We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic view and location in Greek 'cave' style.”
Review of Porto Fira Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Porto Fira Suites
Ranked #8 of 80 Hotels in Fira
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic view and location in Greek 'cave' style.”
Reviewed 17 January 2012

I stayed in Porto Fira suites for 3 nights during December. We had a deluxe suite sleeping up to 4 people. It was very roomy and very individually styled, keeping with the white and greens of the cave look. It was cold during the winter - especially as the floor was concrete and had no carpeting, but the slippers supplied and few rugs scattered around the suite was substantial enough to keep warm - in addition to the 3 heaters. So the cold was not a problem.

Alex, who was the head of staff at the suites, was very informative and helpful. He even gave his contact number to all guests in case they ever got lost, or had a problem. He was very friendly, recommended restaurants and definitely helped top off our stay.

The view from the suites is amazing. One thing to note is the number of stairs. Obviously if you have been researching Santorini, you would by now figure that the majority of the island is stairs. I have seen many people complain about the stairs, but it's just an aspect that you have to get used to and accept. It was good daily exercise but you must know that you will be doing hundreds of stairs daily. Our suite was at the bottom, so to get to the breakfast room at the top, you were doing about 100 stairs. So if you don't like stairs, than you may want to rethink your choices.

The suites arranged transfers from the airport, so someone was waiting to pick us up then show us how to get from the road to the suites - as it is quite maze like with little alley ways. Someone will even carry your bags down and back up, as doing it yourself down hundreds of stairs would be a nightmare. This guy received a good tip as he thoroughly deserved it.

The only negative that I can think of is that the beds were slightly hard to sleep on. This is due to the fact that with the styling of the caves, the mattresses are placed on rock, not bed frames. So I think this is the reason why they felt a bit firmer. Don't worry, they weren't uncomfortable, I still slept fine, but it was firmer than expected. We suggested to Alex that perhaps adding a pillow top over the mattress may help. He seemed happy to take on that suggestion. I highly recommend Porto Fira to anyone who is looking to stay at Santorini (except perhaps the eldery and people with small children/prams, due to the number of steps). It is worth every cent.

Room Tip: If you don't like the number of stairs perhaps ask for one nearer the top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldTraveller255103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    72
    16
    3
    5
See reviews for
74
254
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 December 2011

We stayed the weekend before Christmas and it was peaceful and quiet. We managed to go to Santorini without our son (11 months old!) and it was like a honeymoon!

The place is great with minimal decoration so you can focus on the great view of the volcano. Alex (head of staff) was very helpful (especially with the hundrends of steps) and make us feel like home!

We can't wait for our next visit!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D_Tas1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2011

While you can find many rooms with great views of the caldera + sunset... The hospitality at Porto Fira was unbeatable though.

Alex who was overseeing our needs there was impeccably polite.

Not only was he great company, the bonus was that he was a great cook! The best meal by far on our one month trip!

Kudos to Alex and Porto Fira staff for making our stay a memorable one!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrL30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Belvoir, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Exellent View. Charming Hotel. Helpful Staff. Will Revisit

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Belvoir, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

I really enjoyed my stay here. It is a small charming hotel. The staff was very kind and helpful. They have several more modern snazzier hotels in the area and I am very glad I stayed here instead. It has all the amenities and services but maintains the charm of Greece and Santorini. Highly recommended. I hope to go back someday!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We stayed at the Porto Fira suites for our anniversary. It was the perfect hideaway from the Greece riots. Beautiful rooms with individual private balconies to enjoy the most glorious sunset.
Conveniently located in the centre of Fira, we were walking distant from restaurants, boutiques and the central bus station.
The staff was most friendly. They went beyond their duty in giving us a lift to the airport when the taxi drivers went on strike.
We had such a fabulous time and would definitely recommend this to anyone traveling to Santorini.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wei z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2011

I loved the Porto Fira. The location is beyond perfect - right on the side of the cliff in Fira. The view from your balcony can't be beat. And it's in walking distance to everything you want to do or see in Fira for the most part. The staff is also super helpful and polite. And the pool is a HUGE bonus. Overall, just a perfect place to go for a relaxing stay in one of the most beautiful places.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riles333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fira hotels
2.8 km away
Petit Palace Suites Hotel
0.0 km away
Villa Renos
Villa Renos
#4 of 80 in Fira
805 reviews
0.6 km away
Anteliz Suites Santorini
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Aressana Spa Hotel and Suites
0.6 km away
Astro Palace Hotel and Suites
0.7 km away
Evgenia Villas & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Fira Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Fira Suites

Property: Porto Fira Suites
Address: Caldera Cliffs, Fira, Fira 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Fira
#13 Family Hotel in Fira
#26 Romantic Hotel in Fira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Fira Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a privileged location, on Fira's Caldera cliffs, with magnificent views of the volcano, the deep blue of the sea and the most famous sunset from your private balcony. A stylish property newly renovated consisting of 13 suites with a Cycladic style using local materials, stone-built suites with organic forms and smooth curves blended nicely with whitewashed walls combines simplicity with luxury. This combination plus the unique décor make the atmosphere really relaxing. From our Superior Deluxe Suite's Jacuzzi to the private balcony of our Petite Suite cave room, combine the simplicity with the luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Porto Fira Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Fira Hotel Fira
Porto Hotel Fira
Porto Fira Suites Santorini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing