We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 a.m. - 7:30 p.m.
Save
Review Highlights
Great way to pass the day.

The Dordogne flows at the perfect speed to just relax and view the scenery. Minimal paddling... read more

Reviewed yesterday
janetwilkinson
,
Dryden, Canada
3 day canoe trip

My dad and I booked a 3 day trip for his birthday starting at Meyronne and finishing at Beynac... read more

Reviewed October 8, 2018
James B
Read all 493 reviews
  
Reviews (493)
Filter reviews
469 results
Traveller rating
322
128
11
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
322
128
11
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river canoe trip la roque gageac start point adults and children hour trip great fun beautiful scenery snack bar lovely trip picnic lunch helpful staff life jackets longer trip different perspective clear instructions fun experience
Filter
Updating list...
190 - 195 of 469 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We rented a kayak for 2... best way vs canoe.
We stopped several times along the way for beers. The effort is low as the river flows well. But you can't beat the views of the two villages Roque + Beynac.
Next time we would get there earlier and do the longer trip.

Date of experience: September 2012
2  Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We picked this canoe firm because as far as we knew, they were the only ones that would pick us up in Sarlat. We did not have a car. Other than some confusion about where the pick up would be exactly and it not being marked plus the driver being 15 minutes late, we had a super experience. Once we arrived at the departure area of Vitrac we were treated wonderfully. What a scenic trip down the Dordogne River to Beynac. It was a hot day so was super to be able to just jump in the clear refreshing water to cool off. We stopped in La Roque-Gageac and had a great meal. They brought us excellent tasting non-stop very cold tap water as we were all very thirsty given the hot day. Wish I could remember the name of the place we ate so I could recommend it. We also spent some time exploring the very scenic town.

Got tons of great photos on the float down the river. Even thought they called it a 2 hour paddle, we spent a good 6 hours stopping here and there to look around and enjoy the scenery. Would have spent longer but had to be back at a certain time to catch our ride back to Sarlat. Would certainly do this again and recommend it highly.

Date of experience: August 2012
2  Thank HannaGreg_F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canoesloisirs, Responsable relations publiques at Canoes Loisirs, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Thanks for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Really pleasant canoe experience, but unfortunately we did not reach olympic standards. We could have done with a brief bit of information on steering etc as our canoeing experience is limited. Had a lovely day though and would use this company again.

Date of experience: August 2012
Thank nicki7008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Wonderful way to see the river life and view the cliffs, chateaux and surrounding area in the most peaceful and relaxing way - just float down the river and take in the breathtaking scenery and wildlife.

Thank Gourmetgirl54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Really well organised set-up if you fancy an hour or two's canoeing (or longer) on the Dordogne. We opted for a full afternoon's session - they took us up the river in a minibus and we then canoed the three hours or so back down to base. We enjoyed it so much that we did another trip a couple of days later, this time opting to canoe down river and then getting one of the buses they lay on back upto base. Helpful staff and good value.

Date of experience: August 2012
2  Thank Alastair F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews