We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (557)
Filter reviews
557 results
Traveller rating
367
131
40
9
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
367
131
40
9
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews parking garage blue cross arena stone street great hotel convention center dinosaur bbq front desk strong museum would definitely stay here again walking distance room was clean and comfortable comfortable stay lobby area mini fridge eastman school of music business trip room was large
Filter
Updating list...
289 - 294 of 557 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2016

TA needs that good rating because while better than average, I could not give them a very good proportionally to how I have rated other properties. The check in process was friendly but the staff was not confident in their recommendations for the area and not as knowledgeable as you would expect a hotel desk clerk to be. Room is large with a nice bathroom and good shower- layout a bit odd. Up to date and comfortable. Location is in a part of town that hasn't fully improved with lots of "characters" hanging around- if you have any apprehension about walking in such an area, then the location would not be very appealing. Price is high for the spot and area so I have to deduct points for value. The restaurant breakfast was tasty but the buffet portion was not up to HGI standards and worthy of the 10.95 standard charge. All I'll, I would and will continue to use this property- the vibe was off though and I just can't pin down why

Room tip: Street side is noisy
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Spiegs1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mitchelldemeyer, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review about our hotel. I sincerely apologize for the short-comings you experienced during your stay with us. We will be using your feedback to improve ourselves so that we may be able to provide our guests with flawless accommodations. I hope you consider staying with us again in the future, so that we can prove to you that this was just a one time occurrence and not the norm! Thank you for your business and have a great day!

Sincerely,
Mitch DeMeyer
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 6, 2016

Wonderful staff!! Made us feel so welcome! So helpful with recommending places to dine and see. Made our stay wonderful! So accommodating! Would recommend to a friend. Check it out! You won't be dissapointed.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mitchelldemeyer, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel! I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to serving you again the next time your travels bring you back to the Rochester area. Thank you for your business and have a great day!

Sincerely,
Mitch DeMeyer
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 5, 2016 via mobile

Just over a year old in an historic building, this hotel was exactly what we expected in a HGI: bright, clean, modern; impressive common spaces, good food at the in-house restaurant, nice touches with complementary citrus water/tea/coffee by the elevators. For us, being able to walk (with kids4&8) to the Strong Museum of Play was important. There was construction in the area which made finding the hotel/parking a bit harder than usual and unfortunately breakfast is not included. Overall, a very comfortable stay!

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank moreartspls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mitchelldemeyer, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel! I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to serving you again the next time your travels bring you back to the Rochester area. Thank you for your business and have a great day!

Sincerely,
Mitch DeMeyer
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 5, 2016

We booked a suite so that we would have more room with the kids. It wasn't really a suite, as it didn't have two separate rooms, but it did have a wall in the middle that had a TV on each side, so that we could watch something different than the kids. The room was very clean and spacious and the hotel was very quiet, until my kids arrived LOL. I would definitely stay at this hotel again. Parking is free and convenient in the parking garage next door. We also had breakfast in the hotel, it wasn't included, but it was only $10.95 per adult and the kids were free. It was made to order, my husband and I had omelettes and the kids had French toast, it was very good for the price. The staff was very informed and helpful as well, she recommended a dinner place that was amazing!

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mitchelldemeyer, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel! I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to serving you again the next time your travels bring you back to the Rochester area. Thank you for your business and have a great day!

Sincerely,
Mitch DeMeyer
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 4, 2016

Enjoyed our family stay here. Hotel was very convenient for downtown attractions, like the Strong Museum of Play. The free parking is nice, although it was a little confusing to figure out where the parking was located. (All the signs from outside talk about the Hyatt.)

The rooms, pool area and lobby were all quite attractive. Breakfast was good, though not as good as some other Hilton Garden Inns we have stayed at in terms of variety of offerings.

Overall, a good stay and if we were looking to stay in downtown Rochester again, this would definitely be a top choice.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mitchelldemeyer, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel! I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to serving you again the next time your travels bring you back to the Rochester area. Thank you for your business and have a great day!

Sincerely,
Mitch DeMeyer
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews