We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Lovely, relaxing trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lapland Lake Nordic Vacation Center

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Northville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lapland Lake Nordic Vacation Center
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York, United States
1 review
“A Lovely, relaxing trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

Lapland Lake is such a wonderful treasure! I've visited three times and each time am astounded at the friendly staff, lovely location and charming accommodations. I have only stayed in the tupas when I stay at the Vacation Center, and they are clean, warm and comfortable. The cross country skiing is great (although a little icy this time around), and trails are well-groomed. I would recommend Lapland Lake to anyone who wants a truly relaxing experience in the Adirondacks.

Room Tip: Rent a tupa and you can bring your own food and prepare it in the cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christiane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    29
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
93
60
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, NY
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

A trip to Lapland Lake in winter is a longtime tradition for my husband and me, and also for our children when they were young. This year snowfall has been minimal, yet Olavi Hirvonen, owner, has the grooming skills to make the most of the conditions. We skied for 3 days, but we also walked the snowshoe trails through quiet hardwood forests, and tried the Finnish kick-sled on the frozen lake. The Hirvonens offer many pleasing options for all winter conditions.

The tupas (cottages) are cozy. Once we arrive, our car never leaves our parking spot. We find no reason to leave the property. In addition, Ann and Olavi Hirvonen are owners who are visible and ready to make your stay fun and comfortable. They are visible indoors and out, not like at some resorts where you never see the people whose names are on the brochures. Lapland Lake is the ultimate getaway if you're looking for peace and quiet and the opportunity for outdoor activity.

Room Tip: Each cottage has its own personality. Check them out online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank virginiabt28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

My family has enjoyed ski weekends at Lapland Lake for a number of years now, and there's no better place for getting away from it all to focus on great winter exercise, nature, and connecting with family and friends free from distractions and commercialization. Here is comfort without the schlock -- cozy cabins, woodstove, sauna, easy access to wireless internet in lodge but freedom from electronics otherwise, snacks and meals available but great cabin set up for cooking yourself too. They stand out in making nordic skiing family-friendly -- love the kids clubs and ski games, along with the tubing, and other special Finnish outdoor activities when conditions are right and visits with reindeer. Trails in beautiful varied woods are set up to be ideal for beginners, experts, racers, and everyone in between. Many small friendly touches keep it homey but not intrusive, and the owners are great hosts. Olavi grooms the trails to perfection -- even on our trips in warm weather in late March and during this unusually snow-starved January every snowflake has been arranged to maximize great skiing. Wish we could get there more often. Another plus is that its location is easier than many places to travel to (not far from I-90) -- it makes a good meeting place for friends dispersed around the northeast.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martha320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darien, Connecticut
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

We visited from the suburbs of NYC, and found just what we needed. It really feels very remote and quiet, and you are forced to unwind. The focus is definitely on skiing, but the whole family had a great time. Everything is very conveniently located within a close walk, and we found all of the services to be great. It is not luxurious, but they provide everything you might need, and are very accommodating. Just a few examples: i) the stove is all set to light when you arrive, and wood, kindling and newspaper are delivered daily (more if request); ii) any supplies you might need are for sale or rent at reasonable prices; iii) the restaurant is actually great, with delicious, homemade desserts; and iv) the sauna is AWESOME.

Lastly, the owners are absolutely wonderful people. I've never encountered such warm, personal service from the owners of a resort (personally placing phone calls to a local restaurant, shipping gear we left behind, etc.).

We will definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reader9090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, MA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

We visited Lapland Lake the week after Labor Day in 2011. Our 2 bedroom tupa (Adirondack houskeeping cabin) was spotlessly clean and well equipped: we needed nothing but our clothing and personal toiletries. Arriving after the summer season, but before the snows, we had the resort almost entirely to ourselves. After months of work related travel, my wife and I reconnected during walks through the woods and sunning by the lake; watching the reindeer eat windfall apples; barbequing on the grill provided just outside our door; having a proper Finnish suomi (sauna ) followed by a deep tissues massage in my living room. Without cell signal or WiFi in our tupa (but available at the Lodge on site) everything ...just...slowed...down. I don't swim or Nordic ski or canoe, but I will return for the peaceful experience I had at Lapland Lake. P.S. The staff was outstanding.

Room Tip: We stayed in the little red Pulkka Tupa, which has 2 BR, a common room with woodstove; a small parl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MistinguetteS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

We rented a 2 bedroom cabin. It had a kitchen, entry room, nice sitting room, 2 bedrooms and bathroom. We were very pleased with the accomodations - nice and quiet. There is a lake within walking distance and we took a short canoe ride in the morning. Would love to stay longer next time.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zzephyrmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

Three things impressed me about the Lapland Lake tupa that we rented: it looked exactly like the photos on the website (meaning the place was very well-represented and clean); it was quiet (no car or air traffic noise..........also, the place seems to attract people who are respectful of the quiet of nature; a big plus, this); the cottage was very well thought out and equipped: we wanted for very little; everything that was promised on the website was present and in good working condition.

So many details of daily living were worked out and present in our cottage experience: really, you don't find this level of thoughtfulness demonstrated even in the finer hotels/motels (well, you may, but I guarantee it wouldn't feel nearly as warm and homey). There is a thread of quiet intelligence and common-sense domesticity here, if that appeals to you.

Though, it rained for the three days of our stay in October, it was still a great and cozy place to stay. Had the weather been more kind, we would surely have made use of the many watercraft available at the water's edge (there appeared to be enough to accomodate most or all of the guests on the water at the same time).

The whole experience of booking and checking in/out was very smooth and seamless. The young woman behind the counter (I believer her name is Catherine), was very nice, very receptive to questions, and an all-around pleasant person.

The fact that this place is open year-round makes me want to take up cross-county skiing. There are miles of trail in a beautful wooded setting, and I can't think of a better place to get snowed in, what with the comfy wood-burning heater and all.

Wow! We rarely get this lucky on a first try...............though, I'm reluctant to tell you all of this; the selfish part of my nature wants to keep this place a secret (lest, next time it is hit with throngs of people). Keep the phone, TV, and other distractions at home; enjoy the company of the one(s) that you are with, again........here is the place to do it. Enjoy.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ctfaulkner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northville
27.1 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Johnstown
25.9 km away
Holiday Inn Johnstown - Gloversville
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lapland Lake Nordic Vacation Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lapland Lake Nordic Vacation Center

Property: Lapland Lake Nordic Vacation Center
Address: 139 Lapland Lake Road, Northville, NY 12134-3962
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Northville
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Northville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lapland Lake Nordic Vacation Center offers a touch of Finland in New York's southern Adirondack Mountains! We offer lodging in cozy tupas (housekeeping cottages), a pristine non-motor lake with sandy beach for swimming, fishing, kayaking and canoeing along with scenic hiking and mountain biking. Visit in winter for the day or overnight to experience our award-winning cross country ski center. Our four-season woodland retreat was proudly operated by former U.S. Olympian Olavi Hirvonen and his family for more than 35 years. New owners Kathy and Paul Zahray offer you their warmest welcome. We offer year round lodging in ten immaculate tupas (housekeeping cottages) featuring up to four bedrooms, fully equipped kitchens (refrigerator-freezer, range, microwave, toaster, electric coffee maker), baths with showers, screened porches, electric heat, wood stoves including all wood stove supplies, outdoor fire pit and BBQ. Our authentic Finnish wood-burning sauna is complimentary year round for overnight guests. Professional massage therapy is available. During the spring, summer and fall seasons overnight guests have access to our stunning 70-acre, motor-free lake with sandy beach. Woods Lake offers exceptional swimming, fishing, kayaking & canoeing with complimentary use of kayaks, canoes, rowboats and paddle boats. Our 30-mile of private hiking and mountain biking trails are available for our lodging guests' use. Our 3-mile self-guided nature trail is a delight for children and adults alike. In the winter months you are welcome to visit for the day or to lodge with us to experience our award-winning cross country ski center. 50Km of scenic ski & snowshoe trails are surrounded by the pristine southern Adirondack Forest Preserve. Trails are available for all abilities, from beginner to expert. Lapland Lake offers meticulous snowcat grooming; well-trained, courteous staff; two-story warming lodge; full rental-retail shops; daily PSIA ski instruction; children's tubing; ice-skating and two food service locations. Tavataan ladulla! See you on the trails! Come join us to experience Adirondack Splendor and Finnish Hospitality! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lapland Lake Nordic Vacation Hotel Northville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing