We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PARADISE!!”
Review of Pongwe Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pongwe Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Pongwe
Certificate of Excellence
N. Wales
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“PARADISE!!”
Reviewed 16 March 2012

This place is just beautiful. Soooooooooo quiet, take a few books and chillax. We stayed over Christmas and had our xmas dinner (seafood platter) on the beach. Our waiter made such an effort. We had candles in the sand and Merry Christmas written in red petals for us. Just amazing. Beach is just gorgeous and all the staff are lovely. All very helpful, felt like royalty. We will def. be returning. Can't wait!!

Room Tip: Has to be beach front!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gill1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    685
    137
    36
    10
    5
See reviews for
125
562
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Stayed three nights in late February. Beautiful beach, nice rooms and lovely pool. I walked out into Indian Ocean at low tide and local fishers let me join in, which was both fun and interesting... Although I draw the line at holding an octopus.

Most impressed with dining room staff. I was not feeling well and didn't feel like the dinner menu because I was recovering from a bug and I wanted something pretty basic. The chef made me some roast chicken that was just what I needed.

When we left, it was before the dining room opened for breakfast. They came in early to make us breakfast. We would have been satisfied with coffee and toast and they made us a nice breakfast including boiled eggs.

Val's room is great. It's at end of beach and has a great private sunbed area. It was high tide at night and waves could wake you if you are light sleeper.

Room Tip: Really liked Val's room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dj_canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Stayed for 2 nights after trekking gorillas in Rwanda and friend climbing Kili. What a beach! I've visited many beautiful islands around the world and this beach has to be the best. For most of our stay we only saw a handful of people on the beach and in the water- bliss. We stayed in a garden room which was spacious, clean and quiet. The food was good though not a varied choice. Amazing cocktails delivered to the infinity pool. What more could you ask for? I hope to go back sometime soon:)

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andrea14Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Amazing, stunning, incredible. Yep it probably is one of the most beautiful places in the world. I loved matembwe, but think pongwe might have the edge. Need to return to both to check. Know I dislike the nungwe area....
Very quiet, amazing food. You only need 1 seafood platter between 2 and I eat like a horse!
Rooms spacious, Fabby views, but average. The location, food and staff do it.... Oh I agree - plus the caipirinhas!

Put out banana at 6.30 pm for the bush babies and they will visit your balcony.

Booking my ticket now!

Ps yes, nothing to do here.... Bliss!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliet h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We were here for 2 days and we liked the lodge! But in relation to other lodges, f.e. in Paje, it was overprized and we felt a bit isolated from the village and from other restaurants and so on! So you have to stay there or you have to organize a taxi, which is per se expensive when you let it organize by the stuff. On the other hand, the room was very nice, the beauch is perfect, the food was very good and the stuff was very friendly. It was a good place for 2 days, but not for more when you like alternation! For those who just want to relax after a safari or kili-trip, it is a good place! At 10 pm nearly all guests go to bed!! So it is quite as well, when you appreciate it!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aquaneuro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Although we havent stayed in many hotels in Zanzibar, and therefore not really qualified to make the above comment, what we loved about Pongwe was its intimacy. There are only16 rooms, and all except 3 are beachfront villas. The rooms are large and clean and yes, the salt water in the bathroom takes a bit of getting used to, but after a while you accommodate it quite easily. As all the photos on this site show, the sand is white and the sea turquoise and when you first arrive, your first word is WOW. The staff are lovely and very helpful, nothing was too much trouble and they were always on hand to give information. We were immediately christened Babu and Bibi, meaning grandfather and grandmother, and this spread to all the staff during our stay. This made us feel special. The food was lovely, with several choices for lunch. If there was something on the dinner menu that you didn't like, this would be readily changed for something to suit. The main course at dinner would normally consist of fish. The tropical fruit provided at lunch and breakfast had a taste like we have rarely experienced. The mango and pineapple were so sweet and gorgeous. There is a laptop provided, with free access to the internet. Also in this area, a very large library providing a book exchange, in several languages. It was wonderful to chill out here with a book, after our safari in Northern Tanzania. Yes, the hotel is remote and a return taxi to Stonetown is going to cost $100, but if you are looking to chill, take long walks along the beach and experience paradise, then look no further. I think if you are looking for a honeymoon destination, then this hotel ticks all the boxes!!

Room Tip: We stayed in both beachfront and garden rooms and both were excellent, so if you are on a budget, ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GrannyAnnie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

This is a really wonderful, laid-back place. The beach is very beautiful, and raked free of seaweed early every morning (not that there is a lot anyway). There is a low density of accommodation, you feel like you have the place almost to yourself (even though it was full when we were there). The caipirinha cocktails are the most delicious I have ever had. The food is really good, and the seafood platter is extraordinary (3 lobsters each, squid and endless vast crab claws). You will not regret staying here.

We stayed in Val's house for 4 nights in Feb 2012. Its right by the sea at high tide (waves wash the steps to the house), its romantic, but the waves can be pretty noisy at night if the tides is in. The bed was attractive and comfortable, there was plenty of hot water in the shower. There are 3 fans, no aircon though. There is a nice shaded veranda, although reading in one of the many hammocks around the beach was also lovely. There is music in the bar/restaurant all day, mostly this is fine and low key, and nice in the evenings; it seemed a bit jaunty in the mornings.

We also visited two other places to stay on the east coast: Blue Water Bay and Matemwe beach. The first was huge and had a corporate feel, a bit like a major international hotel in Hawaii. The second looked a bit less exclusive than Pongwe, it definitely had a poorer beach. We were very happy to have chosen Pongwe.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JulianLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pongwe
10.1 km away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
1,571 reviews
22.6 km away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#2 of 169 in Zanzibar Island
489 reviews
36.8 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 km away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,587 reviews
36.7 km away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
618 reviews
18.5 km away
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
#1 of 6 in Matemwe
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pongwe Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pongwe Beach Hotel

Property: Pongwe Beach Hotel
Address: PO Box 297, Pongwe, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Pongwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Pongwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pongwe Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on what could perhaps be described as the best beach in Zanzibar, Pongwe Beach Hotel is a tranquil place where one can escape the hustle and bustle of modern day life. It is modestly sized, with 4 Sea View Suites, 13 traditional Beach Villas as well as 3 Garden Rooms and has an intimate, personal atmosphere. Set within a secluded bay on the east coast of Zanzibar, Pongwe Beach is a true paradise retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Pongwe Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pongwe Beach Hotel Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing