We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Le Clos Roussillon(Vitrac)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$98
US$83
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Treille(Vitrac)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Le Perigord(La Roque-Gageac)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Mas De Castel(Sarlat-la-Caneda)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotel l'Esplanade(Domme)(Great Value!)
US$141
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Le Relais du Touron(Carsac-Aillac)
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Hoirie(Sarlat-la-Caneda)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$160
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (221)
Filter reviews
221 results
Traveller rating
96
93
21
10
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96
93
21
10
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssoupthis family run hotelthree coursescentral place to stayfoie grasnice hotelstay there againthe riverdordogne arearegionbathsarlatgardenvillage
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 221 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2017

The hotel is in Vitrac Port, which hardly even ranks as a village. It is an old, family-run hotel and delivers what it promises simply and effectively. Not a place for a luxury break or for great gastronomic delights, but excellent basic food, clean, roomy enough and a great centre to visit most of the famous sighs of the Dordogne area,

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Keith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 6, 2016

We stayed here for a few nights while travelling around the Dordogne area and found it very central with a great range of room configurations which made it easy for us travelling with our adult daughter. The breakfasts were good, the dinners as good or better than we'd got in most restaurants, and the parking easy to access - all in all it was a random choice but a very lucky one.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Narziss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 17, 2016

We needed a room due to a fire in our other lodging. Luckily the Plaisance had a room. The hotel is older and is located right on the street in Vitrac. However, the rooms were still pretty quiet. The decor is dated and the furnishings old. But once again the rooms were generally comfortable. The place was clean and the help pretty friendly.

While we were staying there was a tour group in residence. The breakfast area is not really equipped to handle that many guests at once. The breakfast choices were quite limited.

This hotel has its plusses and minuses. But overall, not bad

Room Tip: Ask for higher floors away from street
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 19, 2016

Of seven hotels in the Dordogne region this was our favorite. It's in a very small village, not much more than a cross-roads really. However, it's a strategic and beautiful location right on the Dordogne River.

Directly in front of the hotel river is a bridge across the Dordogne and a popular location for launching and recovering canoes and kayaks. Beyond the bridge a short distance is the medieval village of Domme with its spectacular 360-degree views. And the bigger, classic French town of Sarlat-le-Caneda is also a short distance away with its huge market days on Wednesdays and Saturdays. Plus it is not far from Vitrac to the many caves and grottoes like Lascaux II for which the region is famous.

The hotel itself is lovely, the rooms were modern and our bed was larger than at other hotels in this class. There was an elevator to get to the upper floors which is another thing you don't always see in 2-3-star hotels. It's a bike-friendly hotel and had a garage across the street to lock up our bikes overnight.

Both the dinner and breakfast buffet were excellent and we were promptly, courteously, and slightly humorously served by Carlos, our Uruguayan waiter.

But aside from the strategic location and good amenities, one of the great surprises about the Plaisance was its swimming pool. At first we were a little put off by being told we had to walk 150 meters up the street and enter a key-code at a gate. But it was well worth it. Inside the gate it's like a garden park that you'd pay to see, beautifully landscaped and even a mini-golf course. The pool, with solariums at each end, was the perfect temperature and we had it all to ourselves. There are also some fitness machines and a Ping-Pong table.

We would definitely stay at the Plaisance again, and in fact it's likely we will.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Steve V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 2, 2016

Stayed for 2 nights with family here. Hotel is in a nice location right next to the river & you can cross the bridge to the canoe's. Plenty of parking & a nice swimming pool just 2 min walk up the road. Hotel was clean & tidy, we had 4 of us in the room but still plenty of space & a big corner bath in the bathroom. It's only 10 mins drive from Sarlat & Domme so a good base.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jpsykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews