We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never Again - my CC# was stolen by someone with access to the books”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
West Gate Inn Nyack
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Nyack
Cortland, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Never Again - my CC# was stolen by someone with access to the books”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2011

Absolutelly terrible.......,our credit card company noticed fraudulent charges on our card that were traced back to this hotel..... we were traveling - in an airport - and our card had to be cancelled because of this!! On our way for a two week vacation and we had no credit card!!! To top it off corporate Best Western totally insults my suffering with 1,000 bonus points - come on be real!! I'm traveling and have to go with out my cards over the christmas holiday....till new ones can be gotten, and thats the best they could do!
The scam is that someone lifts the card number then runs a $1.00 credit to be sure its working and they have all the numbers they need to then go on a shopping binge!

Oh and besides the minor credit card issue - the 2 inch gap under the door left us freezing and the front desk didn't have any spare blankets or comforters?? Really???? I expect better from a Best Western.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kaspere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    45
    43
    32
    21
See reviews for
63
43
12
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queens, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2011

I checked into the hotel feeling alone a afraid because of my situation. I knew I was to be in Nyack for Alliance Theological Seminary's first Doctor of Ministry cohort class for nine days and needed the help of the manager. When I met Greg he assured me that all would be well and it was. The food, location of the hotel, the safety I felt, and the bed I slept in was just what I needed. I just want to thank you for everything.

I am on my way to being a better servant to the people and part of it is because of a great stay. God bless you.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Revtracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristiansand, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2010

I've been staying at 5 different hotels in the area, but this is where you will get the best value for the money. Clean room, helpful and friendly staff, etc.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eppijens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2010

After staying at many Best Westerns across the country over the years, I'd earned a discount gift card that I wanted to use- so while in the area I made a reservation for this place.
You should know that it's a MOTEL, not a hotel, with all rooms accessed from the outside, and it's on a very busy corner.
Upon check in the front desk lady took a full ten minutes to check in and in the unneccessary confusion she had using my Best Western gift card, she neglected to return my driver's license in the photocopier- after I returned to my room and realized this, it took two phone calls and a visit to the front desk where she refused to admit her error before finally calling the room to say she did find it in the copier! After accepting my request to personally bring my license to my room, she then still did not offer an apology, only to blame ME because "the license was sticky, that's why it stuck to the top of the copier."
The room appeared quite clean, however there was a small dead bug in the shower, as well as a lost earring on the bed, and a lone cheerio on the floor.
Later my fiancee and I strolled over to the advertised "onsite bar & lounge," only to be rudely shooed away by the snippy hostess who immediately dismissed our "lack of dress code" and the fact that there was a cover. Wow, even outside NYC you get that ghetto street attitude. I'd rather drink in my room...or at the hotel restaurant that has beers.
I will say the next morning the front desk person was much nicer, and the staff in the diner-like on-site restaurant are very friendly and the continental breakfast voucher is actually cool because the food in the restaurant is decent.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coreywit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nyack hotels

Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2008

Picked this hotel as it was close to the Sleepy Hollow area and reasonably priced. Located the hotel easily as it's right off the interstate. The hotel was very quiet when we arrived, however this may just have been due to the fact that it was a Sunday night. First impressions were that we'd gone back in time. The hotel seemed to belong more in the late 70's/early 80's. I don't mean this in a bad way ,it was actually quite nostalgic.The lady on reception was friendly and offered us the choice of a ground or first floor room and provided us with vouchers for breakfast. .The hotel is actually more of a motel and you are able to park right outside your room. As a result the carpet does tend to show a little more wear and tear than normal. Other than that the room was clean although not oversized. Considering the proximity to the interstate the room was very quiet and you could hear no traffic noise. The breakfast the following morning was served in the hotels restaurant and was adequate. Overall a reasonable enough experience for the price.

  • Liked — It's location.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveHammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2008

I We were hesitant to stay here because of some bad reviews I had read, but there is a shortage of mid-range hotels in this area, so we went ahead and tried it. Our experience was pretty good. The room was very clean and comfortable and the staff was friendly and helpful. The only problem we had was that the wireless internet in the room started fouling up on our second night and the staff could not fix it.
Even though the hotel is right next to the freeway, our room was very quiet and we slept well. It is possible, however, that some of the other rooms are less well protected from traffic noise. Another possible problem might be on Saturday nights(the only time the hotel nightclub is open) when dance parties are advertised. I wasn't there on Saturday, so I don't know, but it sounds like a potentially bad set up for a light sleeper.
This ain't the Ritz but it is fine for business travelers(if they get the wireless working again). Considering the high prices of some other local hotels, I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank bungSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2007

We stayed at Best Western Nyack on Hudson for 2 nights. The motel was easy to locate. The check in was quick but not as informative. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, the bathroom was well equipped. Unfortunately when we stepped out of the room the next day and returned in the afternoon, the room was not cleaned. We had stepped out again and it was still not cleaned. I had to look for room service and request clean towels, and told them not to even bother with doing the bed. The room service attendant whom I found was not the one assigned to our room, she basically told me that the first rooms that need to be cleaned first are those of the guest staying more than one night. We made our complaint upon check out and stated we would not come back. We went to the restaurant located near the lobby for breakfast and the food was horrible.
We did enjoy the lounge, they had salsa night and had salsa lessons so we took advantage of that.

  • Liked — The comfort of the bed.
  • Disliked — No room service
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jgilforjesus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nyack
0.1 km away
The Time Nyack
The Time Nyack
#1 of 3 in Nyack
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
5.4 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nanuet
7.8 km away
Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 2 in Spring Valley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
6.7 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Tarrytown
7.8 km away
Courtyard Tarrytown Greenburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Gate Inn Nyack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Gate Inn Nyack

Property: West Gate Inn Nyack
Address: 26 Route 59, Nyack, NY 10960-2913 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Nyack on Hudson)
Region: United States > New York > Nyack
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Nyack
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — West Gate Inn Nyack 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A convenient location with easy access to all major highways makes this mid-priced family operated Nyack hotel a favorite for guests with a full itinerary. Hotels near the Tappan Zee Bridge make it simple for travelers to take in and enjoy the most popular local destinations. With close proximity to NYC, the city is only 30 minutes away, but many guests prefer to stick close by. There's no end to the entertainment, with the West Gate Lounge featuring disco and live Salsa bands and the Scenic Hudson River Valley in your backyard. Weekly rates are available, making travel easy for those on extended stays. This hotel near Tarrytown and Sleepy Hollow is popular with business travelers in town with Ampacet or the favorite local Kuka Brewery. The West Point Military Academy brings a number of long-term service men and women to the area, and with Camp Shanks near this Nyack hotel, our staff members specialize in making your longer stay as homey as possible. Hotels near Nyack College welcome academics, students and their loved ones year-round. Whether you're here for graduation or to teach a term, everything you need is at your fingertips. Palisades Center Mall and the Woodbury Commons Premium Outlets are a shopper's paradise, while there are numerous historical sites within Rockland and Westchester County for history buffs. Whether you're looking for hotels near Nyack hospital for medical tourism or simply a getaway, you'll enjoy our on-premise restaurant that serves award-winning cheesecake. Slip away to Nyack Beach State Park for a romantic stroll or Rockland Lake State Park for some water recreation. The proximity to numerous hiking and biking trails brings outdoor travelers from around the country to our West Gate Inn Nyack. Local gifts, crafts and antique shops as well as the comedy shows at Levity Live make for a one of a kind escape. Reserve a room at West Gate Inn Nyack today! Enjoy your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your West Gate Inn Nyack reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Nyack On Hudson Hotel Nyack
Nyack Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing