We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never woken up to a more breathtaking view”
Review of Ifestio Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ifestio Villas
Ranked #3 of 34 Oia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2011

We woke up every morning to breathtaking views of a clear blue sky and beautiful blue water, from our very own balcony. What more could you ask for?

The only thing some need to be aware of is that you do have to walk down quite a few steps to get there but how can you experience Oia any other way? Katerina our host did arrange a porter to carry our luggages (for a small price...trust me it's worth it). Also make sure you arrange with Katerina to get her to organise for a car to pick you up because there are lots of stair ways and no signs on the main road to tell you where the villas are. We learnt this the hard way. We asked the Taxi at the airport if he knew where the place was and he said 'yes' only to find ourselves dropped of at the end of the main road into Oia in the stinking hot weather (which we were unprepared for since we were in winter gear because we had come from Australia where it was winter). Luckily it was a small place where we could find a local that could send us to another local, who could direct us to another local who knew our host. Phew!

The villa is a typical cave house and so is a little dark but cooler than outside. There is aircon in the lounge which was a life saver! Our villa was had two bathrooms and had plenty of space.

Make an effort to get up early to see the sunrise because it's when the locals are out and no tourists are around. You will get to see the locals going for a morning walk, and you will get plenty of great photo opportunities without other tourists crowding for pictures. I got up early and coincidently saw the garbage bags being collected and then strapped to a donkey! That solved that mystery!

Katerina was a fantastic host. She told us where to go to eat authentic Greek food and avoid the touristy places which are also more expensive. We had a fantastic experience because of her. We ate the best food and met fantastic locals.

An absolutely beautiful place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank choo_choo_traing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (325)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

186 - 192 of 325 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2011

My partner and I stayed at Ifestio Villas in May 2011. Oia is stunning, and you get an amazing caldera view from your balcony at Ifestio. We had the opportunity to stay in both villas; Villa Paride and Villa Agis. Both are fabulous. Villa Paride is really meant for a couple or a small family, while Villa Agis would be great for a larger family or a group of couples traveling together. Both are beautifully decorated, and Katerina, the owner is very hospitable. She fills your refrigerator with all sorts of delicious goodies and does everything that she can to make your stay more enjoyable. She had many wonderful suggestions as to what sights to see and restaurants to eat at-- what a wonderful, helpful, generous tour guide! Staying at Ifestio was a highlight of our trip, and Katerina does her best to make her villa a top-notch place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jump312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

We stayed in Ifestio for four nights and we loved every moment of it!
To be honest, traveling all the way from Singapore, we were not sure what to expect although the reviews in TA were certainly alluring and the pictures posted were heavenly. The weeks leading up to the trip, our expectations nonetheless grew to a point where we really must see this gorgeous villa set on this famously beautiful island.
Let me just say, everything that we had read in TA is absolutely true! Simply put, we were blown away by the sheer beauty of Ifestio and everything that we expected a beautiful villa to be was met plus much much more!
The pictures on TA were exactly what it looks like including the views. Breathtaking! The villa had 3 bedrooms and everything was superb! It was perfect!
Katerina was simply amazing! She went the extra mile to sit all 5 of us down the moment we arrived to tell us everything that we had to know about the villa, about the island, about where to go, where to eat, best places for pictures, where to get the best of the sunset etc. She even took the extra effort to plan a suggested 4 day itinery for us! She really took care of us with TLC! Everything was provided. She certainly thought of everything, right down to our laundry (we had already been traveling in Athens for about a week by then and had a loadful of dirty laundry). Kitchen was fully stocked and the entire villa was serviced everyday. Very clean, very beautiful, very pleasant - the perfect stay!
I must caution however, that at Oia (or maybe perhaps Santorini generally where most of the villas are), because of the rock formations, the buildings are constructed out from caves along hill slopes. Beautiful and charming, yet it also means stairs when you want to get to your villa. Katerina did tell us to pack light, but as stubborn tourists, we shopped a lot at Athens. But help was at hand - there was a young and VERY fit porter who handled our luggage down and up again when we left.
We will certainly come back again! As a matter of fact, we are already planning our schedule for next year. I definitely recommend Ifestio for everyone, from families to honeymooning couples.
Katerina is the best and we love her to bits! Thank you Katerina for the best holiday we ever had on the most beautiful island in the whole world and in the best villa in Santorini!
Brian Lee and friends

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brianlhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

I had such a lovely time staying at Katerina's Villas-it was my second time staying there. I was there with my cousin the previous summer and when we got there, Katerina had stocked our refrigerator with all sorts of goodies for breakfast as well as fruit and a lovely bottle of wine. The apt was spacious and had 3 bedrooms-all air conditioned which we did need at times. The view to the Caldera from the balcony is breath taking and we would have mezethes(appetizers) and wine every day watching the beautiful boats.
below. Katerina knows all the best places to visit, to eat, to shop!! Ask her to tell you about Sunset Grill restaurant-not to be missed!

Room Tip: We stayed in the 3 bedroom cave apt and we were 4 people-very roomy with a large livingroom/eating a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tarkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

We arrived in Oia, after a long trip from the US, as the first stop of our 10 day Greece trip. We couldn't have asked for a better start to our trip, our driver met us at the airport, carried our bags to Infestio, and charming Katerina met us at our room, bottle of wine and snacks set out on the balcony.

The Villa (Paride) was spacious, beautiful with outstanding views from every room. We loved having the kitchenette (stocked with breakfast goodies from Katerina), as it allowed us to make a big breakfast each morning, which we ate out on our balcony, accompanied by the friendly cats of the neighborhood.

The bed was very comfortable, and authentic to the cave house (everything is "built in" rather than bringing furniture into the space)....The bathroom was very modern, and the entire villa was nicely maintained and extremely clean.

Katerina is an amazing host, providing us with an in depth historical and architectural overview of the island on our arrival night. She then helped us plan out our entire trip, including making suggestions of restaurants and sites each day-- we took her suggestions to heart and were thrilled that we did-- each meal was delicious, and very authentic. We felt that we were able to avoid the overly "touristy" parts of the island, and instead focus on restaurants the locals went to. Additionally, she helped us rent a car on our second to last day, which allowed us to drive ourselves to the airport and save $$ on a cab.

I would HIGHLY recommend Katerina and Infestio to anyone looking for a quiet, romantic trip to Oia.

We can't wait to go back to Oia, and wouldn't want to stay anywhere but Infestio!!

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank E-ETravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

We lucked out when we found Katerina and Ifestio. She made us feel like we were part of her family. She guided us to the best restaurants,car rentals, sites to visit, and shopping. We have traveled all around the world, and I can't think of anyone who has been warmer and more accommodating. The villa was lovely, the view amazing, and the refrigerator stocked with a wonderful breakfast (and an introduction to our first Greek iced coffee) as well as a bottle of wine and snacks. Our only regret was that we could only stay three nights. We will be back again to stay with her!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda7218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

Me and my girlfriend went for a trip to Greece, and decided to spend a whole week in an island. We firstly chose Santorini, you may ask why ?

Santorini vs Mykonos -

Santorini is good for couples, relaxing cafes, various shops, breathtaking beautiful views day and night, no criminals and safe ... What else you need ??

Mykonos is good for parties, drinking, single youths etc.. Many greeks didnt suggest to me to go there as a couple or family, as there isnt any places to see.. Many bars are gay bars, nude beaches, drunk people, in my opinion, NOT MY KIND.... Find it disgusting but anyway... Everyone has different thoughts...

So after considering Santorini, I read that OIA is there nicest village there, and they were right. Oia is good for views, churches, cave houses, pedestrian streets, so NO CARS to trouble you inside the village, just Cute Donkey with Bells ! :) and at night its a MAGICAL PLACE to relax. Supermarkets, shops, anything you want you can find in OIA !!!

Fira was very commercial with cruiseliners tourists (they just windowshop, and stay everywhere not letting you take a decent PHOTO !!), but surely I wouldnt stay there due to the loud noise and chaos they create, unless you need to travel to the main beaches like KAMARI, PERISSA, PERIVOLOS. The main bus station is at FIRA, and to travel to a beach you have to take just 1 bus directly to where you want to go. From OIA you need to first take a bus to FIRA, then another to where you want to go. Unless you rent a car, which I didnt, as I read roads are narrow, and at night, believe me.. its not nice to pass in a dark road with no lights on top of the cliffs between OIA and FIRA.

Go safe, take a bus from OIA to FIRA - From Bus Station at OIA just Euro 1.60 per person. Euro 3.20 for my case as were a couple.

** WARNING - For the bus wait near a shop with postcards, as the bus makes a uturn in the station and aint care of whom was first and last. Once we were first waiting for the bus and all other people skipped our line, and we had to stay standing. The tickets are bought on the bus and for the CONDUCTOR to pass when the bus is driving, and sell you the ticket it a TOTAL CHAOS !!!!! So stay near the postcards infront of the taxi stand, and be ready to rush you way to find a seated place. :) It was fun until we found the TRICK :P Hehehehe !

Rent a taxi for 2 person - Just Euro 15 from FIRA to OIA at night. (You can drink and dont worry about driving back)

Now..... IFESTIO....

Katerina, makes you feel like she knows you for a thousand years, shes not only kind and caring, but very smart and helpful. Shes like a Mother.

We stayed in Villa Paride, the clean rooms, airconditioning, space in the kitchen, beds, food in the fridge, and the MOST wonderful vies of Sanotirini from the Balcony. We stay thewre at night, which an insence stick, wines, candlelight, some Kalamata Olives and Greek Platter items I cooked.. What else you need ???

Katerina was more than helpful, she even has her handyman to carry your baggages right to her villas. It was like we were VIPS !


Its a feeling we had been living there, with your own cavehouse villa key ! SO UNFORGETTABLE !! I wish I live there !!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Its so PEACEFUL and BEAUTIFUL !!!

You have to experience it to believe me...

Thanks for everything Katerina !!! You made our dream (Charlene's Mostly) come true.

Lots of Love,

Darryl and Charlene (MALTA)

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LilGhettoMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.1 km away
Oia's Sunset Apartments
0.2 km away
Alta Mare by Andronis
0.2 km away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia
0.3 km away
VIP Suites
VIP Suites
#47 of 58 in Oia
272 reviews
0.4 km away
Esperas
Esperas
#1 of 34 in Oia
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ifestio Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ifestio Villas

Address: Oia 847 02, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Oia
Price Range: C$280 - C$770 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ifestio Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ifestio villas are situated on the caldera's cliffs, with a breath taking view. Villa Paride 2-4 persons ( The honey-moon villa) Villa Hercules -the original cave villa- 2-6 persons, with private pool from 2018, , and Villa Agis -the biggest villa- 2-8 persons (absolute privacy)with a private pool. Here you can live your dreams! We offer everything you need to have a memorable stay ! Even free laundry ! complimentary champagne, local wine and greek sweets, free breakfast, all suggestions to do and visit the best of Santorini !! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Ifestio Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ifestio Villas Oia, Santorini, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing