We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,069)
Filter reviews
1,069 results
Traveller rating
862
155
36
11
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
862
155
36
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bush babies brackish water seafood platter stone town our honeymoon every morning infinity pool palm trees low tide indian ocean slightly salty green flag sea breeze little touches no air conditioning absolute paradise white sand
Filter
Updating list...
111 - 116 of 1,069 reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2018

If you are looking for simple Luxury and some cool place . Pongwee Beach is the place to go .
not a hype place , rather a family one .
The beach is beautiful, the management and staff professional and friendly , the restaurant offers great food and a nice service . Could be more glamourous though

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Laurence M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PONGWE, Manager at Pongwe Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2018

Thank you very much for your comments. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us! Warm wishes from all at Pongwe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 7, 2018

We had the chance to stay at Pongwe Beach Hotel between Christmas and New Years and was a relaxing week of the noises on town. Our daughter didn't want to get out the beautiful pool but to go find shells at the splendid private beach.

The rooms are big and confortable and the food is good. Service has to improve but is a common task to do in Zanzibar, not all is to push your chair or carry your drink from the bar to the restaurant. Orders must not be lost between the table and the kitchen.

Over all we did enjoy the stay and appreciate the chats with Heidi and for sure the smiles of everyone.

The Seafood Platter..... Just Amazing.

Thanks for the relaxing week and hope to see you soon again.

Best regards,

Javier

Room tip: I guess the suites at the pool side should be bigger but haven't got the chance to see them, just enjoy the peace.
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Javier Ramos S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PONGWE, Manager at Pongwe Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2018

Thank you very much for your comments. We appreciate your feedback and will do our utmost to try and improve upon our service standards. We are so pleased that you had an enjoyable relaxing break with us and we look forward to having you back soon! Warmest wishes from all at Pongwe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 7, 2018

We stayed at this hotel 7 years ago and really enjoyed it, so when an opportunity arose to return we decided to go for it - we were not disappointed. We stayed for 5 nights in December and had a great time.

During our stay we had a couple of chats with Heidi, the manager who is really friendly and was keen to hear how we were finding our stay compared to 7 years ago. We told her that over the 7 years Pongwe has got even better. The beach is just as lovely, but the bathrooms have been upgraded and the food and restaurant service has definitely gone up a notch (or 2!!). The bar has also been extended giving the whole place a more spacious feel. The staff are also really friendly and are always around offering to do anything they can for you. We loved it so much we didnt leave the hotel during our 5 nights there. We left feeling truly relaxed and pampered.

Thank you Heidi and all the staff at Pongwe, for a great stay. Hopefully it wont be another 7 years before we return,

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ShepofBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PONGWE, Manager at Pongwe Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2018

We are absolutely thrilled that we were able to improve upon your last stay and that you enjoyed your holiday with us!! Thank you for your comments and we do hope to see you again in the not too distant future. Warmest wishes from all of the Pongwe Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 6, 2018

Our five night stay at the end of a gruelling safari schedule was supposed to be an affordable chill out before our return to work in the UK. Our experience staying here far outweighed our expectations.
We stayed in room 19, a spacious suite with a small plunge pool, overlooking the Indian Ocean. Comfortable, clean with a wonderful sea breeze to cool us at night.
Service here is truely wonderful. All the staff are super friendly, always a big smile & they all address you by name, which is always a nice touch.
The white sand beach for residents only is immaculately clean & stunning. There is also a very nice pool overlooking the Ocean.
Food here is very good. Breakfast changes daily, lunches are freshly prepared to order & the evening meals are also excellent. Try the seafood platter for a treat. A mountain of well cooked treats from the sea outside, but go hungry!
What's special about this place other than the staff, is the little unnecessary touches that take this place to the next level. Fresh coffee delivered to your verandah before breakfast, fresh fruit delivered in the afternoons & even a little gift to remember the place on check out.
As you can see from my many reviews, I am very well travelled. This is my 203rd hotel review in the last 5 years. Yes, I've stayed at more luxurious hotels with the price to match.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Leedsaway67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PONGWE, Manager at Pongwe Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2018

Thank you very much for your comments. We are so pleased that we were able to give you the relaxing holiday you were looking for!! Warmest wishes from everyone here at Pongwe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 6, 2018 via mobile

This place is amazing. It’s like your own piece of paradise!!!

It exceeded all our expectations and more. There seriously was not one thing we could comment on, aside from the fact that they provide too much butter at breakfast so it goes to waste haha :)

The beach is literally yours and the rest of the guests at the resort and is beautiful with the ground keeper continuously
Cleaning away any seaweed or debri (if any). Like someone else said in a review, you can pay 5 star and stay at the resort next door, but it doesn’t have a beach.

The lack of air-conditioning is not a problem at all- although this was a worry of us. The sea breeze keeps things really cool and the rooms have wonderful ventilation and big fans!

The best thing about this place is the management and staff- nothing is too hard! The staff are attentive and helpful and provide great service Africa standards.

I am Coeliac also and cannot eat gluten and they catered considerably for me.

I suggest trying the seafood platter dinner for two one night. There is enough seafood (lobster, crab, prawns etc) to feed an army! Certainly value for money.

Also the little touches are lovely (I want say what these are to spoil it for you) but all the little things they do, are wonderful.

Also the cocktails are delish!!

We certainly did not want to leave the resort- it was a perfect place of relaxation!

We will certainly return should we ever get back to Africa.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Michwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PONGWE, Manager at Pongwe Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2018

Thank you very much for your comments. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay with us!! Best wishes from everyone here at Pongwe!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews