We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very impressed with the improvement” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Roof Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Red Roof Inn
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Queensbury
Certificate of Excellence
Welland, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very impressed with the improvement”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

We stayed at this motel in October 2010 and had a very positive experience. We have stayed at this Inn several times, but it was the best on this visit. I believe that there were some changes in management/ownership?, and they were certainly for the better. It was exceptionally clean, the staff and services were excellent. The morning coffee and goodies were great and I found the personnel to be just so helpful. The usual dining and shopping amenities were of course still there also. You can't beat the value for the money especially if you are travelling with a pet. Ron from Canada

Room Tip: We usually got a room in the rear building which is an excellent location for walking a pet, but las...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caileigh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    86
    24
    14
    4
See reviews for
121
84
32
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield Center, Connecticut
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

Based on our previous visit to the Red Roof Inn, Queensbury , we decided to stay there once again when we attended the Adirondack Hot Air Balloon Festival on the weekend of September 24 and September 25, 2011. This stay was as enjoyable if not even more enjoyable than our previous stay. The room had 2 double beds, a large screen TV (Vizio), a refrigerator, a microwave, and wireless internet. Furniture included a comfortable living room type chair , a desk and desk chair, and a chest with drawers. We were travelling with our dog consequently we were staying in a pet friendly room. The room was very clean and had no signs of being a pet friendly room (ie. an odor or stained carpets/furniture). The bathroom was very clean and had a vent fan that automatically turned on when the bathroom light was turned on. The vanity and mirror are external to the bathroom in an area that has its own lighting. The building that we were in appeared to be fully occupied. It was very quiet and both my wife and I had an excellent night's sleep (as well as our dog) with no interruptions at all. There is an Outback Restaurant next door to the Red Roof Inn and it shares a parking lot with the Inn. The Outback has a wide ranging take out menu so if you are travelling with your pet you can get a good restaurant meal and not leave your pet unattended in your room (a violation of the Red Roof Pet Policy). There are a number of picnic tables in a grassy area behind the hotel. I grilled steaks on a portable gas grill that I carry in my trunk and made baked potatoes using the microwave. Either way;restaurant meal or BBQ, it makes for a great evening in upstate NY. Add to it that the staff of the hotel is friendly and helpful and it makes for a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
Level Contributor
105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

We stayed at the Red Roof Inn 1 nite, Sept. 17, 2011 for a weekend getaway. Check in was a breeze, and the clerk couldn't have been more helpful or friendly. The 2 queen sized bedroom was nice and clean as well. The table between the two bed's was ultra small, and barely fit our two CPAP breathing machines. We did also have to unplug the clock, so they would both have an outlet. The bed's were just ok, a little 'squeaky' in a weird sort of way. But the biggest problem was the front door. It is not sealed properly and light, air and especially noise come's through it. This made for a noisy nite due to traffic and people coming back from their outtings. Would we stay there again? Probably due to the price for us. But I would ask for something not on the street side. They also had a wonderful fire pit out back with ton's of chairs to side around it. In the back of the hotel there were also quite a few picnic tables which I thought was a very nice touch.

Room Tip: Room's at the back of the hotel are not as noisy I would hope.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BBQLuvR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HallidayGM, General Manager at Red Roof Inn, responded to this review, 22 September 2011
Thank You for your honest comments. I have trained our entire staff to try to make all of our guests feel like they are at their Queensbury Red Roof home away from home. Looking forward to seeing you back at our property.

Hal Halliday
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

We have been staying at this hotel for about four years during the car show. Hotel is now under new ownership and have upgraded beds, tvs, linens etc. Centrally located, an Outback next door, laundry across the street, bakery/restaurant across the street, Walmart down the block. Good parking for larger vehicles too. Exceptional staff, we really felt at home this time. Great pastries for breakfast too. We already booked for next year. One of our favorite hotels and destinations.

Room Tip: No elevators so second floor rooms are tough for older persons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carshowjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynnville Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

Staff was very nice and friendly and the very clean hotel was located next to an Outback Steakhouse, and a Golden Corral was about block or so away, too. Too many restaurants close by to list now. Heard of Martha's ice cream? You won't forget a large soft ice cream cone from there! Lake George is also close by (couple of miles) along with Six Flags. The trolley runs out in front of the Hotel if you like that. Fire pit behind the Hotel with free wood for a campfire evening, too! Very enjoyable weeks stay at this Red Roof Inn.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nassau county
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

We were delighted to have a pet friendly room that was very clean and comfortable. The Staff was very friendly and helpful. We will definitely come back when we have a need to stay in the area again. This location was also conveniently located to the Lake George area and very reasoably priced.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scirab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

After a day of watching the Saratoga races we went to our hotel we reserved (not Red Roof) and were told the "we" cancelled one of our rooms. Turned out the hotel lied to us, but that will be part of their review.
We drove down the road and saw this place and gave it a shot. Glad we did. Shelly was probably the nicest front desk person I ever met! Had 2 great rooms and saved quite a bit over the other hotel. Will be there again next year for sure.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teflonct9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Queensbury
0.2 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites of Lake George
1.4 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake George (Queensbury)
4.1 km away
Queensbury Hotel
Queensbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Glens Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#15 of 87 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
2.1 km away
Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark
4.6 km away
Days Inn Queensbury/Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn

Property: Red Roof Inn
Address: 931 State Route 9, I-87 - The Northway - Exit 19, Queensbury, NY 12804-1368
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Queensbury
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Queensbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located next to Outback Steakhouse, across the street from laundromat and breakfast bakery, 1 block from WalMart and 1 mile from Great Escape Six Flags Park. We have a campfire out back along with picnic tables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Red Roof Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Queensbury Hotel Queensbury
Queensbury Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn Lake George/Queensbury, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing