We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Village Gate”

The Gate House Cafe
Ranked #38 of 1,470 Restaurants in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$25
Cuisines: Pizza, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Please see our website for the most recent menu and pricing.
Reviewed October 23, 2018

These spots in Village Gate are great unique and very convenient. We had a good time. The drinks are different and the food is good.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jacqueline J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 265 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2018

First time visiting Village Gate for dinner. Love the atmosphere of the whole area. Had reservations for The Gate House. We were seated on time. Nice menu choices for all. I had The Highland Park salad with grilled chicken. This salad was delicious - loved it. The other guests in our party of 10 ordered pizzas and salads. All were impressed withe the food except 1 - One of our party ordered the Ceaser salad and did not like it - very very garlicky. We had a fantastic waitress - her name was Autumn. Overall nice dinner experience. Next time i would ask to be seated in the main dining area, as we were in a separate room and felt very separated from the restaurant atmosphere.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
Thank lorab564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 30, 2018 via mobile

The place is very calming and the menu is simple. They’re known for their burgers, but the true hidden gem is their nachos. The staff is also very nice and it’s really cool that they have paper straws!!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank sivanmoyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 25, 2018

We heard the burgers were some of the best in town, and they were, but there were too many other disappointments to give this more than three stars. Five diners and an average of an error per diner. Upon entering we were sat in a back room when there were clearly more seats avail in the open restaurant so we requested a move to another spot and got a great table near the windows and NFL viewing TVs. I ordered the Gate House Plate, with a burger it was very good, but came with cheese and cheese is not mentioned on the menu. They apologized and brought out a new one. The fries and meat hot sauce that accompanied it were OK at best, far from the solid Rochester meat hot sauce we have at other even less dignified places. The next diner ordered a beer from the tap and it did not arrive until more than halfway through the meal, after the manager came to check on us and we let him know. Another diner had a salad and the cheese-breadsticks served with it were cold, warm ones needed to be brought out afterward. In the end it was too much inconsistency for one evening.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JoeKupe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 29, 2018

This has been my favorite restaurant since 2011. I, or the people I have gone with, have gotten almost every item on the menu at some point, and I still have trouble deciding what to get. The ingredients are high quality and well-sourced, the atmosphere is really nice and unique, and I have always had good service. During this time span, however, the restaurant expanded due to popularity and their prices went up, making a harder sell for people to want to go there when we go out as a group. Expect to pay around $15 for an entree. I would definitely say "worth it" for someone visiting the area or a nice date out, but too pricey to be a regular thing.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Christina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Gate House Cafe also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to The Gate House Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing