We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Bess W
New York, New York, United States

Amazing stay at a lovely little hotel

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Sep 20, 2021
Staying at the Costa Marina Villas was like a dream. Lila is amazing. Before arriving, she answered every email quickly and with grace. Upon arrival, she was so incredibly helpful and recommended the best places to go (I would say....and did say to other guests when I was there...that Lila is not going to lead you astray and listen to her advice. Every place she suggested that I was able to go to was fantastic). The property is within easy walking distance of all Fira attractions, but is also so quiet and peaceful that you almost forget about the crowds only a couple blocks away. The hotel was clean, the garden beautiful, and they take COVID safety seriously. I highly recommend staying here.
Date of stay: September 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
C$337
  • Expedia.com
    C$422
  • Vio.com
    C$304
  • Hotels.com
    C$422
0.4 km from Costa Marina Villa
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$375
C$309
  • Expedia.com
    C$308
  • Hotels.com
    C$308
  • Tripadvisor
    C$308
0.4 km from Costa Marina Villa
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$334
  • Expedia.com
    C$355
  • Agoda.com
    C$258
  • Hotels.com
    C$320
2.7 km from Costa Marina Villa
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$405
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    C$333
  • Hotels.com
    C$477
0.5 km from Costa Marina Villa
Free Wifi
Pool
C$380
  • Expedia.com
    C$379
  • Agoda.com
    C$318
  • Hotels.com
    C$379
3.0 km from Costa Marina Villa
Free Wifi
Free parking
pool
C$307
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$305
  • Agoda.com
    C$300
  • Hotels.com
    C$306
0.5 km from Costa Marina Villa
Free Wifi
Pool
C$190
C$178
  • Expedia.com
    C$190
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    C$190
3.1 km from Costa Marina Villa
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$662
  • Hotels.com
    C$882
  • Lol.travel
    C$580
  • Expedia.com
    C$882
0.5 km from Costa Marina Villa
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Fira
Reviews (700)
Filter reviews
700 results
Traveller rating
616
73
10
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
616
73
10
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the bus minute walk town square wonderful stay places to visit quiet area four nights the main square lila santorini island balcony sunrise greek honey kettle
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 700 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2021

This place is special.

We arrived about 6 hours later than we had planned due to a high-wind ferry service disruption. Marina, who had been monitoring the ferry situation, was there to check us in and spent a good 20 minutes telling us about Fira and the rest of Santorini while marking up an island map that would get us around to everything we wanted to see over our three day stay. The wonderfully landscaped property was built by her father in the 1930's as a residential home and expanded into a 20-room hotel in the early 2000's.

Our room was a large, magnificent modern cave design with the feel of a Greco-European villa. It featured a Greek version of saltillo tile floors, whitewashed walls and a 20 foot high curved vaulted ceiling. There was a brass-framed master bed down and two single beds in the second story loft. The front picture window opened to a fantastic view of the ocean which lined up perfectly with the sunrise at this time of year (September). Gorgeous wood-shuttered, glass-paneled french doors opened to a landscaped, private side balcony with three chairs, a table and soft undermount night lighting. The large greystone bathroom featured an 8 foot deep shower with a bench at the far end. There was also a good sized fridge built into the wall, plentiful storage space, a wooden rocking chair and a beautiful carved wood staircase up to the loft.

We enjoyed this room so much that we had all of our dinners and breakfasts on the balcony. We found a great take away Greek grill a couple minutes walk away that had fantastic Greek skewers and dishes, picked up a bottle of Greek wine each night, put leftovers in the fridge and had them for breakfast each morning.

The location was perfect. In one direction, the bus station was a 6 minute walk and provided easy, frequent, reliable and cheap access to all ends of the island on modern, comfortable air-conditioned coaches. A five minute walk up the hill provided access to all those wonderful Santorini crater views, restaurants, tavernas and nightlife as well as the exceptional rim walk from Fira through Firostefani, Skaros Rock and Imerovigli (and all the way to Oia if you are so inclined). There was even a fantastic laundry shop just down the street, which, as backpackers, came in handy. And, despite the central Fira location, the only real "noise" we noticed was the kooing of doves every morning. Sublimely peaceful.

I can't overstate the value in staying at Costa Marina. Our room rate was exactly the same here as it was for our little airport motel the night before our flight out of Houston to Greece...all for a September stay in a room we will remember forever on Santorini...incredible! While researching Greece, I literally looked at a 100 or more hotels and airbnb's on Santorini and nothing else even came close to the value and convenience of location offered here. Costa Marina looked like a great value on paper before the trip - the reality of our actual experience far, far exceeded those expectations.

Many, many thanks to Marina and everyone at Costa Marina for a once-in-a-lifetime experience!

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank TravelPixProDOTcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 15, 2021

Having travelled to Athens and Thessaloniki, Santorini came next mostly as a convenience stopover rather than a glamorous destination. Yet, choosing to stay at Costa Marina was a great idea! From the moment the reservation was confirmed, the staff did a great job communicating all the details. We found the room impeccably clean and while it was not one of the famous cave rooms, it was designed to look like one and came at a fraction of the price.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smvNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 10, 2021

Everything was perfect at our stay at Costa Marina! The location the property were really good- close to all spots in Fira and also the bus station. However the best was meeting the lovely Lila (and her colleagues as well) who were so so nice and helpful and went beyond to help us during our visit to Santorini. Santorini can get very touristy, especially in July and Aug, but thanks to the wonderful tips and recommendations from Lila we were able to enjoy the best locations and spots in Santorini. Would highly recommend the property on your stay at Santorini and definitely do not miss out on a chat with Lila to get the best tips!! Would love to come back!!

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank adhisma
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 1, 2021

Highly recommend this place. The villa location is so close to all the action, but it is still quiet and peaceful. All the staff is so helpful, specially Lela. Lela was ready to help with whatever we needed like arranging taxi, etc. We arrived way before check-in time, and Lela tried her best to get us in the room as soon as possible. Thanks Lela, I wish I had a wife like you (just kidding, lol)

The hotel is not expensive at all for the service and comfort this place offers. I would only stay here if I am lucky to visit beautiful Santorini again

-Manoj

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank timdascl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 26, 2021 via mobile

I would highly recommend Costa Marina Villa! We were a group of 4 mid-20s girls from the US and stayed in the room with a queen bed and loft with two twin beds. Everything was very comfortable and clean. The location is great and is near lots of restaurants & shops in Fira. The highlight for us was the concierge/receptionist Lela whose personality was so welcoming and fun! She made sure we were taken care of and helped us make decisions on what to do and where to go in Santorini.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Katherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews