We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
ClashBrisbane
Brisbane, Australia

Felt guilty as it was 13 years ago

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Aug 26, 2023
Hotel's Favourite
I've always felt guilty because I never left a review for Porto Fira Suites.

I know it's a long time ago and the owners then probably stll aren't there although they were youngsters!

We were there in May 2010 and it was a wonderful wee hotel.

It's a bit down from the main street if you need to carry your suitcases but we hadn't known that they're happy to carry your cases from the bus down to that fabulous view.

Our room had an absolutely wonderful view with a balcony and everything you needed. The bed was maybe a tad hard as it is lying on a volcanic floor so hopefully they've invested in some thicker mattresses. Wasn't really a problem; just a note.

We had booked for 4 nights and the hotel is just brilliant, ie in the middle of the restaurants, views, etc. with no smell of the donkeys.

On the second day we decided to book the yacht (the name of the company I honestly can't remember but they were brilliant).

After a wonderful time for 3 hours or so on the yacht and climbing up the volcano, we arrived back around 7.00 in the evening.

My knees are stuffed so I tend to charge off downwards. My wife tries to keep up but can't. Unfortunately she tried too hard this time, fell on the way down, and, after an horrific time (in the so-called hospital with the worst nurses I have ever come across) my wife managed to receive 17 stitches.

Major panics of course as there was no way we could stay in Fira. Back to the hotel and I told them we had to leave two days earlier.

They were absolutely terrific. Got a chap to take the bags up to the taxi and cancelled the last two days' payments.

We managed to get a flight to Athens to a proper hospital where my wife received tremendous attention.

Before that we had booked a Fira tour with a so-called travel agency. Must have a look and see if I can find them. Naturally we had to cancel that tour but they were absolutely disgusting and refused to even pay back a small amount.

Porto Fira Suites?

Wonderful.
Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
C$421
  • Expedia.com
    C$491
  • Agoda.com
    C$386
  • Hotels.com
    C$491
0.6 km from Porto Fira Suites
Free Wifi
Free parking
pool
C$242
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$241
  • Agoda.com
    C$219
  • Hotels.com
    C$241
0.2 km from Porto Fira Suites
Free Wifi
Pool
C$386
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$385
  • Agoda.com
    C$288
  • Hotels.com
    C$386
2.5 km from Porto Fira Suites
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$386
  • Expedia.com
    C$464
  • travelup.com
    C$346
  • Hotels.com
    C$517
0.1 km from Porto Fira Suites
Free Wifi
Pool
C$283
  • Expedia.com
    C$265
  • Hotels.com
    C$284
  • Tripadvisor
    C$265
0.6 km from Porto Fira Suites
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$414
  • Expedia.com
    C$434
  • Agoda.com
    C$302
  • Hotels.com
    C$435
2.8 km from Porto Fira Suites
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$447
  • Expedia.com
    C$448
  • travelup.com
    C$372
  • Hotels.com
    C$449
0.4 km from Porto Fira Suites
Free Wifi
Pool
C$262
  • Expedia.com
    C$262
  • Hotels.com
    C$262
  • Tripadvisor
    C$262
2.9 km from Porto Fira Suites
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$1,228
  • Expedia.com
    C$1,613
  • Destinia.com
    C$1,099
  • Hotels.com
    C$1,614
0.0 km from Porto Fira Suites
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Fira
Reviews (645)
Filter reviews
645 results
Traveller rating
512
95
22
6
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
512
95
22
6
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cliff each morning private balcony perfect view excellent breakfast watch the sunset few steps yogurt shops and restaurants luggage views santorini cruise dream
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 645 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2023

Stay for the view! We enjoyed our family suite at Porta Fira. The room was very large, modern and clean with comfortable beds, jaw dropping views and a fantastic rain shower. The king bed felt like memory foam and I slept very comfortably each night. My kids enjoyed their twin beds in the living room and slept well. It was nice to have a lot of space to spread out. The bathroom was laid out well with two sinks, two closets, robes, slippers, water closet and separate rain shower. Our balcony was semi private and we enjoyed breakfast with a view each morning. The pool was greatly appreciated after long days. Our family suite was close to 80 steps from the lobby so not for those with disabilities. The hotel did an amazing job getting our luggage up and down the stairs. No easy task. The air conditioning worked great and the room is very much soundproof. Fira can be lively at night and once we closed the windows we couldn’t hear the music. Breakfast was delivered on time and delicious. I would stay here again given the clean and modern accommodations, amazing sunset and caldera views and easy access to great dining!

Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank christy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Penelope Baltayian, General Manager at Porto Fira Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2023

Dear Christy,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at Porto Fira Santorini with the readers on TripAdvisor in such vivid detail!
Nothing brings us greater satisfaction than to know how you have enjoyed your stay with us.
We will continue to do our very best for the comfort and satisfaction of our guests.

It was our pleasure to have you as our guests and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,
Porto Fira Santorini Team


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 26, 2023

This small hotel has great rooms, spectacular views, excellent breakfast and wonderful location. However, the real highlight is the wonderful warm staff. They are so kind and helpful. I highly recommend.

Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank bendsley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Penelope Baltayian, General Manager at Porto Fira Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2023

Dear Bendsley,

Thank you for your lovely review!
We truly appreciate your warm feedback and that you enjoyed all that our hotel has to offer, from our location to our facilities and breakfast options.
We are also happy to read your comments about our team, a pleasant and carefree experience is our top priority.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Porto Fira Santorini Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 24, 2023 via mobile

My girlfriend and I came across this place while wandering around and stopped by for a drink. The bar has a gorgeous view to enjoy a drink and take in the sights. We had the pleasure of meeting Neri who was a fantastic bartender, making us some excellent drinks. Neri really helped to give us an amazing experience. Thank you!

Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 142ivany
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 24, 2023

My bf and I really enjoyed our time in porto fira bar.The view is breathtaking! and we had the best kamkuat aperol spritz in town.. great value! the best service! thanks Neri.. Definitely a must
see in fira!

Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Dre X
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 20, 2023

Beautiful hotel with amazing views. There are a lot of steps (200 exactly from the street to our room) but that’s anywhere you stay in Fira if you are on the water. We had breakfast delivered to our room daily and the location was perfect. Right across from the city center. The room itself was spacious, relaxing, had a hot tub with a view.

Room tip: March - it’s chilly - we had winter jackets on. Don’t carry large pieces of luggage - makes it difficult to haul up and down the stairs.
Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JasJ23
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Penelope Baltayian, General Manager at Porto Fira Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2023

Dear JasJ23,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post your valuable feedback.
We feel honored that you had a pleasant stay here with us at Porto Fira Santorini and we look forward to hosting you again.

Best Regards,
The Porto Fira Santorini Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews