We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Oneida Community Mansion House
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience Oneida Community Mansion House
from US$10.00
More Info
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveller rating
41
11
5
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
41
11
5
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 59 reviews
Reviewed April 26, 2020

We slept here and we toured here. There are a few rooms with excellent descriptions, pictures, artifacts, old historical books. It will take you about an hour to read everything. The grounds outside are so beautiful, a humongous swing is out there! Anyway, the history of the community seeking perfection is very well documented, the artwork is gorgeous. There's a big room with a stage where the members would perform. Upstairs there's a great gathering of materials from when the Oneida people would travel and bring things back. We walked around this place at night, had a creepy, really cool feel to it!

Date of experience: September 2019
2  Thank Steveage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 7, 2019

This is a tremendously fascinating place - a 90,000 share-foot Victorian mansion, built by John Humphrey Noyes and his 250-member Christian socialist commune and greatly successful animal trap manufacturing business in the middle 1800s. The Mansion House is steeped in the history of this amazing utopian community!

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank DavidandMaryFord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 29, 2019

My wife and I needed a place to stay when we visited my son at college up here way upstate.
From afar this mansion looked like an interesting choice. 93,000 ft.² in a historic destination. Eclectic offering of small number of rooms. Even listed in atlas ObScura!
However it was a disappointing hotel stay. The grounds and the enormous facility are indeed impressive. But it’s more like staying at a really old school where they kind a rent out some rooms.
Our room had two twin beds even though we’d specified queen and they couldn’t accommodate a change. The place was in need of a major makeover in terms of the furnishings carpet and bathroom set up. The room was certainly large enough and being able to open the window and lay in the breeze was helpful.
But two nights on lousy lumpy mattresses with the beds pushed together, compounded by the fact that they did not clean the room after the first night and made the lukewarm and unacceptable excuse that we hadn’t asked to Have the room cleaned Sealed our dissatisfaction.

We are world travelers, we appreciate and enjoy an eccentric and non-luxury accommodation with the best of them. But them is ain't one. There are almost no choices in the greater Utica area for place to stay but this is not the one to select.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roving755152, Front Office Manager at Oneida Community Mansion House, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2020

There is a lot I could say about this review but I will stick to the main points. This reservation was made by the guest online. At the time they made their online reservation, they picked their room, we did not assign it to them. At no point did they actually speak to anyone here at the Mansion House and ask for a queen room. They were sent an email confirmation of their reservation that stated the room they had reserved (one of our twin rooms), it also contained our policy on housekeeping, that stated for stays of more than one night, the room would be cleaned on the second day. In all of the rooms, there is a door hanger that can be placed outside the door if they want it serviced. I am very sorry that they did not enjoy their stay here at the Mansion House as most of our guests love it here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 9, 2019

Excellent tour guide and quite a beautiful building.in the Mohawk Valley. Interesting stories about the Oneida community.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank cuse518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 15, 2019 via mobile

The self-guided tour of the house and the grounds was a delightful look at a fascinating historic community, with stunning architecture and gardens as the backdrop

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Ohio_voyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews