We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not an iInn but a small decent Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sag Harbor Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sag Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sag Harbor Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Sag Harbor
new england
Level Contributor
116 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Not an iInn but a small decent Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

This is not the 4 seasons but given the limited choices its a nice place, clean and offers a GREAT location. Pool is OK and a short walk to everything but the beach. This is the Hamptons so its not cheap but compared to to Barrons Cove next door its a steal.

Room Tip: All depends the 2nd floor marina facing rooms are nice but more costly. If you have kids the downsta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ctgolftravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    35
    26
    7
    7
See reviews for
24
55
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marlboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

Needed a place to stay for wedding in Shelter Island. Pros-clean and large room,and we could control our air-conditioning and a 10 minute walk to a lively town.. Cons- $940 for 2 nights (ok including tax) for the cheapest room-2 beds. not even a hairdryer or make-up mirror- I brought my own. very plain cheap room. I had to pay for the balance of my room before I could even see it! Some of the staff smiled, some different. You go for the area, not the hotel.

Room Tip: bring make-up mirror and hair dryer
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Lylw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MA/ME
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

I went to Sag Harbor for a week-long conference, and the group was divided up between the Sag Harbor Inn and the place next door. I was booked at the place next door and only stayed one night, because it was terrible. The folks at the Inn found a way to fit me in for the rest of the conference and were very nice.
The place is pretty decent- it's across from the water and you can walk to the main drag easily. The 1st and 2nd floor rooms have a nice little patio or deck to hang out on. The pool is nice. The breakfast isn't much but they offer plenty of coffee and menus for all the restaurants in town. I've seen people complain about the price but the area is just very expensive. Don't come to Sag Harbor with a $40 a day mentality. The rooms are the nicest you will get out of the 3 options in town and so are the employees.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newenglandfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WESTON
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

We were on a tour - booked at the Barons Cove in next door for two nights. Arrived to find rooms, with mold, bleach smell, used tissue crumpled on the floor, towels looking grey instead of white. We tried to stay for the night, but it was too dirty. Finally between 8:00 & 9:00 p,m, we spoke with the director and said, we just couldn't stay in the room, we would have to stay awake all night out on the porch. She gathered all that wanted to leave and fortunately The Sag Harbor Inn - immaculate, great continental breakfast included, and wonderful hospitality took us in that evening. There were two buses, and Sag Harbor took at least one bus load. I can't say enough for the accommodations and the staff. The room looked out at the harbor over a white picket fence. The location is fabulous! Walking distance to a quaint little town...

Room Tip: First floor slider opens to patio viewing harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2011

The town of Sag Harbor, close to but away from the much busier "Hamptons" provides the same charm with less hassle and better values. The Sag Harbor Inn was lovely and clean, with great views of the harbor and the setting sun.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EastCoastMan777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2011

We stayed at the Sag Harbor Inn for one night so we could enjoy a day of winetastings at the local vineyards. It is an older hotel and the rooms are clean, but have not been renovated for a long time. The rate was reasonable. The TVs are small for the size of the room and you cannot order pay-per-view movies. The offer a free continental breakfast in the morning. There is an outdoor pool which hasn't been opened yet.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GinaMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rye, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2010

Very nice small hotel for a getaway. Just a few blocks from the quaint Main Street of Sag Harbor and a short drive from the ocean beaches. Room was very clean with pretty water views, but furnishings are showing their age. November nights are chilly but the heat in the room worked great. Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie3456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sag Harbor
0.2 km away
Baron's Cove
Baron's Cove
#1 of 5 in Sag Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
6.9 km away
Topping Rose House
Topping Rose House
#1 of 1 in Bridgehampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
9.4 km away
Shelter Island House
Shelter Island House
#1 of 5 in Shelter Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.1 km away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
15.1 km away
Southampton Inn
Southampton Inn
#2 of 8 in Southampton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
36.3 km away
Hotel Indigo East End
Hotel Indigo East End
#3 of 7 in Riverhead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sag Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sag Harbor Inn

Property: Sag Harbor Inn
Address: 45 West Water Street, Sag Harbor, NY 11963
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Sag Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Sag Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sag Harbor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Also Known As:
Sag Harbor Hotel Sag Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing