We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (169)
Filter reviews
169 results
Traveller rating
79
32
22
7
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
79
32
22
7
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews infinity pool hot tub amazing views santo wines junior suites daily breakfast close to the airport hired a quad bike watching the sunset bed was very comfortable minute drive beautiful sunset renting a car amazing hotel the air conditioning downtown fira red beach
Filter
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 169 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2016

We (a group of three women) booked this hotel as part of a wedding party for 3 nights last week. This hotel is not worth the money. Our suite, which looked beautiful online and offered a hot tub on the balcony overlooking the amazing view, sounded lovely. However, the room was cave-like and dark. The "hot" tub was small and barely warm, and completely obstructed the view of the sea. It was very hot while we were there and the AC was balky - we had to request help two of the three nights to get the room to cool. There was a persistent odor of dampness. We had to ask several times for sufficient towels, and the towels were never bath-sized but instead were small towels. Two mornings, we had zero hot water for showering. The water is not potable, so be aware that you will need to purchase drinking water. Breakfast was adequate but nothing special. The staff at the bar and breakfast were extremely pleasant and helpful and eager to please. I would contrast this with the front desk staff, who on our first night refused to tell us the way to walk to the restaurant next door because they wanted us to eat in their restaurant.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms front directly on a very busy street. Suites that have a "hot" tub on the balcony should be avoided.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pittsburghlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 30, 2016

Me and my partner stayed here for a week at the end of June. It was outstanding, from the staff, to the room, the breakfast buffet and the 2 pools and viewing/bathbathing decks.

The staff were all extremely helpful and couldn't do enough without being over baring. The best way to get around the island and from this hotel is by renting a car which we did via the reception. It is not a long walk into Fira but i wouldn't recommend doing it during the day due it being so hot and a 5 minute taxi ride cost 10euros.

On most days we found we have the pool and sunbeds to ourselves, there were always spare sunbeds even when other guests started to arrive.

High recommended and would definitely stay again without a doubt!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rhiannonchenery1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 27, 2016

Please don't stay at this hotel, for the price it is definitely NOT 5-star quality. I can imagine you may have a better time if you don't book the street level rooms (known as the 'superior rooms with hot tub') but I can assure you that you will more than likely be disappointed if you have previously stayed in 5-star worthy places previously.. Yes, the view is incredible but the hotel and the service is not enjoyable.. feeling incredibly ripped off. To give you an idea, we paid $2,800 (NZD) for 5 nights.

1. NO PRIVACY
We stayed in room number #1 ("Superior Suite with hot tub"). The door to the room opens to a busy street and side walk, you must then walk through the reception to enter the hotel (to the pool, restaurant etc), incredibly awkward setup. To make it worse the stairs to reception went right up to our balcony, therefore when sitting in the hot tub EVERY person going out or into the hotel would look directly at us sitting in our 'private' hot tub. You could also see directly into our balcony through the wooden barrier between us and reception - We tried to hang a towel over this to block people looking in. Very sad and disappointed about this.

2. WARM/DIRTY 'HOTTUB'
The hot-tub was a stand alone plastic tub. It was incredibly dirty and would not heat up to over 30 degrees (cold/warm temperature). We had to complain about this at reception 3 times in one day before they had someone come to fix this & clean it - it was incredibly sad how the staff handled this situation. The front desk girl said 'Oh I'm so sorry people always have this problem'. My boyfriend and I are hardly ever ones to complain but this was one of the main features of the room that we really wanted We even went to the lengths of bringing the on duty supervisor into our room to make him feel the water he said 'its okay its warm' and continued to tell us it was fine when it clearly wasn't - no one gets cold in a HOT-tub... very frustrating situation.

3. CLUELESS/UNHELPFUL STAFF
The whole time we were there, the rotating front desk staff could never get in touch with their manager and acted clueless at any complaints or queries that we had. They did not deal with anything in a friendly manner. (*I have to say the breakfast staff were incredibly respectful and friendly which was nice).

4. AVERAGE BREAKFAST
On our greek island hop we stayed in beautiful 5-star hotels such as 'Mykonos Blu (Mykonos), Royal Olympic Hotel (Athens) and there was no comparison with Azzurro. Azzurro's breakfasts are fine, just not what you expect for a 5-star - very basic and minimal.

5. CHEAPLY MADE ROOMS
This hotel is advertised as being new.. I suspect they have just created/renovated the top level street view rooms and re-named or re-branded the whole hotel. These 'new' rooms feel very cheaply made and very simple. It would have been nicer to stay in one of the original rooms with the concrete hot tubs.

6. HOTEL TRANSFER ISN'T COMPLIMENTARY
This isn't a major complaint however I think its a good thing to note as all our other hotels did not charge us for this.

7. UNCOMFORTABLE BED
The bed was very hard, our duvet even had a small cigarette burn on the end.

8. TERRIBLE WIFI CONNECTION
The wifi connection was very bad at the hotel, incredibly low connectivity. It was only useable in the middle of the night when no one else was probably using it.

Overall, I can only give my honest review and hope that no one else books this horrible place. If you do, my only advise is to avoid the top level, newly renovated rooms. Out of principle and the way they are ripping people off staying in these rooms I think you shouldn't support this hotel.. absolutely terrible.. Regards, a very disappointed kiwi who's Santorini dream was ruined by this experience.

Room Tip: Don't book street level (top level) rooms. These can also be described as the rooms next to reception.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
10  Thank Miss_Tourism_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 23, 2016

what can I say great views the whole of the Caldera uninterupted sunsets great for photography, no hustle from other tourists like in Oia , pleasant staff , excellent rooms , right next door excellent fine dining including views, good walk to Fira or take a taxi or local bus,Staff very helpful with organizing tours, if able will visit again

Room Tip: all rooms with a great view
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Elias K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 22, 2016

Very nice Hotel,great views,lovely staff,with a particular mention to Kostas Ntalaros and Eirini Pleoura,who were two lovely,helpful and happy people,they were so helpful.
A little out from Fira itself (approx 30 minutes walking,but hard in the heat,however a taxi is 8 Euro's,so cheap enough) continental style buffet breakfast,and with the ever helpful Kostas available and with the stunning views,it made breakfast a very pleasant experience,no problems securing a lounger or towels around the two small pools,rooms clean and modern

Room Tip: Choose rooms 9-17 as they have views straight out to the Caldera from their balconies,the lower numbered rooms have not
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TonyEvs19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews