We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Domaine Saint Clair Le Donjon
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Etretat
Certificate of Excellence
drancy
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“peaceful”
Reviewed 4 April 2009

a very nice hotel, friendly staff and very helpful, had a great meal, everything was perfect for a couple of days away on our own.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kazzetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    178
    78
    41
    26
See reviews for
59
404
2
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2008

Questionable cleanliness of the room and absolutely no pressure in the shower. For this price you'd certainly expect a bit more. Question of taste but the decoration all over the place is heavy and disturbingly and uncoordinatedly baroque

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank BFiddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2007

The plus points: lovely setting and our room was decorated with great flair and imagination and was very clean.

But the decor in our room was starting to look a bit tired, especially the carpet which was pale cream and had become a bit stained in places. Nothing drastic, but could have done with a bit of freshening up. The bed was a bit lumpy which meant we didn't sleep that well.

We had dinner in the restaurant which was really good but we were troubled by the constant smell of cigar and cigarette smoke from the adjacent lounge. The dining room is non-smoking but is higher than the lounge and has a window that opens onto it so the smoke just rises up and pervades one part of the dining room. If smoke annoys you - as it does us - ask to have a table in another part of the dining room further away from the lounge.

  • Liked — the setting
  • Disliked — the smoke
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Citydweller_222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2006

Very nice hotel. The rooms are nicely decorated. The hotel is located in a lovely place where the view on the sea is fantastic.
The restaurant deserves a dinner.

  • Liked — The room' decoration and view
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BellaMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ann arbor , michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2006

We booked our stay through an on-line agency and prepaid for this hotel 4 months in advance. When we arrived straight from the states we were told, sorry, we are overbooked and you cannot stay here. The hotel looked lovely, great view. They did book a room for us in a 1 star hotel in town, no elevator, small basic room facing the alley, at our own added expense. Remember we had prepaid. Didn't matter.
The manager was surly and could have cared less. I love France and had never before been so poorly treated. I would not trust any reservation at this place. I had dreamed of staying in what I thought was an ideal spot. It was Easter and it took us a long time to find another hotel for the next 3 nights we had booked. If you want to go here, go for a meal and forget staying at this anti American place,
We were at war and it was clear we were not welcome.

Stayed April 2003
Helpful?
4 Thank sherlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2006

We stayed at Le Donjon for two nights during September 2006. Booking by internet was straightforward, though booking by phone for those who do not speak French might be a little more risky - written confirmation would be advisable. You would get by here without speaking any French, but only just; occasionally, we were misunderstood. Le Donjon is set well away from the sea front and high up above sea level. We didn't try walking to the front from the hotel, but thought it could easily have taken 15 minutes. However, the location ensured a completely peaceful stay, and the famous rock formation was readily visible. Our room (Eugenie) was colourfully and warmly decorated and had superb en-suite facilities. To get to the room you need to climb a narrow winding spiral staircase to the second floor - all adds to the character, but not the easiest of access.
We decided to dine both nights in the hotel. This proved an excellent decision, with top quality food presented to exceptional standards and service to match. Breakfast was among the best we have experienced in France, with plenty of choice to suit both continental and traditional English tastes.
The quality of the rooms, food and service were all out of the top drawer, and combined with the romantic charm of the hotel, we would unhesitatingly recommend it to couples or groups wanting a sophisticated and peaceful stay in this part of France.

  • Liked — The quality and presentation of the food.
  • Disliked — The rough, unmade roadway you have to drive along to get to the hotel reception.
  • Tips/Secrets — Choose your room carefully if you have problems with stairs.
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Phineas_Nigellus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2005

Stayed in the Domain Saint Clair for 1 night and absolutely loved it. This hotel on a hill is a former castle so the property has tremendous charm. The hotel is located in the town of Etretat, which is located on the coast of Normandy. Our room was on the first floor and was decorated in dramatic reds, burgundys, and gold. The room was very large with a sitting area and huge bathroom. The hotel grounds have great views of the white cliffs of Normandy and of the little town of Etretat below.

The town is driving distance from the hotel, rather than walking distance, but the drive is short. For hikers, there is a great hike along the white cliffs of Normandy with stupendous views of the Atlantic ocean, the town, and the hills of Normandy.

I stayed at this hotel on a tour of France and England and it was by far the best experience of the trip. How often to you get stay in an updated castle and hike along the cliffs of Normandy, and then snack on local artisan cheese and French wine? Well worth the experience off the beaten path.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank travel_nut_SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Etretat hotels
0.8 km away
Hotel Dormy House
Hotel Dormy House
#1 of 14 in Etretat
1,234 reviews
0.4 km away
Ambassadeur Hotel
Ambassadeur Hotel
#6 of 14 in Etretat
229 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Etretat
Hotel Etretat
#9 of 14 in Etretat
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hotel Le Rayon Vert
Hotel Le Rayon Vert
#5 of 14 in Etretat
203 reviews
0.5 km away
Detective Hotel
Detective Hotel
#2 of 14 in Etretat
440 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel d'Angleterre Etretat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine Saint Clair Le Donjon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine Saint Clair Le Donjon

Property: Domaine Saint Clair Le Donjon
Address: Chemin St Clair, 76790 Etretat, France
Region: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Etretat
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Etretat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Domaine Saint Clair Le Donjon 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and Cancelon so you can book your Domaine Saint Clair Le Donjon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domaine Saint Clair Le Donjon Hotel Etretat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing