We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rafting! Best weekend ever!”

Adirondack River Outfitters
Ranked #5 of 16 things to do in Old Forge
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Guided whitewater rafting trips on the Black River in Watertown, the Hudson River in North River, and the Moose River in Old Forge. ARO has been providing friends and families adrenaline filled adventures for thirty four years. A day on a rafting adventures can provide a lifetime of memories.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great rafting! Best weekend ever!”
Reviewed 26 November 2011

We used ARO for a day long rafting trip in early October. Our guide was "Dingo", and he did a great job ensuring we all had a safe, and fun trip down the river. The equipment, the facility, and the staff were top notch.

The rapids are not the wildest I've ever experienced, but the scenery, weather, and overall experience was perfect. My date was a 'first timer', and she loved the trip. It made for the perfect weekend.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom_Realtor_CIPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    3
    2
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mass
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great trip with ARO”
Reviewed 28 August 2011

We recently took the Hudson River trip with ARO and had a great time. Our guide,Critter, was very skilled and also quite funny! I would recommend this company to anyone looking for a rafting trip with an experienced staff. The river is much more tame in the summer but there was still plenty of whitewater to make it exciting. They also provide a chicken barbecue after the trip that was very good.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank suzym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Experienced Guides, Great Experience, Awesome Fun!”
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We found ARO on Trip Advisor and are grateful that we did! Of all the companies that raft the river- we feel we hit the river jack pot with this outfit. ARO were professional, courteous and a ton of fun. It was obvious that every guide was extremely skilled and focused on providing a safe and memorable wilderness ride. This was our first rafting trip as a family and we were not sure how our 9 and 10 year old children were going to do on the 4.5 hour journey. We all absolutely loved it! The gorgeous scenery and weather ranked second and third to Gary's first place team -Chester, Mike,Critter, Dingo, Mary, Sarah, Dillon, etc. made our experience!! The ride was great, lunch hit the spot and the delicious barbecue post ride hit the spot! Our ARO trip was an excellent value and fantastic time! I would recommend to all.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank bigpuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmingdale, NY
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't wait to come back!!”
Reviewed 21 April 2011

I just went on April 16, 2011, and I had an absolute BLAST!!! This is the 2nd year in a row, and I plan on making it back for years to come. The owner Gary is a great guy and you can see he truely loves what he does. I did the Hudson trip and it was UNREAL! Hoepfully next year I could work up to the Moose. THANKS AGAIN FOR AN AWSOME WEEKEND GUYS!!!!

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank mack552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“AMAZING ADVENTURE WITH ARO!”
Reviewed 8 January 2011

Amazing August adventure with ARO! We had a blast for our first rafting experience and would highly recommend to all. Take in this great experience with friendly and advanced guides.

Visited August 2010
Helpful?
2 Thank reppop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Adirondack River Outfitters also viewed

 

Been to Adirondack River Outfitters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing