We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful boutique hotel, but not quite all it could be”
Review of Inn On Broadway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn On Broadway
Ranked #19 of 29 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
new hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful boutique hotel, but not quite all it could be”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Just a point of reference: In rating this hotel, I am comparing it to other boutique, luxury hotels that I have visited. I am not comparing it to a Holiday Inn, on the one hand, or the Ritz on the other.

The Inn on Broadway is one of the few independent hotels in Rochester. As such, it fills an important niche and in general, it fills it well. The building was originally a private men's club and the hotel maintains the elegant, intimate atmosphere of those bygone days. The rooms are comfortable and well-appointed, and the staff is friendly. I enjoyed my stay and will definitely consider another visit when next in Rochester. So why only 4 stars? Because the Inn just misses that luxury edge that would otherwise earn it five stars.

What worked? The rooms were very comfortable - down comforters, windows that open, nice furnishings, modern baths. The staff were friendly and accommodating. On-site dining options include a formal dining room and a more casual bar - both offer delicious fare and a great wine list.

What missed? Okay it might seem like nit-picking, but there were just small details that if better attended to, would have added to the entire experience. No one offered to help with my bags. In the dining room, I waited a long time for water, bread and wine while the waitstaff talked and joked among themselves. Only a few of the candles were lit in the dining room, and I had to grab one off of one of the other tables. The restaurant felt like it had seen better days. The public bathroom lacked a certain upscale feel, i.e. plastic Dial liquid hand soap. Skimpy continental breakfast, with no china cups (paper only). Again nothing terrible in and of itself, but just not quite as good as it could be.

What else might you want to know? The Inn offers a discount for those visiting the University of Rochester. Make sure to inquire about this and other discounts.

There is currently extensive construction on the roads surrounding the Inn. It takes away somewhat from the ambiance, and work seemed to begin around 8 am. Otherwise, an excellent downtown location.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank greylaggoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    33
    23
    5
    3
See reviews for
19
75
11
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

This is one of the finest places we have ever stayed. Excellent accommodations, utmost service, most convenient location. Old-world charm and graciousness combined with all modern
conveniences. We will not stay anywhere else in Rochester. Bravo!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xyz1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
411 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 659 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

After reading a review on Tripadvisor about noise from the hotel ballroom, I called to request a quiet room. They put me in a secluded room on the fourth floor where the most noise came from the clock of the church opposite. The room was small yet comfortable, with a nicely firm bed. The two small problems were the general lack of light (a common lament in hotels around the world) and a fierce-looking metal coat hangar on the inside of the bathroom door, which threatened to impale my head everytime I entered. The staff were friendly thoughout. The cost of the room included a continental breakfast which was far superior to what one would expect, with cereal, fresh small quiches, toast and lots of fruit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the ballroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Faience44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Havasu City
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

I had won a "Dine and Stay" package at this motel after winning a local poetry contest. The "traditional" room was absolutely beautiful. It was quaint yet elegant and felt more like we were staying at a B&B. They had a soft jazz playing when we entered our room and I loved the smell of the sheets, robes and towels. The bed was heavenly as well. The dinner at Tournedos Restaurant (within the motel) was also nothing short of amazing. My husband said it was quite simply the best salmon he'd ever eaten. My personal favorites were the roasted brussel sprouts. They were to die for and I'm not even much of a veggi fan! The complimentary breakfast with mini quiches was just an added bonus. Being from the Rochester area, we're already planning our next visit. Although it's a little higher cost then we typically would pay, it would be worth the occasional splurge for a special occasion. ENJOY!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa_P_Reid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamden, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

My review title says it all!
Rooms are huge! Staff fantastic!
The restaurant was excellent. Great parking. Huge bath too!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvmybasset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

From our first call to the Inn on Broadway we were hooked. The woman who answered worried that we were coming from the warm south and said she would put us in a room with a fireplace because we would need it! She was helpful and informative. We parked in the ample parking lot right next to the hotel when we arrived. A few minutes later we were in our room, fireplace already turned on for us! The check in process was short and friendly. The restaurant was closed but the young woman behind the desk gave us several choices for a late lunch in the neighborhood. The hotel is situated within walking distance to several pubs, a great coffee house, a wonderful independent movie theatre and the Geva Theatre. The restaurant in the hotel looks great and our continental breakfast (included with the room) was very good and served in the restaurant. The bar in the hotel is very inviting and the bartender, Jackie, makes drinks, serves them and also brings food from the restaurant should you want a little snack - or a complete dinner. Everyone we encountered was helpful, friendly and very professional. We asked how far it was to Niagara Falls and the woman behind the desk printed instructions for us. We had never been to Rochester and I have to say that everyone we encountered was equally friendly and helpful. We had a wonderful few days in the hotel and would never consider staying anywhere else should our travels bring us back to Rochester.

Room Tip: I would ask for a fireplace room if you are going in the winter. It really made a difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atlantasuzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

Hard to imagine that Rochester has a better hotel. This 25 room establishment has rooms that feel like a very high quality B&B. Each one is different; the mattresses are good, the bed linens and the towels are first rate. I had a nice corner room with a fireplace. Very pleasant, with a big leather easy chair. If you need to work, though, be sure and request a room with a desk. Not all have it. The bathrooms were good, clean with Kohler fixtures. The hotel's public spaces are more substantial than you would expect of such a small hotel. More like the private club is once was. The restaurant is excellent, although expensive. Room service, again unusual for 25 rooms, until 10pm. All is all, a wonderful find.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeff3545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.6 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown
0.5 km away
The East Avenue Inn & Suites
0.9 km away
The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Radisson Hotel Rochester Riverside
0.7 km away
Hyatt Regency Rochester
Hyatt Regency Rochester
#24 of 29 in Rochester
1,044 reviews
1.0 km away
Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn On Broadway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn On Broadway

Property: Inn On Broadway
Address: 26 Broadway, Rochester, NY 14607-1704
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
#13 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn On Broadway 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Inn on Broadway features 23 boutique style rooms each unique from one another. Whether in town for business or enjoying a staycation, the Inn on Broadway has a room to meet your needs! All rooms feature down bedding and imported linens. Included as well are in room Keurig coffeemakers, hair dryers and flat screen TVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn On Broadway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Broadway Hotel Rochester
Hotel On Broadway
On Broadway Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing