We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
31
5
2
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
31
5
2
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews airport pickup greek yogurt brigitte jacuzzi terrace cave island sunset caldera santorini
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 41 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2016

We stayed at the Blue Angel Villa as a group of seven friends in April 2016. A few friends have already posted reviews, so feel free to read those if you for more details on our stay. The bottom line was that we did not get what we expected, or what the villa had been talked up to be. We spent a good deal of our vacation time arguing for benefits that were assured to us that suddenly were "not included." Great to learn while you're on vacation, right?

The villa’s manager responded to my friend’s review, and was incorrect or misspoke in several instances, and took a strangely defensive stance to an honest review. While you want to make a good impression, she flat out was wrong.

First, we definitely paid an additional cost per night for breakfast, which she claims should have been complementary. We paid a difference of a little more than $25/night for the breakfast to be included, which made us think we were either ripped off by the company we booked through, Travel Keys, or that someone is quite mistaken with what the property is actually offering to guests. Again: this goes to the discrepancy in expectations of a guest from what their booking experience is to what they get when they arrive.

Second, and possibly one of the biggest issues we had with the villa, is that the villa is touted as having an outdoor Jacuzzi overlooking the caldera. This is actually a pool. If it had been explained as a pool and we hadn’t been weaving dreams of watching caldera sunsets from a piping hot Jacuzzi, we wouldn’t have taken any issue with this. But it’s specifically and explicitly promoted as a Jacuzzi, and this was an extreme disappointment. We were told they would only heat the "jacuzzi" for one day, as a concession to us. Really? So, if it's a pool fine - then it's a pool and the temp is what it is. But to say they will heat the spa, but only at their own discretion - conflicting stories again! And this specifically was said TO MY FACE by the lady doing the cleaning and opening the house for us - so I'm not mistaken!

None of us went into this experience with blinders on – we are experienced travelers, and realized we were on an island, with poor plumbing (made clear by not being able to put any toilet paper in the toilet – a fact we were all fine with) and limited resources. But if the villa had been presented as what it would actually be, none of us would have expected our experience to be different than it was, and this would be a five star review.

It's a nice place, but it's not luxury, and it's impossible to get what we had signed up for. I'd have paid less for the same quality place, elsewhere in the city. (See my profile pic for a pic at the rooftop of the villa - yes indeed, I went!)

Room tip: Read the fine print before booking
Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 18, 2016

When we had to drag our luggage down multiple steps with NO assistance whatsoever, I knew it was going to be terrible. I can't believe we paid over $650/night for this place. For $2,600 for four nights you would expect a place that came with some service and luxury accommodations. This place has neither. The place is in need of major renovations to modernize it. It would be cool if it offered greek character, but its just OLD. Each of the beds have velvet comforters and get this, the so called daily breakfast is just someone dropping off a bag of groceries for you to cook. Who wants to cook on their vacation?!?! Unacceptable. This place may work for someone that has a family that's just looking to be in a great location; however, if you're looking for a great villa for a girls weekend like we were, keep looking!

We are considering checking out tomorrow and finding other accommodations that actually makes us feel like we're on vacation and one that can revive our Santorini stint of our trip.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
10  Thank lalwilliams202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 13, 2016

We stayed here as a group of seven friends in April 2016. We were there celebrating a friend's birthday who had fallen in love with the villa at the sight of the photos... and it was quite like the photos had shown, but didn't quite live up to the promises made by the websites we looked at before we went.

Overall, our stay was ok. The beds were good, and we had the basic necessities. But it was disappointing to be so underwhelmed with what had been promised vs what was delivered. Especially because staying there had been our big "splurge" of the trip, and we paid about $3,100 for a 4 night stay, after discounts and off season pricing. This villa is absolutely lovely if you go into it not expecting it to be a five star luxury location, but a cozy, decent place to make your base while on Santorini.

The not awesome bits:
- There were no laundry facilities, as the websites had stated (it seems they've since been changed, so that's positive at least). Two friends had packed light, planning on utilizing the laundry at the villa, which of course would have put us in the unfortunate situation of spending precious vacation time at a laundromat. Fortunately, Bridget took it upon herself to help us, which was a godsend.
- The group we booked with (Travel Keys) assured my friend as she was booking that there were four double beds. We were a group of 7, and at the price we were paying, we didn't want someone to get the short end of the stick and have to sleep on the couch. In reality, there were three double beds, plus three "couch" beds that were really just twin mattresses. This would have been ok, if it had been what we were expecting, which is wasn't. (It seems like there may be another room off the rooftop that matches some of the photos on the Blue Angel site - this was not open to us.)
- The sites list the property as having two Jacuzzis, one on the roof patio and one in the master bedroom. The one in the master has hot water (making the master bedroom super humid all the time), but when you turn the bubbles on, it gets cold FAST. And the rooftop one? Not heated. Which was a huge bummer, because we had chilly weather while we were there, and had been daydreaming about sitting with a glass of wine in the hot tub while looking at the view at night. Again - if we had been told it was an indoor Jacuzzi and a rooftop pool, it wouldn't have been an issue. But we didn't get what was promised, and this was really disappointing. Bridget tried to heat it for us for our last day when we requested it, but it never got hot, even though she turned the heater on about 20 hours before we wanted to use it.
- The kitchen was TINY, which is fairly to be expected, but also difficult to use and the faucet on the sink had trouble being turned off.
- No laptop or exercise equipment. The websites we saw promised "Professional treadmill, abs equipment and weights." There was a tiny miniature stair stepper. When we sent an email upon checking in that there were no laptop, fax, printer, etc as expected, a laptop showed up randomly on our second to last day.
- Some of the ceilings had very low clearance. It's a cave house, but anyone over 5'6" will have to duck while going into the extra downstairs room, or up onto the loft.
- The group we booked with (Travel Keys) emailed the friend who had handled the reservation upon our check-in to see how everything was, then when she replied with our concerns about expectations not being met, they completely disappeared. She still hasn't heard back from them, and she emailed them on 4/24/16. Not the kind of service you expect from a group you've just spent over $3k with.

The OK:
- There were DVDs and movies, as promised, but they were mostly in Greek. Again, this wasn't all that surprising based on how our trip had been going.
- The breakfast. We paid extra for the breakfast, and expected something similar to what you get at a hotel continental breakfast. They delivered eggs, yogurt, honey, bread, cheese & cold cuts, and some cereal and milk. If it had been pitched as a do-it-yourself continental, this would have been fine, but again, as it was the theme of our stay, we were expecting something different.
- Santorini has a lot of hills and steps. This is what you get when a city is built into a cliff. But it was definitely challenging to lug our stuff down and up to the cars we had for drop off and pickups. If you're not prepared to carry your bag for about a 5 minute walk down/uphill, you should make other arrangements to get it to this villa!
- The stairs to the rooftop patio were a bit scary! Very steep - if you have mobility issues or small children, be very very careful. (Same went for the stairs to the loft.)

The good:
- The view was stunning.
- The bathrooms were lovely, (reminder: Santorini is an island, and at most places, the villa included, you can't throw toilet paper into the toilet, you use the bin on the side), and the showers and amenities were good.
- It was very clean, and Bridget was great about providing clean linens and towels.
- Bottled water was provided daily, which was good as we were told not to use the tap water, even to make tea.
- When we requested additional items we liked at breakfast (more salami instead of salami and ham, etc), they were easily accommodated.

The best: Bridget. She was absolutely amazing, and really went above and beyond as the property manager. She was incredibly helpful, and when we showed her the websites that listed everything that had been promised that the villa didn't *quite* deliver on, she did her best to personally make good on some of it. She was outstanding, and I cannot praise her enough.

Bottom line: Manage your expectations, and this place will be an amazing location for you. But if you're expecting "first class" or uber luxurious accommodations, you might be underwhelmed.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amksba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueAngelVilla, Reservation Manager at Blue Angel Villa, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2016

OUR FREE SERVICES & OUR SERVICES ON REQUEST ARE CLEARLY STATED IN OUR WEBSITE AND YOU PROBABLY WERE NOT INFORMED ABOUT THEM!
Dear Madame,
We are astonished by your review! I have already replied to the previous review made by another lady from your group, but I am going to explain to you as well.
This is the first time we have to reply to a comment, as this is the first time we have ever had a bad review in the 10 years that we are open, because we are ALWAYS clear about what we provide and all our clients are satisfied by our service and amenities. This booking was made by a friend of yours who never came after all. And the booking was made via a travel agency, not us directly. So surely there must have been a misunderstanding about what exactly we provide.
First of all, we have NEVER stated that there are 4 double bedrooms in the villa!!! You can search wherever you wish on the internet but you will nowhere see that we state we have 4 bedrooms!! It is clearly stated in all the websites that the villa has 3 bedrooms. And there is no other room that was not open to you. As you can see the houses in Fira are built very close to each other and as strange as it may seem to you no one owns his roof! Yes, because this is a small island and the houses are built on the rock part of the roof may belong to another person. This is the law here.
Secondly, I’m afraid that you have confused our complimentary services with the services on request. When we say a service is on request it means that a client has to request it and pay for it accordingly. Breakfast is for example complimentary, that’s why it is included in the official price, so you weren’t charged anything for it. In all the websites you can see us, our official price includes breakfast. And you never paid the official price as the price was discounted as you stated yourself.
Our laundry service is on request, which means that when a client wants to have his clothes washed he tells us and we have them washed with receipts provided. The same applies for the mini bar, it is on request. Since neither you, not your friends asked for us to have it filled it wasn’t filled.
Regarding the transfers, we offer one free transfer on arrival and one on departure. We never rent the villa to multiple clients but sometimes a party of friends or family arrive in different times. In this case we transport for free the first ones coming and the last ones leaving as we clearly state to our clients beforehand if there is such a case, as we did with the agency with which your friend made the booking, explaining that, in more than one emails. When you arrived first with the other ladies but one, we transported you to the villa for free. The lady that arrived by a separate flight later, paid for her transportation and this proves that she knew beforehand our transportation policy.
Regarding carrying your luggage. When you arrived indeed your luggage wasn’t carried as the porter was ill and couldn’t come. I am really sorry about that. But on departure your luggage was carried, so you didn’t have to carry it up.
Regarding the Jacuzzi this is a small island in the middle of the Aegean Sea. The electricity powers on the island are limited. If the weather is not good the Jacuzzi on the top cannot be heated as the American hot tubs.
Now regarding the laptop. You never asked for it perhaps since you all came with your own laptops. But since one of your friends sent an email complaining about the lack of laptop to Travekeys and they informed me I asked for the laptop to be brought to you immediately. It didn’t show up randomly. You were out for a walk then, so you didn’t know why it appeared. We always keep it locked and we give it to the clients if they ask for it, as they all come with their laptops, as you all did too.
As for the fax, of course it exists but it is situated in the provision room. If we had it inside the villa where the clients stay, they would be woken up by the noise as we usually receive emails at night! And the same applies for the printer. If a client wants something to be printed we copy it in a flash drive and we print it.
As for the DVDs they are all in English. As they are bought in Greece the covers and the titles are written in Greek but they are all American movies and they have other foreign subtitles as well.
The only thing we do not offer any more is the treadmill equipment. As no one ever used it we decided to remove it in order to make more room.
Last but not least, we are sorry that you are not satisfied as we always have the best intentions towards our clients.
Have a beautiful day
Penelope

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 28, 2016

A group of friends met up in Santorini to celebrate a birthday. The birthday girl had her heart set on this place from the photos and reviews. For four nights in off season we spent $3,100. The largest ripoff possible and as we contacted through TripAdvisor and was connected to Mandy at TravelKeys all I can say is STAY AWAY. This villa does not begin to live up to what was offered on the various websites (the owners have it listed on 4 different websites and then have a site of their own). Here is a list of the issues that we encountered:

Personal Concierge: Non-existent. The maid was a very nice German woman named Bridget. She informed us she is only paid to clean and maintain the place for no more than 4 hrs a day. When we contacted Travel Keys (the "luxury villa" website through TripAdvisor), we never received a call or email back. We contacted them when we arrived on April 24, 2016.

Laundry services: Don't exist. Bridget informed us that the owner of the villa only allows the towels and sheets to be used for the washer/dryer/iron and that we can go to a laundromat if needed.

Two Jacuzzi's: The rooftop kiddie pool can only be heated one day of a trip and then it only works if it is 80+ degrees outside. Bridget stated that the owner (Penelope) doesn't want to pay for the heating. The other jacuzzi was inside the master bedroom and very pretty and large. Just don't use the jets as it blows cold water into the jacuzzi and Bridget doesn't know how to fix it.

Pickups/Dropoffs: This shouldn't be plural. Bridget stated that Penelope will only pay for one pickup and one drop off which was extremely frustrating as one friend met us in Santorini (we were in Athens, prior) and I left after Santorini (instead of staying with my friends who left for Mykinos). If you leave during the middle of the day you can find a taxi for around 15 to 20 euros to take you to the airport. Otherwise, is it anywhere between 20 and 50 euros! They also don't carry your luggage to the villa - it is about four flights of stairs down and most of the stairs are rocky. Make sure to pack light or have wheels!

Continental Breakfast: Is two bottles of water, some fruit and yogurt on the first day as well as a dozen eggs (to be made by you), cheese and loaves of bread. This is a 12 euro per person upcharge. Save your money, the market is at the top of the hill and on the other side of Hotel Atlantis. The following days, Bridget only provides filler from the first day. The kitchen is small, which is standard for most European homes, however the appliance are a microwave, coffee pot, hot plate and stove. It took 20 min for the stove to toast the bread and looks like it is from the 1940's/1950's. Not the easiest to work with when your paid breakfast is DYI.

Other things that are promised by TravelKeys and the owner: laptop, exercise equipment, minibar, printer/fax machine. All of these are non-existent.

If you are looking for an overpriced location with a view that you can get at one of the hotels that are all a stones throw away (literally - five within a 2 minute walk and with the same views and a dedicated staff), then go ahead and spend the money. Otherwise keep looking. I have uploaded pictures on instagram and tagged travel keys as they requested before disappearing (hashtag blueangelvilla).

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
7  Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueAngelVilla, Reservation Manager at Blue Angel Villa, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2016

OUR FREE SERVICES & OUR SERVICES ON REQUEST ARE CLEARLY STATED IN OUR WEBSITE AND YOU PROBABLY WERE NOT INFORMED ABOUT THEM!

Dear Madame,
We are astonished by your review!
This is the first time we have to reply to a comment, as this is the first time we have ever had a bad review in the 10 years that we are open, because we are ALWAYS clear about what we provide and all our clients are satisfied by our service and amenities. This booking was made by a friend of yours who never came after all. And the booking was made via a travel agency, not us directly. So surely there must have been a misunderstanding about what exactly we provide.
First of all, I’m afraid that you have confused our complimentary services with the services on request. When we say a service is on request it means that a client has to request it and pay for it accordingly. Breakfast is for example complimentary, that’s why it is included in the official price, so you weren’t charged anything for it although your booking was discounted. And we always ask the clients if they would like something else for breakfast as we did with you. As for the stove is looks as if it’s from the 40’s/50’s as it is a very expensive vintage style SMEG stove! If you are not familiar with SMEG it is a very famous and a very expensive Italian brand.
Blue Angel is a villa, not a hotel, therefore we have no reception desk but we have a 24/7 emergency phone service. We always give our clients an emergency phone where they can call 24/7 and we come to villa when the clients need something, as we did when you, yourself called us.
Housekeeping is daily, but we also provide extra housekeeper services on request. Since we are a villa we have no cook, nor a waiter but we do have a chef on request.
Our laundry service is on request too, which means that when a client wants to have his clothes washed he tells us and we have them washed with receipts provided. The same applies for the mini bar, it is on request. Since neither you, not your friends asked for us to have it filled it wasn’t filled.
Regarding the transfers, we offer one free transfer on arrival and one on departure. We never rent the villa to multiple clients but sometimes a party of friends or family arrive in different times. In this case we transport for free the first ones coming and the last ones leaving as we clearly state to our clients beforehand if there is such a case, as we did with the agency with which your friend made the booking, explaining that, in more than one emails. When you arrived first with the other ladies but one, we transported you to the villa for free. The lady that arrived by a separate flight later, paid for her transportation and this proves that she knew beforehand our transportation policy.
Regarding carrying your luggage. I am sorry about that but when you arrived the porter was ill and couldn’t come, but on departure you yourself stated that since you had only a light bag and you were leaving at 5am you didn’t want your bag to be carried, so we only arranged that for the other ladies’ luggage who left last.
Now, regarding taxi fares, I’m afraid I’m not in the taxi business, so I cannot tell you the exact fare but I know it costs about 15 euros from the airport to the villa. From midnight to 7am the taxi fare is a bit more expensive. What I know for sure is that we paid the taxi driver 24 euros to take you to the airport when you left at 5 am. You don’t know the amount as we paid for it, so I am telling you the exact price so as you have an idea of how much the night taxi fare costs.
Regarding the Jacuzzi, this is a small island in the middle of the Aegean Sea. The electricity powers on the island are limited. If the weather is not good the Jacuzzi on the top cannot be heated as the American hot tubs.
Now regarding the laptop. You never asked for it perhaps since you all came with your own laptops. But since I contacted Travelkeys to verify what they had told you regarding transfers, they told me you had sent an email complaining about the lack of laptop to them so I asked for the laptop to be brought to you immediately. You were out for a walk then, but the laptop was there inside the villa when you came back. You can’t have missed it! We always keep it locked and we give it to the clients if they ask for it, as they all come with their laptops, as you all did too.
As for the fax, of course it exists but it is situated in the provision room. If we had it inside the villa where the clients stay, they would be woken up by the noise as we usually receive emails at night! And the same applies for the printer. If a client wants something to be printed we copy it in a flash drive and we print it.
Last but not least, we are sorry that you are not satisfied as we always have the best intentions towards our clients.
Finally, I would like to clarify that although I would like that very much, I’m not the owner of the villa, but only the Reservation Manager.
Have a beautiful day
Penelope

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 12, 2015 via mobile

Stayed at this beautiful place with a group of friends. It's a traditional Santorini villa equipped with all the modern facilities for a relaxing and comforting stay. Villa is well maintained and clean. It has 2 rooms with attached bath, a Jacuzzi in the master bedroom and another on the terrace overlooking the sea. The Villa can comfortably accommodate 6 people. It provides you with your own personal space with an amazing view and is located at a walkable distance from the many cafes and restaurants in Fira. Our airport pick up and drop was arranged by the hostess. She was also helpful in suggesting us a good car and ATV rental agent. After our checkout we had half a day more before out flight and the hostess was very kind to provided us with a separate room for our luggage. Overall the stay at this Villa made our visit to Santorini an unforgettable experience.

Date of stay: March 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank NikhilKapoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews