We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (162)
Filter reviews
162 results
Traveller rating
89
31
22
14
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
89
31
22
14
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fourth lake fine dining new owners north woods inn beautiful view great dock tacos towel rack paddle boards bedroom cabin fire pit craft cocktails light fixtures wooden bar king size lodge porch cozy lobby
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 162 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2017 via mobile

Wow, what an interesting place. Hadn't been here since it was North Woods Inn. Stopped for lunch Saturday. Love the interior, the wooden bar is totally unique and impressive. The menu is equally impressive, far from your typical pub food. Artichoke dip was better than any I've had. Hard to choose between the shrimp po'boy and Thai tuna, waiter recommended shrimp and I went with it. Hoping to return soon and rent a cabin for a weekend

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank jfrederick52016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 26, 2017 via mobile

This resort is absolutely beautiful. However, the cabins are NOT guest-friendly. There are zero drawers and not even any shelves to store your clothes or anything else in or on. You basically have to live out of your suitcase on the floor. Beyond frustrating and very messy after a couple days! The bathroom also has zero storage/flat space to place your toiletries on. There's a little desk in the corner with a coffee maker on it. (Which is basically unseeded since you can get coffee at the lodge, restaurant or bar) This space would be better utilized by putting a corner floor-to-ceiling armoire there....or running a low-profile dresser all along the wall under the windows, because there is definitely space for one. Also, most of our outlets didn't work. If those changes were made it would be IDEAL.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ginny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 22, 2017

We had a wonderful lunch on a perfect day in Old Forge. My companion and I were seated on the deck with our drink orders taken promptly. My companion had the Thai Chicken Burrito, which she said was excellent. I had the flatbread with figs, carmelized onions and Gorgonzola. My only complaint was that the onions weren't carmelized enough. Our waitress Erin was very efficient and checked on us constantly without being intrusive. We enjoyed meeting her and talking with her.

Date of stay: September 2017
Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 20, 2017 via mobile

Great Pines has a beautiful lodge with exceptional craftsmanship and attention to detail. The lodge stair rail is exquisite. The plaster work in our room was done by an "old school" master craftsman. The architecture is only exceeded by the friendly staff and the exceptional view of the lake. The resort exudes a sense of calm and relaxation. You can find a comfortable chair on the lodge porch, the boat dock, or the lookout and feel your stress abate. There are kayaks, canoes, a peddle paddle boat for nautical adventures. The trail to Bald Mountain Lookout Tower is a short drive, hike, or bike away. Stunning views of the lakes area are available along the trail and from the tower.
With the on-site restaurant, the great staff, the beautiful, comfortable lodging at Great Pines you may find yourself feeling like we did, and not want to leave.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank PharmFNP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 20, 2017

Room was comfortable but very small. Not much space in the bathroom. No refrigerator or microwave. We worried about an extension cord going through a wall through a closet and then to a tv. Breakfast is rather late (7:30). Small assortment but ok.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geniejean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews