We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,020)
Filter reviews
1,020 results
Traveller rating
974
38
7
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
974
38
7
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jacuzzi suite every morning our honeymoon the cliff sunset cruise complimentary bottle of wine hot tub steep stairs small kitchen the entire staff amazing views private patio watch the sunset old port spent nights reception area aegean sea
Filter
Updating list...
261 - 266 of 1,020 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2015 via mobile

We stayed at this fantastic place to soak in the epic views from Thira/Fira. And Enigma does deliver. The location can't be beat. The facilities are top notch. Most of all, the staff, unfortunately I didn't catch their names, however we the guy that brought the breakfast down 118 steps was very service minded. As were the girl waiting at the bar, and our cleaning lady. You can feel that the friendliness is genuine.

Very much appreciated the stay.
We'll come back.

Please note:
To stay on the edge of the caldera does have its natural challenges. Please be advised that from the entrance down to suite 8 are 118 steps... There is a lower exit though that will allow for a round about way up to the top

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Svante B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 20, 2015

This is a a very well run property, which should receive 5 stars for its property managers and staff. The hotel is located on a cliff in Fira with lovely views. We are a family and booked a suite to accommodate 4. These rooms are located at the bottom of a very steep staircase so patrons with mobility issues or bad knees should take note. Inside the unit the bedrooms are aloft of another equally steep and narrow wooden staircase. We had no difficulties. We arranged for an airport pickup which was on time and well executed. The hotel is a short ten minute drive away.
The hotel has a charming, rustic, 'cave like feel with cool floors and dark interior. It is not a luxury hotel, but clean and adequate for a short stay. Constructive (well meaning) feedback for the property would be as follows:
1-The AC unit in the upper bedroom had a broken panel and the unit itself was old and temperamental. Time for an update.
2- The living room is too dark and should have several more light sources as the lighting is insufficient to read in or enjoy. The bulb on the ceiling is not warm and the hue of the room in the evening becomes sad and even a bit spooky without additional table lamps downstairs. The candles are a nice touch but not sufficient.
3- The bathrooms had no Bar soap. There was a hand soap dispenser screwed into the wall but its too far away from the sink and no one wants to wash their face with hand soap, even if it is Molton Brown.
4- The hot water tank is too small. We looked at the unit under the sink and it is too small if four people take a shower and are getting ready. We ran out of hot water in the single shower every night.
5- The breakfast could include a wider variety of fruits and or pastries.
6- The salt shaker does not work as the salt inside has been inside for too long and has acquired too much moisture.
7- The armoire had a moldy smell by the bathroom.
8- The blanket on the beds is thin and flimsy, with a scratchy feeling.
9- Wifi poor, but true throughout the island.

We had a pleasant though not luxurious stay at the property, I would give it a 3 star rating, comprised of its view, location, and staff. We wish them continued success and know these issues can be readily addressed by their competent team.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Karis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 20, 2015

OMG, this hotel is awesome! The views were breathtaking, the service impeccable, the breakfasts on the balcony amazing. It's right in the heart of Thira, close to shops and restaurants.

Our family of 5 stayed in an Outdoor Jacuzzi Suite for three nights. The view upon arrival was so beautiful we had to pinch ourselves to ensure it was real. We bought some local super-fresh Gyros and brought them back to enjoy on the balcony with the complementary bottle of wine. The view continued uninterrupted in the jacuzzi. It was just dreamy.

The staff (Eddie, Elizabeth, Chrisoula) took wonderful care of us the whole time. Even offered us complementary cocktails in the restaurant on our last day. Surprise!

A quick note on value: Especially for a family of 5, the value of this hotel is considerable. In many places in Europe we had to get two rooms, and in this case we were quite comfortable in one. And the delicious and expansive included breakfast (delivered to your suite!) would be very expensive at any other place with a view. It doesn't feel like a hotel room either, because half of what you get is outside (patio, jacuzzi). Overall this was one of the best value hotels we experienced even though it is also very high end.

Oh yeah, it was also super quiet and great light blocking! Easy to sleep late if that's what you like.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 19, 2015

we had really nice and romantic stay at enigma,everything was perfect,outdoor jacuzzi suit was amazing with beautiful view,continental breakfast served in the terrace with the view of sea and caldera and its make our day perfect,the suit was nicely decorated,location was at the fira walking street and lively positive full of tourists,in front of a nice church,room service was firs rate,special thanks to chrisoula for best recommended place to visit,and elizabeth was kind and helpful,you guys are all perfect

Room Tip: outdoor jacuzzi suit was perfect suit number 3
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sarvenaz p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 18, 2015 via mobile

We stayed at a regular suite for a couple of nights and at a jacuzzi suite for another two nights - can't go wrong with either one as you get gorgeous views from both, but the jacuzzi is definitely worth it. The jacuzzi suite is more spacious but the deal breaker is the jacuzzi which makes the stay more romantic. Tried the food and drinks from their restaurant a couple of times and it was delicious. Chrissoula and Eli are very helpful and want to make sure you make the best out of your visit. The location is prime location as its close to the shops and restaurants in Fira, and right on the Caldera. The staff are very professional and attentive. Breakfast was delicious too.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SCCu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews