean,etc for a "developing" country.. I got to like the island more as I stayed, the rest is quite wild but hardly any traffic if you hire a car. Windy from N.E. but almost never rains. We felt better for the rest and missed a nasty spell of February weather.

Room Tip: Pay more???
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frankmilos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We booked a meal here for my 40th birthday,
What can you say! It's in such a lovely location.
The food was great, steak, fish, burgers, ect. ect.
Staff were so friendly.
If I was ever going to go back to cape verde this place
I have gave the hotel rooms a 3 as we did not stay here so I can not comment on them!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alfi27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

This hotel has the most spectacular views of the beach.We ate there on two occasions. The steak was good with the sweet potatoe. It was quite reasonably priced for hotel food. However we stayed next door at porto antigo 2 apartments which was also on the beach with this spectacular view.....but then come away from this beautiful beach onto the streets its a disgrace. The streets are full of roaming dogs. There is dog droppings all over the streets you can smell it in the air. The locals urinate on the streets and the beach. It was our first time in sal and our last we couldnt wait to come home.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bombaybrasserie_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Maria hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Morabeza
Hotel Morabeza
#4 of 20 in Santa Maria
758 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Dunas de Sal
Hotel Dunas de Sal
#13 of 20 in Santa Maria
331 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Oasis Salinas Sea
Hotel Oasis Salinas Sea
#8 of 20 in Santa Maria
2,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Crioula Club Hotel & Resort
Crioula Club Hotel & Resort
#14 of 20 in Santa Maria
2,010 reviews
2.9 km away
Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa
3.1 km away
Melia Dunas Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Odjo d'agua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Odjo d'agua Hotel

Address: Zona do Farolinho, CP 71 | Ilha do Sal, Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal 4111, Cape Verde
Phone Number:
Region: Cape Verde > Ilha do Sal > Santa Maria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Santa Maria
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santa Maria
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santa Maria
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Maria
#9 Spa Hotel in Santa Maria
Price Range: $145 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Odjo d'agua Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built on a small promontory where the Vera Cruz Lighthouse is located, the hotel is partially built over the sea. From the hotel restaurant you can enjoy the stunning overlooking of Santa Maria Bay. We offer a warm welcome to our clientele, who can relax in a quiet, intimate and family atmosphere while enjoying the surrounding beauty of the ocean and Santa Maria beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Booking.com so you can book your Odjo d'agua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Odjo D'agua Hotel Cape Verde/Santa Maria, Ilha Do Sal
Hotel Odjo d Agua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing