We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful, rustic, relaxing”
other travellers have booked this property
Approach to Annex
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Approach to Annex
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
Approach to Annex
Dining room area from Game area with view towards kitchen
View of kitchen from dining area
Kitchen close-up.
Left front bedroom
Right rear bedroom before curtain installation
The large screened porch with Adirondack furniture.
Across the road at Trout Brook, our private acreage
A great spot to sunbathe on our rocks at Trout Brook.
A spot for contemplation
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Pottersville, New York

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Venture42...
1 review
“Beautiful, rustic, relaxing”
Reviewed September 27, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Lovely area, beautiful home! The Annex is furnished with antiques and is wonderfully private and quiet, yet close enough to Schroon Lake village and other attractions to be convenient. The hosts are warm and helpful. And there's a place with excellent ice cream just down the road! I'm already thinking about when I could return..........

Date of stay: August 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Sep 2018
It was a pleasure to have you and to have given you the chance to relax and revive. We would enjoy having you and your daughter...and your friend and her boys...any time you'd like to come back. (The Ice Cream Stand opens right about the 4th of July. Yum!)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nomad3371...
1 review
“Beautiful tree-shaded place”
Reviewed September 11, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Wonderful screened-in porch for relaxing in the evenings. We didn't get to use it as often as we would have liked since several evenings got cooler than desired during our stay. I can imagine it being quite comfortable during particularly hot weeks since the place is surrounded by trees and stays relatively cool.

Barbara was a wonderful hostess and worried over our accommodations and comfort. Plenty of towels, blankets, pillows in the bathroom and bedrooms.

Date of stay: August 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2018
Thanks Wendy. Hope to have you visit us again....and take advantage of Trout Brook and the rocks.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Reviewed September 20, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Date of stay: September 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Oct 2017
Thanks Lynette...and hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
papaell
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendly, charming, relaxing!”
Reviewed August 7, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Rustic but fully-equipped 2 storey house complete with kitchen. Beautiful setting, in wooded area of Adirondacks with lake swimming, hiking (easy to energetic!) and rural sightseeing; gracious hosts can guide you...or just curl up with a good book (plenty are provided!) and totally unwind (I did!)!

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2017
And, lucky us, we've had friendly and charming visitors from as close as Albany and as far away (this season) as California and Ireland. The Chester Challenge (local hikes) have been particularly popular as have our collection of Adirondacks books. Thanks papaell.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephen H
Magherafelt, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Adirodacks”
Reviewed July 23, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The Annex in the Adirondacks offers a fantastic rustic hideaway for those wanting to experience the true culture of this area. Nestling amongst the trees the Annex truly merges with nature and offers a relaxing environment for those wanting to get away from it all. Your hosts Barb and Clarke are two of the nicest and most interesting people you could meet, and share their knowledge of the area with obvious delight. If your lucky you might even get a chance to taste the home baked cakes. A visit to the local Adurondacks cafe in Pottersville is also a must, the shrimp starter is worth the visit on its own.

Date of stay: July 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2017
It's our pleasure having such wonderful guests.
Barb
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daruhn
1 review
“It is a Wonderland”
Reviewed October 3, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

I came to this beautiful Cabin with a bunch of my girlfriends to celebrate my birthday and we totally loved every minute of our stay here. We had a very warm welcome by Barbara and Clarke. She showered us with Incredible hospitality and provided us with everything we need.. With Classy Antique touch to furnitures, cozy comfortable bedrooms and the lovely deep woods in the surrounding this will definitely be the perfect getaway you have been dreaming about !!

Date of stay: September 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ambience & Cabin
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2016
And a happy belated birthday to you Dharani. The four of you amazing young women were our pleasure to host.
Barbara
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karenmann...
Central Square, New York
1 review
“Mrs.”
Reviewed September 23, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We had a wonderful visit. We loved eating our meals on the screened in porch. The owls sang to us in the evening. It was a beautiful, relaxing place to stay. Thank you so much!

Date of stay: September 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2016
And thank you. It was a pleasure having a family who shared in both the sounds of the soul and the sounds of the forest.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
US$USD
Canada (English)
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.