We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised”

Capital Inn & Suites
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Capital Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rensselaer
massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
Reviewed 28 October 2008

We needed a place to stay for one night after arriving by Amtrak. Didn't want to spend $140 a night, which seemed to be the going rate in Albany. We wanted to tour the NY State Museum before our train left at 4:00 the next day. After reading reviews on tripadvisor, I decided to take a chance on the Econo Lodge. Took a cab (don't take Capital -- a ripoff). The next morning the motel manager called a cab for us (half the price of the first one) and we stored our luggage at the train station, then took a bus downtown. Worked out very well. I did take the advice from tripadvisor members and asked for a room in the back building. The room was very nice. It was large, had a fridge, micro, & coffee maker, and was clean. Guy at front desk was pleasant and helpful.

  • Liked — large clean room. very comfortable king sized bed
  • Disliked — in the middle of nowhere
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bghky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arun P, Guest Relations Manager at Capital Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 24 October 2016
thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    10
    8
    3
    16
See reviews for
11
10
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
293 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2007

Hey, it's an Econolodge! Lady on duty when we arrived in the evening was very friendly and helpful. The rooms are basic and there is not much around the area (Yips Chinese restaurant -- okay and Burger King), but very easy drive into downtown Albany and to the Albany/Rensselaer Amtrak station. Hotel is frequented by a lot of construction service workers. Walls and floors are thin, so bring earplugs as these guys can be early risers and heavy on their feet!

  • Liked — Cheap and close to train station.
  • Disliked — Walls are thin.
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Perpetual-Motion1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arun P, Guest Relations Manager at Capital Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 24 October 2016
thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melrose, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2007

We stayed at the Econo Lodge on a Saturday night on fairly short notice. I felt the price I paid was expensive for what I got, which was a very basic room with basic amenities. The rate may have been high due to the day of the week and given that most hotels in the area were sold out at the time.

The room was generally clean but in need of updating. It was very damp in the room and the room had a funny air-deodorizer smell to it, which we got used to after a while. The sheets were thin and had a few old stains on them, but were otherwise clean. The bed was somewhat comfortable. There was a large selection of cable TV channels.

The bath towels were very small and were also very thin and not soft. The bathroom was decent sized and had a generous counter-top for spreading out your things. The water pressure was good and the shower head nice. The shower curtain was short and a little difficult to keep in the tub. The bathroom had a switch-controlled overhead fan, which you don't see too often, but it did a terrible job at removing the humidity after a shower. It took 15 minutes for the mirror to de-fog after opening the bathroom door.

There was free wireless internet, but I did not make use of this to try it out. I also didn't sample the free breakfast, but I did see when I checked-in that the breakfast area was very small -- only about 3 small tables -- so we choose to get our breakfast off-site. The check-in process went smoothly and the reception was generally friendly.

The walls were thin and we were woken up in the early morning by guests in the room above and also out in the hallway moving about. In general, it was a decent stay and if I needed a room in the area again I would return if I could get a cheaper rate -- but I will probably try staying someplace else first.

  • Disliked — damp room; basic ammenities
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank triptaker0126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arun P, Guest Relations Manager at Capital Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 24 October 2016
thank you we have a new name now
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, Sc
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2007

We stayed here twice so far. This is not a fancy motel, but it is adequate. Their prices are certainly fair. The only problem that we encountered was a problem with checking in and checking out...their computer was giving them all sorts of problems. They finally had to call Choice hotels to get it all taken care of. The staff at this motel certainly tried hard to please their guests. All whom we met were friendly. Eventhough it was August, we didn't swim in their pool as the Northeast was experiencing chilly weather the four days that we did stay here. We liked the grounds and also the location (more of a country setting rather than congested Albany locations). Our room was a queen sized. Having a microwave, small frig, and laundry facility were definitely a plus. If you want all the "bells and whistles" then this is not the place for you. If you want a clean quiet place at a great price, then you will be satified with this choice. Frankly, I have stayed in far worse motels in Myrtle Beach and in Florida.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — breakfast buffet....nothing special here
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Myrtlj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arun P, Guest Relations Manager at Capital Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 24 October 2016
hope you are well now
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2007

On the positive side, the room was clean (aside from a mildew-y shower curtain), and everything worked. Bed was quite comfortable (a big plus), and it was convenient to have a microwave, fridge, hair dryer, cable tv, alarm clocks, etc. For the money, we were pleasantly surprised. The linens were hardly top-quality, but they were clean.

The breakfast was minimal, but certainly adequate for a quick bite. Also, everything seemed fresh and clean.

The staff is generally quite friendly and helpful; Patty's sense of humor may be an acquired taste, but we thought she was kind of a hoot. Also, if she recommends Teagan's restaurant to you, don't be afraid of its exterior. We were pleasantly surprised by the food.

On the negative side: calling the walls "paper-thin" is an insult to paper. Throughout the night, we could hear EVERYTHING from the other rooms. Fortunately, we had neighbors who, for the most part, turned in early, but were nonetheless woken up a couple times by loud thuds/bangs.

If you're a sound sleeper, this place seems to be a good bargain for the area.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pphillipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arun P, Guest Relations Manager at Capital Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 24 October 2016
thank you hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2006

We stayed at Econo Lodge Downtown in Rensselaer and we loved it. Our room (king bed) was recently renoved and it was very clean. There were a fridge and coffee maker in the room.

The hotel is located only few minutes away from Amtrak Station and from downtown Albany.

For the price, it is very interesting. I recommand it.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank matqcca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arun P, Guest Relations Manager at Capital Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 24 October 2016
thank you old guest hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton, NJ
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2005

I loved the Econo Lodge! We got the room with a Jacuzzi. The room was wonderful & clean. The staff is the friendliest staff I've ever seen at a hotel. We've been there several times with & without our kid. It's a very pleasant stay. The breakfast cold buffet. The usual donuts, muffins, bagels & cereal. Juice & coffe. The staff does remember you & takes good care of their repeat customers.

  • Stayed December 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samantha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rensselaer
3.3 km away
Americas Best Value Inn - E Greenbush / Albany
3.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany-East Greenbush
3.2 km away
Comfort Inn Albany / Glenmont
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown
3.5 km away
Days Inn & Suites Glenmont/albany
3.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush (Albany - Skyline)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capital Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital Inn & Suites

Property: Capital Inn & Suites
Address: 110 Columbia Tpke, Rensselaer, NY 12144-3413 (Formerly Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Downtown)
Region: United States > New York > Rensselaer
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rensselaer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Capital Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Capital Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Rensselaer
Rensselaer Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing