We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Quite overpriced for the quality of accomodation” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Sunset Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Golden Sunset Villas
Ranked #28 of 54 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quite overpriced for the quality of accomodation”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2010

The magnificent view is the hotel's only real asset and the owners exploit it to the full. We spent 4 nights in the hotel in July 2010 - it was our third trip to this island. We were quite disappointed to find our "cave" room damp, cheaply furnished and cold at night. Rotten smell was present throughout our stay. Our kids' beds did not have any blankets at all, and thin sheets were laid straight onto the slippery mattresses. The was an extra blanket on the shelf but it looked too dirty to use. The Spartan and dated decor of the room reminded us of a youth hostel, not a resort hotel that charges over 200 euros a night. The bathoom was in need for redecoration and so tiny that taking a shower was not only an unpleasant experience but also a technically challenging one, especially as the shower head could not even be fixed onto the wall and water kept spilling all over the place. The washing basin was smaller than a shoe box, hence brushing teeth or rinsing a swimming suit required some skills in order to avoid a mess. Breakfast was basic and unappetising - one kind of bread rolls, one type of cereal, cheap sandwich sliced cheese, hard boiled eggs.... greek yogurt saved us every morning! Others already mentioned that the hotel does not have a pool. However, at the reception they will happily give you an old washed towel of undetectable colour to use at the pool near by, if you ask for one. In conclusion, unless you are an unpretentious traveller, this place is not great value for money, even for an expensive island like Santorini.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Svet123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    39
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
53
119
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2010

If staying in windmill, there is complimentary car hire with a different car company. It was fabulous to be picked up at airport with car. We used our gps to find Oia and got lost getting to carpark. Park is all around the side of the island. Once you reach palm frond umbrellas you know you've reached the carpark. If you go and check in, staff will come and help with baggage. Stairs are quite steep inside windmill but vast mini bar is included, full kitchen facilities, 2 bedrooms spread over two separate levels, many views to choose from, private courtyards, powerpoint plugs on each level near each bed, bathroom has walk in shower, room on 2nd floor is airconditioned but it filters up to the upper level if you leave the hatch open leading to top floor. Staff friendly and kind, market close by on the way to the sunset lookout that other people go to. Views from the windmill are awesome from each window and I took many photographs. You can also sit or lie down quite comfortably in your private courtyard to view the sunsets. Stunning. Worth the money. We stopped at a market on the way to Oia and bought bread, tomatoes, cheese and proscuitto and it fed us for 2 lunches. Breakfast is included and is continental. Kitchen space is tiny so we spent our time in the rooms or in the courtyard.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ausblade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
58 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2010

My wife and I stayed with Kyriakos at Golden Sunset Villas for 6 nights in early May, and throughly enjoyed ourselves. We were given room 6, which is described as an "apartment" but which is really a very large studio with a kitchen nook and separate areas for living and sleeping. The room was pleasant and comfortable and there was a small outdoor area adjacent with a table, chairs and umbrella from which the amazing views of the caldera and sunsets were available. The location is good - right at the northern extremity of the island, but within a few minutes delightful walk aolong the pathways to the "touristy" areas in which the restaurants and shops are located. It was quiet and just beyond the parts of Oia most frequented by the visitors brought ashore from the cruise liners which moor off Fira.
Kyriakos was always happy to assist with anything we needed, and the free wi-fi availability in the hotel enabled us to stay in touch. I agree with a previous reviewer that the breakfast was repetitive and could have been more imaginative, but it was more than adequate.
Oia is a little out of the way, but is accessible to and from Fira by public bus, although services are not terribly frequent and sometimes overcrowded. Car-hire is available in Oia, and is recommended if you want to explore the island, visit Ancient Thera, etc.
Prices for accommodation are high in Santorini - more so than in other Cycladean islands, and GSV is no exception, but the experience of staying in a beautiful location perched high above the blue Aegean makes the cost a secondary consideration - and in any event, GSV's rates are quite reasonable when compared with its competitors.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ayling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yellowstone, Montana
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2010

We stayed at the Golden Sunset Villas in a 2 BR Apartment for 2 nights in mid-May. From our first impression through our departure, everything was perfect!
We used Santorini Transfers & Tours to bring us to Oia from the ferry dock (highly recommended) and they called ahead to GSV to let them know we were approaching. Two young men were waiting for us at the drop-off spot (you can't drive directly to the hotel, so there was a short walk to the hotel reception) to carry our luggage. We received a very warm reception and were quickly shown to our apartment with more help with our luggage. We were traveling with friends who stayed in a studio, so we were able to see their room, as well.
The accommodations were spacious and beautiful in a rustic way. Our apartment contained a small kitchenette which included a portable stove-top, small sink and small refrigerator to keep our things cold, as needed. The beds were what we call "full size" in America, which is smaller than we prefer, but they are positioned on a permanent built-in foundation, so this is the standard here. The mattresses were also quite firm but this seems to be the norm in Greece. Otherwise, everything was most comfortable and spacious. Our apartment also included a small patio in front which was shaded by the windmill suite patio above us.
We had the most amazing view and the sunset view from the property is not to be missed! We felt privileged to be viewing the sunset from our own private space while we could see hoards of other tourists crowded around outside the privacy gates jockeying for position for their views.
Breakfast was basic but very good. Our friend was most impressed by the personal service offered to prepare her coffee to her liking each morning.
While I would stay here again just for the amazing views and beauty of the property, we were blown away by the hospitality of the owner and staff at Golden Sunset. They seemed most eager to ensure our comfort and happiness during our stay. We had a couple of situations arise during our stay that we would not have been able to handle without the local knowledge and concern of the owner at GSV, who went out of his way to assist with, including meeting us at 5:30 a.m. to meet us for our departure and speak with the driver of Santorini Transfers and Tours to discuss (in Greek) the status of air travel on a day that strikes were scheduled.
Can't recommend them highly enough!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adventuritis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2010

My husband and I recently spent 10 nights at the Golden Sunset Villas. We were probably there a bit longer than the average guest. Overall we had a great time and there are lots of positives about the hotel which have been mentioned by other reviewers.

We stayed in room 1 and it was a great room with a nice large balcony area. After reading about all the uncomfortable beds in Greece, we were very happy that our bed was very comfortable and we slept quite well the whole time we were there. The views from everywhere in the hotel are amazing, especially at sunset. The people in the hotel were always very nice. The location of the hotel is in a nice quiet location, but only a few minutes walk from Oia with all the shops and restaurants. The small kitchen in the room is handy. It's not a full kitchen but we made pasta one night and we were able to keep cheese and cold meats in the fridge.

The doorways are all different heights but mostly short. I was fine because I'm only 5'2", but my husband (5'10") ended up with quite a few lumps from hitting his head on the doorway to the kitchen.

Breakfast was not bad, just exactly the same every day so it got boring after 10 days. It was fine for me, although I would have preferred more fresh fruit rather than fruit salad from a tin. We did end up going out to breakfast 2 of the days because my husband was bored and wanted a hot breakfast.

They did our laundry at the hotel for 10 euros per load, which was pretty good value compared to hotels that charge by the piece.

There were a couple of negative points to Golden Sunset. First of all, one reason I picked this hotel was that it had a swimming pool. Unfortunately, it doesn't mention on the website, but the pool does not open until mid-May. Many other pools in Oia were open in late April when we were there because we could see people sunbathing by them.

Secondly, the bathroom in the our room was terrible. The toilet seat did not stay up on its own, making it very awkward to use the toilet for both my husband and myself. The sink was funny and if you bend over while brushing your teeth or washing your face, you run the risk of hitting your head on the glass shelf above, as it is in a bad position. The shower is small and you need to hold the shower head in your hand to use it as it's not at the right angle when attached to the wall. My husband didn't mind that, but I like to be hands free in the shower with a constant stream of water keeping me warm. Toiletries - shampoo, shower gel, body lotion, soap - were provided, but not replenished in the 10 nights we were there. I imagine if we'd asked for more they would have given it to us, but it's nicer to automatically get more when you run out. Towels were replaced daily, and they were nice and big, but rather stiff and scratchy. My last pet peeve about the bathroom was that the toilet paper was only replaced when we were almost out. I always felt like I needed to be careful how much I used because we might run out. Again, I'm sure we could have asked for more, but it's nice when these things are automatic. The good part of the bathroom was that it had a window so you could shower with a view (and hope no one walked by).

Overall it wasn't the nicest hotel I've stayed at but I think it was good in terms of value for money compared to a lot of the other hotels in Oia. I would have liked a nicer bathroom but I didn't want to pay an extra 100 euros a night for it! Santorini is not the cheapest place to visit and Golden Sunset Villas is a good choice to get amazing views and good service for a good price.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AGWEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2010

We started our 8 days Santorini/ Athens trip by staying at Golden Sunset Villas and I am very happy that I made the most right choice as it has the most wonderful location to see the sunset what's more under the signature windmill.. Room is ok, best is the balcony with unblocked view of the caldera and sunset... Privacy is also another plus point as you won't have some other visitors walk pass your room.. Breakfast is normal but no complaints.. Overall we loves our stay there and thanks Spiridoula for her hospitality...

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lininn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
64 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2009

Stayed in the tfor studio nights. We booked only 1 day before and was informed that for the last day, we have to shift to room next door. At first, we were not very please about have to pack and shift room. But we decide to check out the room first since at the time, we were already staying at Fira and driving to Oia was not a problem.

We checked out the room and realised that they will be putting us in a studio for 2 nights and the "Windmill" for the last night. The two rooms are only next door to each other and realised that the windmill is a more expensive room. So why not?

The owner is very friendly and helpful. He got someone to help us with our bags and also make arrangements for us to rent a car (30 euro for 24hours with basic insurance). And throughout our stay, he is always very approachable. When we went in late to the reception area to use the internet, he always told us there was no rush, we can use the internet as long as we like.

I have to define the term "private balcony" here. Private here means you have your own personal space outside room that one others can transpass. But if you are sitting at your balcony, you can actually see all your other neighbours and they can see you too, esp most hotels on Santorini are built on a cliff. So it is not that private afterall.. And i know some other hotels in Santorini have shared balconies..meaning a few rooms share one large balcony. I wouldnt like that.

The balcony in golden villa is your own, but you can see your neighbours u and others above you and they can see you too..

The windmill room is actually more for family with children or two couples. There are two double beds. One of the double bed is on the second level with bathroom. The room at the third level is smaller but with a double bed too. The first level is the kitchen. Me and hubby actually prefer the studio room. Cos we find it tiring to climb up and down the steep stairs in the windmill. But it is a unique experience to live in a windmill. The balcony at the windmill also provide direct sunset view. It is amazing.

Golden sunset is located at the edge of Oia.Very direct sunset view. Location to resturant and shops are only 5-10mins walk.

There is suppose to have free wireless internet. But we have problem accessing the wireless network with our laptop. And as we were told by the owner, out of 5guest, around 3 will experience the problem. So we used the desktop at the reception.

Contiental Bfast is simple but sufficient.

And the swimming pool is currently under renovations. So we didnt get to enjoy it. Felt slightly disappointed. But we went to the beach to swim instead. I would recommend Kamari Beach. The beach is clean, wiith many pretty stones and water is beautiful. Also there are beachfront shops and resturants. Perrisa beach is more quiet beach with clean water too. DOnt go Monolitho beach! Dirty and small beach..

I would strongly recommend staying at Golden sunset.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charmainee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.6 km away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
1.2 km away
Strogili Traditional Houses
0.4 km away
Oia's Sunset Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Caldera Villas
Caldera Villas
#40 of 54 in Oia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.1 km away
VIP Suites
VIP Suites
#42 of 54 in Oia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.2 km away
Residence Suites
Residence Suites
#37 of 54 in Oia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sunset Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sunset Villas

Property: Golden Sunset Villas
Address: Karavokyridon | Oia, Oia 847 02, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Oia
#19 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Sunset Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your holidays at Golden Sunset Villas in one of the most picturesque Santorini hotels in Oia overlooking the marvellous Caldera and the sunset! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Golden Sunset Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sunset Villas Hotel Oia
Golden Sunset Hotel
Golden Sunset Villas Oia, Santorini, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing