We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Paradise in France”
Gite & Pool - both with free WiFi
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Gite & Pool - both with free WiFi
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Gite & Pool - both with free WiFi
Pool Garden
View of Queyssas les Vignes from the pool
Small part of tranquil garden
Guest book review
Guest book review
Guest book review
Guest book review
Guest book review
Guest book review
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Beaulieu-sur-Dordogne, Correze, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Julia M
1 review
“Paradise in France”
Reviewed September 5, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We spent hours and hours searching the Internet for a gite in France with a private pool and kept coming back to this one and I am so glad we went for it. We decided to drive for a change as wanted our two young boys to experience the journey over to France via the ferry but you could easily fly to Brive airport which is about an hour from the gite. The day we arrived it was a scorcher and when we found the gite in this beautiful part of France we were stunned by the beauty of the place, it is actually nicer in real life than in the photos. The gite, the pool area, the gardens are all immaculate and the owners Dom and April make a big effort to leave you in peace to enjoy the place but are there if you need them. We have paid a lot more for a private villa and pool in the past and not had as good a standard as we had at Les coquelicots. We were welcomed with fresh eggs from the local farm a nice bottle of wine and freshly picked tomatoes from the garden- a lovely touch.
The boys were happy playing in the pool and in the extensive gardens there are swings and lots of games including swing ball, pitch and put, boules and lots of pool toys for you to use. Everything had been thought of. We also found plenty to do in the surrounding area and spent the days exploring some of the beautiful local towns and villages before heading back to relax by the pool and take in that view. The nearest town is only a 10 minute scenic drive from the gite and has plenty of shops, restaurants and scenery by the Dordogne river with lots of activities on offer such as boat rides and canoeing. We found driving around the area so easy and our sat nav found everywhere we wanted to go even if we went off the beaten track but that was part of the fun and we saw so many great sights. There are so many places to visit all within less than an hours drive from the gite are only regret is we couldn't see it all in a week so may need to return next year!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2016
Very many thanks for this expansive review Julia. As we said to you, we have been here eleven years now and never tire of the stunning view and this amazing part of the Valley of the Dordogne.
So pleased you enjoyed your stay ( that is our aim ) and of course your family will always be welcome should you wish to return some time.
Don & April
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alan w
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Holiday to remember”
Reviewed August 13, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

First impressions of the Gite upon our arrival was one of awe, it's by far the most impressive we have stayed in to date with modern amenities and a clean and fresh decor. it's situated on the top of a hill and has an amazing view of the countryside below and a clean, modern and well equipped pool.
We had a first class service from Don and April who were helpful and generous, allowing us access to their vegetable patch and the loan of several of their personal belongings to enhance our stay.
The Gite was more than a holiday home, it felt like a home, we were particularly impressed with the finishing touches which included incorporated fly screens which allowed us to have the windows open during the night without being bothered by insects.
The region is very beautiful and hilly, not for the faint hearted if cycling, and has many amenities within a short driving distance in any direction.
Beautiful clear skies for anyone interested in star gazing, I saw many shooting stars.
We had a wonderful stay and look forward to repeating it in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It's hard to pick one thing, the tranquility and setting.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2016
Many thanks Alan, Deb, Lyn & Len for your kind comments and also thank you for booking for 2018 before you left.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tylerkism...
Brigg, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“At one with nature and 'What a view'”
Reviewed September 12, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This Gite, view and pool are amazing. What can I say about the Gite that has not already been said, and I agree with it all a true home from home. When we arrived we were blown away by the view and the pool. This is a nature/birdwatchers paradise. My husband wanted to see several birds and within a few days he had seen them in the gardens and surrounding area. Don and April have made their garden attractive to wildlife and it is beautiful. To list a few of the sightings, Golden Oriel, Redstarts, Black Redstarts, Great Spotted Woodpecker, Swallowtail Butterflies, White Admirals, Hummingbird Moths, Tree Frogs the list goes on, he also explored the surrounding area and found a Devils Finger Fungus and Spanish Slugs, my review is to encourage others who may also enjoy wildlife to just take in the surroundings and enjoy ALL this place has to offer. We had a truly relaxing and peaceful 2 weeks and couldn't have asked for more, Thank you Don and April.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2016
Thank you very much for your kind comments. Glad you enjoyed the different wildlife.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ponto10
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Second visit, already booked a third. Amazing.”
Reviewed September 7, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

A truly beautiful location, fully equipped gite, perfect pool and surrounding area. The owners Don and April couldn't be more welcoming and helpful. Perfect for days in the pool or walking around the garden. Swings for the children are a plus. Lots to do all within 40 minutes whether it be the French markets nearly everyday, dinosaur park, zoo or historic sites. Our second visit and the third is booked already and we can't wait. Fantastic.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The endless views
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2016
Lovely to see your two girls growing up and thank you for booking for 2017
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arl24
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing break in rural France - perfect for families who want to get away from it all”
Reviewed August 17, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We recently spent a lovely week at Les Coquelicots; our second stay here and it just gets better and better. The gite itself is well-equipped and fastidiously clean (much cleaner than our own house!!), a perfect size for a family of four, with enough space for everyone to 'do their own thing' if they want to, but also loads of options for sitting/dining./sunbathing together.

The grounds of the property are stunning, with plenty of space for the kids to run around in, and a lovely private pool with terrace which we used every day. The views from the pool are wonderful, and sitting overlooking the Dordogne valley, soaking up some rays and listening to the sound of giggling children and chirruping cicadas makes for a very relaxed and recharging break for the modern family (but don't panic, there is also decent wifi so you can check in if and when you need to). To soak up a bit of culture, would highly recommend visiting the towns of Sarlat, Brive and Cahors, all within 90 mins drive.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2016
Five years on the trot and you and the children still haven't had enough, so thank you very much for booking your sixth stay in 2017
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Choofie
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“PERFECT”
Reviewed July 11, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We were recently fortunate enough to stay at this property and could not have been happier.
The Gite itself is very well equipped and spotlessly clean, but what makes it stand out are the fantastic views of the whole area and the beautiful gardens immaculately kept by our most gracious hosts, Don and April. This plus a lovely pool and sunbathing area with plenty of sun beds and shades, A barbecue should you want it and close proximity to the lovely town of Beaulieu Sur Dordogne with its Bars and Restaurants, and lots of other places to visit nearby made it a perfect holiday for us.
I cannot recommend it highly enough and hope to be fortunate enough to return in the near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2016
Thank you very much indeed for your kind comments. You are welcome at any time. So glad you enjoyed yourselves
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff D
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“La Belle France”
Reviewed July 5, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We have just returned home after a most enjoyable stay at this Gite it offers exceptional self contained guest accommodation in beautiful surroundings and offering great views. The presentation and cleanliness of the accommodation and the beautiful gardens are a credit to Don & April the owners who live on the property in separate accommodation well away from the Gite. Don & April were most helpful in providing ideas for touring the incredible villages and other attractions in the area as well as providing ideas on restaurants. The pool was most refreshing and the 9 hole golf putting course was most challenging.
We will definitely be returning to Les Coquelicots when next we return to France

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Having to leave to go home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2016
Good to have guests from so far away. Many thanks for your kind comments and we are ready to welcome you back during one of your future trips to Europe.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing