We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveller rating
92
12
2
7
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
92
12
2
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish other guests every night mosquito net sea turtles place island indonesia life fun job exchange tradition highlights break men beaches
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 114 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2017

Amazing host prepares everything you need to enjoy this pure and relaxing beach with a peaceful environment. The complete staff is dedicated to make your stay unforgettable. Their heart is in the right place.... All profits to to sustain health, well being, education and quality of life at the fishermen's village next door. The business is run by local young men. Congratulations Ricky on a job well done!.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JRVazquez2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 23, 2017

Unique experience that I had never experienced before. This is not an ordinary beach, it's a sort of small community, very far away from touristic mood and a real life, something like on a parallel planet. Ricky is very arranging and cool, the young crew is sOOOO endearing. I will keep in memories the evenings live concerts in the reggae' style. Some guest go to sleep and others prefer to stay with RBH Crew….than everything can happen… Indonesian beer at will and also….. like in the Bob Marley Song: «  you always keep me flying on the highest plan… »
Singles ladies be careful, difficult to resist the charm of very cuts Indonesians boys ;))))
Ricky was also very efficient in organizing the jungle stay in Mentawai Trib. All guides who escort the guest to the jungle was hight experienced and speak the Mentawai language, with all the supported, so nothing to care of by myself…. IT ALL STARTED WITH AUTHENTIC SUMATRA !

Stayed: August 2017
Thank MonikaH1652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 26, 2017

Had a very good time with my family at Ricky's Beach House!
Awesome sightings and the most relaxing ambiance in this peacefull area.
Friendly staff that is musical too!

Really gave me a good, memorable time with my family

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MilanRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 6, 2017 via mobile

Ricky is trying to do great things here, ensuring that the benefits of tourism are spread amongst the locals rather than some hotel chain. He has picked a beautiful spot was fab views. There are still some things that need honing, the food could do with an upgrade/options for those that want to spend a little more- shouldn't be too difficult to source top fish given the location . Also there was a bit of a divide during our stay between the backpackers who wanted to party hard until the early hours and us oldies who wanted some shut eye- one guy even had his breakfast the next day after we had had lunch :) - perhaps it might be an idea to do this on certain nights only. But given the price and location these are minor gripes meant more as constructive ideas to help this great venture move onwards and upwards with as wide a guest range as possible so ensuring that as many locals as possible can benefit.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
4  Thank onthegolfcourseagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 23, 2017 via mobile

We stayed there for 6 nights it was an amazing time! So much fun, so much love and the best crew!!! You guys rock!!
Definitely would come back if i am back in west sumatra!!!
Hugs and love from L&K
Angee❤️

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Konstantin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews