We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply charming, an unforgettable experience, unbelievably good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Roc sur l'Orbieu
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Simply charming, an unforgettable experience, unbelievably good value”
Reviewed 7 September 2011

From the minute you step into the cobbled street to the chateau everything is a sensory delight, fabulous interiors, authentic brick Walls and food to die for. the hostess does everything to make you feel at home on this romantic setting, perched on top of a hill with beautiful hillsides and old abbeyes chateaux and gorges all around. Lovely local produce including local wines and juices at served in a lovely setting. We had a whole suite of rooms for £83. do not miss this experience, thankyou so much x

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karenlikescomputers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    45
    11
    6
    17
See reviews for
49
146
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We are not "B & B people," so we approached this experience with caution. Hélène quickly won us over: where else in rural France would you find a waterbed? (We are Californians, and we had never slept on one of these 70's symbols--and it was extremely comfortable, by the way.) This was la France profonde in the best sense. Do not miss the dinner: wonderful home cooking, fine local wine. If you expect a hotel experience, stay at home. Great base for touring Lagrasse, Termes, and Termenes--all well worth seeing.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanTrav71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2011

This is an amazing place. It's difficult to visualise anywhere from photographs, but the photos here do tell the real story.The whole house is incredible, lots of little nooks and crannies, artefacts from yesteryear, like nothing you will find anywhere else.Lovely clean room, with a sittingroom we didn't even get to use, and a view that was out of this world. Helene welcomed us with a tour of the house, then showed us to our room.We sat around the large table with three other couples, Helene and her two helpers, for dinner, and it was delicious;the wine flowed and the company was great.There was a small pool with a wave facility and an adjacent terrace.For those who want to relax in the shade, they can do so in a covered terrace or they can relax inside in the cosy salon. I would love to visit at Christmas, I'd say the place is magical.We would highly reccommend this rare treat!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alucammi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springville, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

It was like stepping back in time... To a beautiful, romantic, magical time in France. We were expecting Sir Lancelot du Lac to come riding over the green hills. This enchanting, restored castle, in the heart of Cathare country was truly the high point of our 2 week drive through the South of France. Our charming room was beautifully decorated in Country French antiques. The king-size bed was very comfortable and made up with crisp, white linens. Helene, our hostess, was delightful, and prepared an exquisite dinner for us on the pool terrace. We dined while watching the colors and light of a breathtaking sunset. This is the sort of place that touches your soul and emblazons it's countenance upon your memory. Stay as long as you can. It will still not be long enough.

The only thing I could find fault was with the leaving- it is bittersweet. I strained my neck, looking back so many times, as we drive away.
Merci Helene. One day, we will return:-) Terry and Janice Johnson- Springville, Utah, usa.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kuleana415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2011

We stayed at this fantastic B&B for 3 nights and had an amazing experience!! The surroundings are truly beautiful and the house has an atmosphere and charm that we haven't found anywhere else! The standard of the room was excellent and very romantic. We had our own terrace and also access to a nice little shared swimmingpool from where we could enjoy the sound of the nearby river and the beautiful view. Very peaceful! We had superb dinners every night and lovely breakfasts with croissants and homemade jam. The owner, Madame Carreaud, was very warm and helpful, and made our stay unforgettable. We recomend this to anyone who wants to have an extraordinary experience!! /Hillevi and Isaac, Sweden.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hillevi_and_Isaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metuchen, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2011

This small chateau is almost completed in an amazing renovation. The rooms are excellently done with a large amount of room, a suite for a room's rate. The location is ideal, quiet French countryside.

It's a bed-and-breakfast, and the owner is quite charming and is a great cook. The dinner is a must.

Room Tip: Speak French
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcoDi787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2011

A no frills, rustic and very French B&B with rooms forming a maze within the old castle/chateaux. We stayed for two nights and wish we had booked the larger rooms, even a Gite, that were available - all with good views and ensuite . The evening meal is optional but highly recommended comprising four courses plus coffee but including local wine; the food locally sourced, organic and beautifully prepared; during the meal Helene, the owner, joined us and provided we talked about the local history and her views on the world - a very enjoable way to pass an evening. Finally there is a small bar and lounge area for you to have a drink before and after the meal - which we found very relaxing/civilised. Be aware you are in the countryside of France you do need a car and few speak English except for Helene.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeidWyld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Pierre-des-Champs
21.9 km away
Chateau de Palaja
Chateau de Palaja
#1 of 1 in Palaja
431 reviews
31.1 km away
Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse
8.5 km away
La Villa Celine
La Villa Celine
#1 of 3 in Saint-Laurent-de-la-Cabrerisse
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 km away
Jardins de Saint-Benoit
Jardins de Saint-Benoit
#1 of 1 in Saint-Laurent-de-la-Cabrerisse
353 reviews
7.5 km away
Chambres Cathares
Chambres Cathares
#1 of 2 in Servies-en-Val
26 reviews
3.8 km away
Hostellerie des Corbieres
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Roc sur l'Orbieu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Roc sur l'Orbieu

Property: Le Roc sur l'Orbieu
Address: 1.3.4 et 8 rue du Porche, 11220 Saint-Pierre-des-Champs, Lagrasse, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Lagrasse > Saint-Pierre-des-Champs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Pierre-des-Champs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are welcome in the guest house Le Roc sur l'Orbieu near Carcassonne, inside a medieval castle situated in the wine-producing region of Corbieres, in Cathar Country. This bed&breakfast house has an outside swimming pool with a terrace-solarium and several terraces and flowery gardens where you can rest in the intimacy. All the rooms have a private bath room, a satellite television, air conditioning and free WiFi access. Your pets are welcome on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Roc sur l'Orbieu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing