We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Island * Fantastic View * Fantastic...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Rose's Cave

View from the courtyard.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from the courtyard.
View from the house's door. The courtyard.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
View from the courtyard.
View from the house's door.
The courtyard.
The main living room and kitchen.
Living room couches.
The king size bed.
View from the bedroom out.
An artistic take of the bedroom.
The famous twin church domes above the terrace.
The courtyard from above.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cave house -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Oia, Santorini, Cyclades, South Aegean

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Timo W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Island * Fantastic View * Fantastic Host * Fantastic Apartment”
Reviewed November 3, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
6
people found this review helpful

If you are planning to stay in Oia, we highly recommend to stay at Rose's Cave. This traditional cave is located in the center of Oia, but due to the fact that you need to take a few steps (...really, just a few!) to get to the main street, the apartment is completely silent - a fact that makes it quite special!

The apartment was very clean and everything worked fine; it looked exactly the same like it was presented in the ad. The bathroom was small, but also very clean; it definitely serves the purpose!

Rose was the best host we've ever had on our journeys - you can't find a better one! We really enjoyed having lively conversations with him while having a nice breakfast on the terrace. Rose was very helpful with all our activities (boat trip, rental car, restaurants & wine tasting places etc.) and gave us some really good recommendations. He also organised someone to help us with our luggage on our arrival and on our departure.

And last but not least: The view from the (lovely painted) terrace is simply stunning and the whole scenery is astoundingly beautiful (you can find some pictures below). It is also possible to sit outside the whole day, because there is an awning and a sun shade - and there are almost no other tourists crossing your place!

Don't expect a posh and luxury place (there are other "luxury" places in Oia where you can pay hundreds of EUR)! But if you are looking for an authentic, nice and clean place on a fantastic island with a fantastic host and a fantastic view, Rose's Cave is your place to be!

Thank you, Rose! We really enjoyed your hospitality and our time at your place!

Best regards from Munich,
Anja & Timo

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was really fine, but the view and Rose's hospitality were exceptional!
Liked least: Everything was really fine, there were no lowlights!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wbmb
Portland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Santorini Hidden Gem”
Reviewed October 1, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Rose's Cave is a wonderful place to stay for couples and travelers looking to find the last of 'hidden' Santorini, in the heart of Oia! Rose is an amazing host, whose hospitality is one of the best parts of staying at the cave. The location and view cannot be beat. You are in the heart of Oia, but staying on the cliff is such a peaceful and beautiful experience. We slept so well in the cave house bedroom, took advantage of its kitchen amenities, and spent every morning breakfasting on the beautiful patio. Our time in Oia was greatly enhanced by Rose's recommendations and help in finding the best restaurants or activities. This was a memorable experience and lovely place to stay.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kdewaard
Heiloo, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best place to stay in Oia”
Reviewed September 24, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
5
people found this review helpful

When we arrived, we couldn't stop looking at the view. It’s stunning. The cave is nice, it’s cool which is nice because it can be hot outside. The terrace has sunny colors and there is a mix of sun and shadow, so you can sit wherever you want.

The center of Oia is a busy place but roses cave is at the end of the stairs so there are no people walking in front of the cave which gives you a lot of privacy and you can enjoy the peaceful view.

Rose is a great host and gave a good service. He helped us with our lost suitcase and gave great advice about Santorini beaches, restaurants and things to do!

Thanks! Tessa and Kasper

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Attirb_04
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect place to enjoy Oia”
Reviewed September 21, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Rose's traditionally cave house is the perfect starting point to enjoy Oias famous sundown. Despite the house is very close to the restaurants, shops and supermarkets you can enjoy the sea view on a totally calm and nicely furnitured terrasse. We enjoyed as well the esthetic interior very much. Additionally to that the owner is a very very friendly host and helps with tips and recommendations.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nsja
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best kept secret of Oia!”
Reviewed September 10, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
5
people found this review helpful

We have had a great time spending our honeymoon in the cavehouse. The view is stunning..the house is nicely decorated with the most beautiful colours. Rose managed to keep it authentic and still everything you need is there. Rose was willing to help us with advice of activities and restaurants. I think we tried all restaurants he recommended and this was very tastful (and we are picky when it comes to food ;)). It's not only the house, it's the service, the location and the view, which makes this a real reccomendation.. You will enjoy!! Erik & Natasja

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valerie b
2 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing